Ottawa, March 23, 2012
2012-030

Archived - Minister of Finance Welcomes Findings of the Task Force for the Payments System Review

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today welcomed the final report of the Task Force for the Payments System Review, entitled Moving Canada into the Digital Age.

“More and more, Canadians want innovative payment tools that are in step with the latest technologies, are fast and efficient, and stand up to the highest standards of safety and soundness,” said Minister Flaherty. “On behalf of the Government of Canada, I want to thank the Task Force members for their efforts in responding to their mandate.”

The Task Force conducted two online consultations, regional roundtables and a series of working group meetings to promote dialogue and collaboration within the payments industry. It drew stakeholders from a wide range of sectors, including federal and provincial governments, consumer groups, businesses and the financial sector.

“The Government intends to continue this positive dialogue, working with key stakeholders,” said Minister Flaherty. “Together, we will help Canadians and businesses take advantage of the essential tools necessary to adopt digital payments.”

To this end, the Government will establish a senior-level advisory committee made up of public and private sector stakeholders. This group will meet regularly with Department of Finance officials to discuss emerging payments system issues. 

Minister Flaherty said the report’s findings regarding mobile payments will help inform the Government to ensure the payments framework meets the evolving needs of Canadian consumers and businesses. Department of Finance officials will review, in close consultation with stakeholders, the application of the Code of Conduct for the Credit and Debit Card Industry in Canada to emerging mobile payment products so that the Code’s principles of transparency, fairness and competition will also guide the evolution of mobile payments in Canada.

The Government will also review the governance framework for the payments sector, including the Canadian Payments Association, to ensure the continued safety and soundness of the payments system, spur innovation and promote the consideration of user interests.

Announced in Budget 2010, the Task Force was asked to review the safety, soundness and efficiency of the payments system; whether there is sufficient innovation in the system; the competitive landscape; whether businesses and consumers are being well served; and whether the existing payments system oversight mechanisms remain appropriate.

The seven Task Force members were drawn from business and financial sectors, and were led by Patricia Meredith, Professional Associate and Senior Adviser to financial services and technology companies with the strategy consulting firm Monitor Group.

The Task Force’s final report is available on its website.

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 23 mars 2012
2012-030

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances accueille les conclusions du Groupe de travail sur l’examen du système de paiements

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a accueilli aujourd’hui la version finale du rapport du Groupe de travail sur l’examen du système de paiements intitulé
Le Canada à l’ère numérique.

« De plus en plus, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens réclament des outils de paiement novateurs qui suivent l’évolution des plus récentes technologies, qui sont rapides et efficientes, et qui satisfont aux normes de sécurité et de stabilité les plus rigoureuses, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Au nom du gouvernement du Canada, je tiens à remercier les membres du Groupe de travail de leurs efforts pour mener à bien le mandat qui leur a été confié. »

Le Groupe de travail a organisé des consultations en ligne, des tables rondes régionales et une série de rencontres de groupes d’étude pour promouvoir le dialogue et la collaboration au sein du secteur des paiements. Il était composé d’intervenants d’une vaste gamme de secteurs, dont les administrations fédérale et provinciales, des groupes de consommateurs, des entreprises et le secteur financier.

« Le gouvernement entend poursuivre ce dialogue positif et collaborer avec les principaux intervenants, a ajouté M. Flaherty. Ensemble, nous aiderons les Canadiens, de même que les entreprises, à tirer profit des outils essentiels pour emprunter la voie des paiements numériques. »

À cette fin, le gouvernement mettra sur pied un comité consultatif de haut niveau, qui sera composé d’intervenants des secteurs public et privé. Ce groupe rencontrera périodiquement les représentants du ministère des Finances pour discuter de questions émergentes concernant le système de paiements.

Le ministre Flaherty a déclaré que les conclusions du Groupe au sujet des paiements mobiles éclaireront le gouvernement pour que le cadre de paiements satisfasse à l’évolution des besoins des entreprises et des consommateurs canadiens. Après avoir dûment consulté les intervenants, les représentants du ministère des Finances examineront l’application du Code de conduite destiné à l’industrie canadienne des cartes de crédit et de débit aux produits émergents de paiements mobiles, de sorte que les principes de transparence, d’équité et de concurrence enchâssés dans le Code orienteront également l’évolution des paiements mobiles au Canada.

Le gouvernement examinera aussi le cadre de gouvernance du secteur des paiements, y compris l’Association canadienne des paiements, pour garantir la sûreté et la solidité soutenues du système de paiements, stimuler la croissance et promouvoir la prise en compte des intérêts des consommateurs.

Annoncé dans le budget de 2010, le Groupe de travail a été invité à examiner la sûreté, la solidité et l’efficience du système de paiements; préciser si le système fait l’objet de suffisamment d’innovations; dépeindre le paysage concurrentiel; indiquer si les entreprises et les consommateurs sont bien servis; et déterminer si les mécanismes actuels de supervision du système demeurent adéquats.

Les sept membres du Groupe de travail proviennent du secteur financier et du secteur des entreprises et ils sont dirigés par Madame Patricia Meredith, associée et conseillère principale auprès de Monitor Group; elle conseille des sociétés de services financiers et de technologie.

Vous trouverez la version finale du rapport du Groupe de travail sur son site Web.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.