January 27, 2012

Archived - Canadian Ministers Promote Canada as Top Investment Destination

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


Ministers Baird, Flaherty and Fast highlight Canada’s strong economic fundamentals and competitiveness at World Economic Forum

The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, together with Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird and the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, met with key investors and business leaders at the World Economic Forum (WEF) in Switzerland to highlight Canada’s strong economic fundamentals and pro-trade plan as part of the government’s plan to create jobs and growth at home.

Each year, more than 1,000 business leaders, from some of the world’s leading companies, participate in the WEF.

“With one in ten Canadian jobs linked to foreign investment, our government understands that attracting new investment creates jobs and prosperity for Canadian businesses, workers and families,” said Minister Fast. “Foreign investment brings innovation and new technologies and increases our competitiveness. With our strong banks, stable economy, business-friendly policies and strong commitment to free and open trade, our government continues to position Canada as an attractive destination for global investors.”

Canada’s stock of foreign direct investment (in and out) in 2010 was equivalent to 74.6 percent of its gross domestic product—the third-highest proportion in the G-7. Foreign-owned companies in Canada account for almost half of merchandise exports, one third of research and development (R & D) spending and over one quarter of Canadian profits, revenues and capital investment. Foreign direct investment has steadily increased over the years. In 2010 alone, inward investment increased by $14 billion over 2009.

“As a trading nation, Canada considers that foreign investment is critical to creating jobs for Canadians and growing the Canadian economy,” said Minister Baird. “Our government is working hard to create the conditions to attract investment, and in my travels I make sure to let other countries know the many reasons Forbes Magazine recently named Canada the best country in which to do business.”

“The Government of Canada has built a Canadian advantage by lowering taxes, promoting free trade and innovation and keeping government finances sustainable,” said Minister Flaherty. “Our bold action is positioning Canada as a low-tax investment destination. Canada’s Economic Action Plan, sound economic fundamentals and solid banking system helped Canada recover from the global economic crisis ahead of most industrialized countries.”

One company at Davos that already knows Canada’s strong business fundamentals first-hand is LANXESS, the world’s second-largest producer of butyl rubber. It employs more than 500 highly skilled personnel in Canada.

“LANXESS chose to invest in Canada because of its highly qualified and talented workforce, its innovative R & D centres and commitment to producing next-generation products,” said Axel Heitmann, Chairman of LANXESS’s board of management. “At our new R & D centre at the University of Western Ontario, we have produced the first quantities of bio-based rubber, which will enable us to decouple our resources from petroleum dependency. We look forward to growing our relationship with Canada even further.”

A number of Canada’s other key foreign investors are attending the WEF. They include Siemens, Shell, Rio Tinto, Google and AMEC PLC.

In 2011, the Harper government’s investment promotion efforts helped attract 95 new foreign businesses and expansion projects worth more than $16 billion to Canada. More than 5,300 new jobs were created as a result.

For additional details on Canada’s presence at the WEF, please consult Canadian Ministers at World Economic Forum.

To find multilingual, comprehensive information on Canada’s many investment and business advantages, please consult Invest in Canada.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Rudy Husny
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Ed Fast
Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway
613-992-7332

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-996-2000
Follow us on Twitter: @Canada_Trade

Jack Aubry, Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-996-8080

Le 27 janvier 2012

Archivé - Des ministres canadiens vantent le Canada comme destination de choix pour l’investissement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Les ministres Baird, Flaherty et Fast soulignent les solides principes économiques fondamentaux du Canada et sa grande compétitivité au Forum économique mondial

Le ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird et le ministre des Finances, l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ont rencontré des investisseurs et des dirigeants d’entreprises clés au Forum économique mondial, en Suisse, pour présenter lessolides principes économiques fondamentaux du Canada et son programme commercial dans le cadre du plan du gouvernement de création d’emplois et de croissance au pays.

Chaque année, plus d’un millier de dirigeants d’entreprise de premier plan du monde entier participent au Forum.

« Comme un emploi canadien sur dix est lié à l’investissement étranger, notre gouvernement estime que le fait d’attirer de nouveaux investissements crée des emplois et favorise la prospérité des entreprises, des travailleurs et des familles au Canada, a expliqué le ministre Fast. L’investissement étranger introduit des innovations et de nouvelles technologies et nous rend plus compétitifs. Grâce à notre solide système bancaire, à notre économie stable, à nos politiques en faveur des entreprises, à notre engagement envers le commerce libre et ouvert, notre gouvernement continue de faire du Canada une destination attrayante pour les investisseurs. »

En 2010, le stock d’investissement étranger direct au Canada et d’investissement direct du Canada à l’étranger s’est chiffré à 74,6 p. 100 du PIB, ce qui le place au troisième rang des membres du G-7 à ce chapitre. Les entreprises étrangères au Canada sont la source de près de la moitié des exportations de marchandises, du tiers des dépenses en recherche et développement (R-D) et de plus du quart des profits, des revenus et de l’investissement en capital du Canada. Les stocks d’investissement étranger direct ont augmenté régulièrement avec les années. En 2010 seulement, le stock d’investissement provenant de l’étranger a augmenté de 14 milliards de dollars par rapport à son niveau de 2009.

« En tant que nation commerçante, le Canada considère que l’investissement étranger est essentiel à la création d’emplois et à la croissance économique du pays, a affirmé le ministre Baird. C’est pourquoi notre gouvernement s’efforce de créer les conditions qui permettront d’attirer l’investissement, et au cours de mes visites à l’étranger, je m’assure de faire connaître aux autres pays toutes les raisons pour lesquelles le Canada a récemment été désigné par le magazine Forbes comme le meilleur pays où faire des affaires. »

« Le gouvernement du Canada a su créer un avantage canadien en réduisant les impôts, en favorisant le libre-échange et l’innovation et en contrôlant ses dépenses, a affirmé le ministre Flaherty. Nos mesures énergiques ont fait du Canada un endroit à faible taux d’imposition où investir. Le Plan d’action économique du Canada, de bons principes économiques fondamentaux et un système bancaire solide ont aidé le Canada à se relever de la crise économique mondiale bien avant la plupart des pays industrialisés. »

LANXESS, une entreprise présente à Davos qui se classe au deuxième rang de la production mondiale de caoutchouc butylique, connaît bien les solides fondements commerciaux du Canada : elle emploie plus de 500 travailleurs hautement qualifiés au Canada.

« LANXESS a choisi d’investir au Canada en raison de la main-d’œuvre très instruite et compétente qu’on y retrouve, de ses centres de R-D novateurs et de son engagement à produire des produits de prochaine génération, a expliqué le président du conseil de direction de LANXESS, M. Axel Heitmann. Dans notre nouveau centre de R-D de l’Université Western Ontario, nous avons créé le premier caoutchouc biologique, ce qui nous permettra de dissocier nos ressources de notre dépendance au pétrole. Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée de renforcer encore davantage nos liens avec le Canada. »

Plusieurs autres investisseurs étrangers importants œuvrant au Canada participent au Forum économique mondial, notamment Siemens, Shell, Rio Tinto, Google et AMEC PLC.

En 2011, les efforts de promotion de l’investissement du gouvernement Harper ont permis d’attirer 95 nouvelles entreprises étrangères et leurs projets d’expansion au Canada évalués à plus de 16 milliards de dollars. Plus de 5 300 emplois ont été créés à la suite de ces efforts.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la présence du Canada au Forum, prière de consulter la page Des ministres canadiens au Forum économique mondial.

Pour obtenir des renseignements complets et multilingues sur les nombreux avantages qu’offre le Canada sur le plan des affaires et des investissements, prière de consulter la page Investir au Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Rudy Husny
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de l’honorable Ed Fast
Ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique
613-992-7332

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Le Service des relations avec les médias (commerce)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-996-2000
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @Commerce_Canada

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-996-8080