Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, February 17, 2012
2012-017

Archived - Department of Finance Announces Transitional Rules for the Elimination of the Harmonized Sales Tax in British Columbia

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Department of Finance today proposed transitional rules for the provincial decision to eliminate the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) in British Columbia (BC), which combines a 5 per cent federal component with a 7 per cent provincial component.

On August 26, 2011, the BC government announced its intention to eliminate the HST by March 31, 2013. The proposed transitional rules specify how and when the BC component of the HST would cease to apply to transactions that straddle that date.

The attached document provides details of the transitional rules that will be proposed to be enacted in the Excise Tax Act and made in its related regulations. References in the document to an “Announcement Date” should be read as referring to today’s date. The document does not provide descriptions of any provincial measures that may be proposed to be enacted by BC in relation to the reinstatement of the provincial sales tax (PST). The document should therefore be read in conjunction with any transitional rules for the reinstatement of the PST released by BC.

Any comments on the attached proposals may be submitted by March 19, 2012 to:

Tax Policy Branch – Sales Tax Division
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 17 février 2012
2012-017

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances annonce des règles transitoires pour l’élimination de la taxe de vente harmonisée en Colombie-Britannique

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Le ministère des Finances a proposé aujourd’hui des règles transitoires pour donner suite à la décision provinciale d’éliminer la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.). Cette taxe est constituée d’une composante fédérale de 5 % et d’une composante provinciale de 7 %.

Le 26 août 2011, le gouvernement de la C.-B. a annoncé son intention d’éliminer la TVH au plus tard le 31 mars 2013. Les règles transitoires proposées précisent à quel moment et de quelle façon la composante britanno-colombienne de la TVH cesserait de s’appliquer aux opérations qui chevauchent cette date.

Le document ci-joint décrit les règles transitoires qu’il sera proposé d’intégrer à la Loi sur la taxe d’accise et aux règlements pris sous son régime.  La mention de la date de publication dans ce document s’entend de la date d’aujourd’hui. Puisque ce document ne décrit pas les mesures provinciales que la C.-B. pourrait proposer d’édicter relativement au rétablissement de la taxe de vente provinciale, le lecteur a avantage à le lire en se référant, le cas échéant, aux règles transitoires concernant le rétablissement de cette taxe rendues publiques par la C.-B.

Les intéressés peuvent faire parvenir leurs commentaires concernant les propositions ci-jointes au plus tard le 19 mars 2012 à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt – Division de la taxe de vente
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.