Ottawa, March 30, 2012
2012-037

Archived - Minister Flaherty Tables Annual Reports on International Financial Institutions

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today tabled two reports describing Canada’s activities at three international financial institutions for which he is Canada’s Governor—the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank Group and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD).

“I am pleased to present Parliament and Canadians with annual reports detailing Canada’s involvement at these important institutions,” said Minister Flaherty. “They play key roles in the global economy, and as a major shareholder, Canada has a strong interest in ensuring that they are effective and accountable.”

Canada at the IMF and World Bank Group summarizes Canada’s contributions and priorities in 2011 with respect to these two Bretton Woods Institutions. Canada is the ninth largest shareholder at the IMF and the tenth largest at the World Bank Group. Canada at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development provides a detailed account of Canada’s role at the EBRD in 2011. Canada is the eighth largest shareholder at the EBRD.

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 30 mars 2012
2012-037

Archivé - Le ministre Flaherty dépose des rapports annuels concernant des institutions financières internationales

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd’hui deux rapports sur les activités du Canada au sein de trois institutions financières internationales dont il est le gouverneur canadien, soit le Fonds monétaire international (FMI), le Groupe de la Banque mondiale et la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD).

« Je suis heureux de présenter aux parlementaires ainsi qu’aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens les rapports annuels faisant état des activités du Canada au sein de ces importantes institutions, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Elles jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l’économie mondiale et à titre d’actionnaire important, le Canada tient à ce que ces institutions soient efficaces et responsables. »

Le rapport Le Canada au FMI et au Groupe de la Banque mondiale résume la contribution et les priorités du Canada en 2011 relativement à ces deux institutions de Bretton Woods. Le Canada est le neuvième actionnaire en importance du FMI et le dixième dans le cas du Groupe de la Banque mondiale. Le rapport Le Canada à la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement dresse un bilan détaillé du rôle du Canada au sein de la BERD en 2011. Le Canada est le huitième actionnaire en importance de la BERD.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.