Stittsville, Ontario, March 22, 2012
2012-029

Archived - Harper Government Continues to Support Volunteer Firefighters

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today praised Canada’s volunteer firefighters and highlighted the federal government’s many initiatives to strengthen support for these vital first responders.

Speaking to members of the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs and volunteer firefighters at Stittsville Station 81—an all-volunteer fire station—Minister Flaherty said, “Volunteer firefighters play a critical role in serving their communities, often putting themselves at risk to ensure the safety of their neighbours and the protection of their property. The Harper Government values and salutes firefighters’ courage and commitment.”

The Minister noted several actions the Government has taken to support volunteer firefighters, including the Economic Action Plan 2011 announcement of a 15-per-cent non-refundable tax credit on an amount of $3,000, effective for the 2011 and subsequent taxation years, for volunteer firefighters who perform at least 200 hours of service for their communities during a year.

The Income Tax Act exempts the first $1,000 in honoraria provided by municipalities to emergency service volunteers. Depending on which is most advantageous in any given situation, a volunteer firefighter can choose between the new tax credit and the existing exemption. The Act also permits all out-of-pocket expenses incurred by volunteers, including volunteer firefighters, to be fully reimbursed on a non-taxable basis.

Minister Flaherty also cited Budget 2007, which earmarked $500,000 per year for the International Association of Fire Fighters’ Hazardous Materials Training Program and is available to all first responders, including volunteer firefighters. 

“Canada’s diverse and vibrant urban and rural communities are central to our country’s strength,” said Minister Flaherty. “Providing greater support to volunteer firefighters, who play a critical role in towns and cities across Canada, will help enhance the safety, security and prosperity of those communities.” 

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Stittsville (Ontario), le 22 mars 2012
2012-029

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper continue d’appuyer les pompiers volontaires

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a salué aujourd’hui le travail des pompiers bénévoles du Canada et souligné les nombreuses mesures adoptées par le gouvernement fédéral pour appuyer davantage ces premiers intervenants essentiels.

« Les pompiers volontaires occupent une fonction cruciale au sein de leur collectivité. Ils prennent souvent des risques personnels pour assurer la sécurité et protéger les biens de leurs voisins. Le gouvernement Harper est reconnaissant du courage et de l’engagement des pompiers », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty devant les membres de l’Association canadienne des chefs de pompiers et des pompiers volontaires réunis à la caserne 81 de Stittsville, dont tout l’effectif est bénévole.

Le ministre Flaherty a relevé plusieurs mesures de soutien aux pompiers volontaires prises par le gouvernement, dont un crédit d’impôt non remboursable de 15 %, applicable à un montant de 3 000 $, accordé aux pompiers volontaires qui effectuent au moins 200 heures de service dans leur collectivité durant l’année. Cette mesure, annoncée dans le Plan d’action économique de 2011, est en vigueur depuis l’année d’imposition 2011.

La Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu dispense de l’impôt la première tranche de 1 000 $ des honoraires que les municipalités versent aux bénévoles des services d’urgence. Un pompier volontaire peut choisir soit cette exonération d’impôt, soit le nouveau crédit, selon l'option qui l’avantage le plus. La Loi autorise également que le remboursement intégral des dépenses personnelles des bénévoles, y compris les pompiers bénévoles, soit non imposable. 

Le ministre Flaherty a également mentionné que le budget de 2007 a consacré 500 000 $ par année au programme de formation sur les matières dangereuses de l’International Association of Fire Fighters. Ce programme est offert à tous les premiers intervenants, dont les pompiers bénévoles.

« La diversité et le dynamisme des collectivités urbaines et rurales du Canada sont essentiels à la vigueur de notre pays, a ajouté le ministre Flaherty. Le fait d’accorder un soutien accru aux pompiers bénévoles, dont la présence dans les villes et les villages du Canada est cruciale, aidera à rendre nos collectivités plus sûres et plus prospères. »

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.