Archived - Backgrounder: Key Features of Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This backgrounder provides a summary of the key features of the federal Pooled Registered Pension Plan (PRPP) framework as set out in the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act (the Act).

The Act establishes a regulatory framework for PRPPs, which will be a new type of low-cost pension plan accessible to employees and the self-employed.

PRPPs across Canada will improve the range of retirement savings options to Canadians by:

  • Providing a new accessible, straightforward and administratively low-cost retirement savings option for employers to offer their employees;
  • Allowing individuals who currently may not participate in a pension plan, such as the self-employed and employees of companies that do not offer a pension plan, to make use of this new type of pension plan;
  • Enabling more people to benefit from the lower investment management costs that result from membership in a large, pooled pension plan;
  • Allowing for accumulated PRPP savings to move with PRPP members from job to job; and,
  • Ensuring that funds are invested in the best interest of plan members.

This Act applies to employees of an employer that participates in a PRPP within the legislative authority of the federal government, including interprovincial transportation, banking and telecommunication. It also applies to persons employed in the Yukon, the Northwest Territories or Nunavut, including the self-employed.

A high level of legislative and regulatory harmonization across the federal and provincial governments will be instrumental in increasing the scale of these plans, enhancing coverage across Canada and achieving low costs. The Government will work closely with provinces as they move forward in implementing PRPPs in their respective jurisdictions.

Administration of PRPPs

Eligible Administrators

Eligible administrators would include corporations that can assume a fiduciary duty, such as regulated financial institutions and public pension plans. In order to offer a PRPP, administrators would need to obtain a license from the Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

Duty of the Administrator

In order to protect the interests of plan members, the administrator will have a fiduciary duty to plan members. The Act requires that the administrator of a PRPP administer the plan and its assets as a trustee for the members.

PRPPs will be administered by third-party administrators that will take on most of the responsibilities that employers bear in existing pension plans. Administrators will generally be responsible for performing the management and operational functions of a PRPP, such as receiving contributions from members and employers and investing the assets of the plan.

Administrators will also be responsible for providing members with certain information related to the plan on a regular, periodic basis. For example, administrators will be required to provide members with a written explanation of plan provisions, as well as the value of the accumulated contributions made under the plan since the member joined the plan.

Investments and Costs of Investments

The Act requires the administrator to offer the PRPP at a low cost to plan members. Administrators may offer a variety of investment options to plan members, enabling members to choose the option that is most appropriate for their particular investment needs and objectives. If investment options are provided, they must represent varying degrees of risk and expected return that would allow a reasonable and prudent person to create a portfolio of investments that is appropriate for retirement savings.

Each administrator will offer a default investment option. The default option must be appropriate for large pools of contributors potentially diverse in risk profile. If a plan member does not choose an investment option, the member will be automatically enrolled in the default option. The regulations will further prescribe the characteristics of the default option.

Role of the Employer

Employer participation in a PRPP is voluntary. Employers who choose to participate in a PRPP will be responsible for selecting a particular plan for their employees and enrolling their employees in the plan. Employees will be automatically enrolled in the plan chosen by a participating employer, but will have the option to opt out of the PRPP within 60 days.

Employers may choose to make contributions to the plan, and will be required to collect and remit contributions from the employee. A contract between an employer and the administrator will provide for the amounts in respect of employee contributions and employer contributions, if any, that must be remitted to the administrator, the frequency of those remittances and the consequences if they fail to comply with the provisions of the contract respecting those remittances.

Self-employed individuals and employees of an employer in the Yukon, the Northwest Territories or Nunavut that does not offer a PRPP will be responsible for tasks such as making the choice to enroll and remitting contributions to the administrator.

Employers will not be liable for any acts or omissions of the administrator.

Contributions

The administrator will be responsible for setting members’ contribution rates and any increases to those rates. After deciding not to opt-out of the PRPP, each employee will retain the option to set his or her contribution rate to 0% at any time.

Locking-in

The Act includes locking-in provisions that are intended to ensure that funds are available for retirement income purposes. Funds in the members’ accounts are generally not permitted to be withdrawn. Subject to the regulations accompanying the Act, plan members may be permitted to withdraw funds from their accounts under certain circumstances (e.g., disability). Members who cease to be a member in a PRPP will be permitted to transfer the funds in their accounts in accordance with the portability options set out in the Act.

Portability

Plan members will be given the right of portability of funds subject to certain conditions. A member will be permitted to transfer the funds in his or her account to another PRPP or another pension plan, subject to the terms and conditions of that other plan. A member will also be able to transfer the funds to permitted retirement savings plans, or use the funds to purchase an immediate or deferred life annuity.

Supervision

Since PRPPs will be offered to multiple employers, PRPPs are likely to have members from more than one jurisdiction and be potentially subject to the rules of more than one jurisdiction. Through agreement, a jurisdiction could delegate responsibilities such as licensing as well as oversight of other plan matters (i.e. registration, ongoing monitoring and compliance with disclosure requirements) to another jurisdiction. In addition to delegating oversight responsibilities, jurisdictions could agree to apply all or part of the pension standards legislation of another jurisdiction in order to simplify both supervision and compliance. The Act also gives the ability to the Minister of Finance to enter into bilateral or multilateral agreements with designated provinces with the purpose to either delegate federal supervisory authority of PRPPs to a province, or receive provincial supervisory authority of PRPPs. 

It is the goal of the Government that all jurisdictions will adopt a highly harmonized framework and will agree to distribute supervisory responsibilities in a way that avoids duplication and costs while protecting employees’ interests.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Archivé - Fiche d’information : Principales caractéristiques des régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le présent document d’information résume les principales caractéristiques du cadre fédéral qui sous-tend les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC), tel qu’énoncé dans la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (appelée la Loi ci-après).

Cette Loi établit le cadre de réglementation des RPAC, qui constituent un nouveau type de régime de pension à faible coût dont pourront se prévaloir les employés et les travailleurs autonomes.

Les RPAC accroîtront l’éventail d’options offertes aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens en matière d’épargne-retraite dans l’ensemble du Canada :

La Loi s’appliqueaux employés d’un employeur offrant un RPAC et relevant de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral, entre autres dans les domaines des transports interprovinciaux, des banques et des télécommunications. Elle s’applique également aux personnes occupant un emploi au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, ainsi qu’aux travailleurs autonomes.

Un degré élevé d’harmonisation des lois et des réglementations fédérales et provinciales en la matière sera un facteur déterminant pour accroître la taille et la portée de ces régimes, assurer une plus grande participation dans l’ensemble du pays et faire en sorte que les coûts soient peu élevés. Le gouvernement collaborera étroitement avec les provinces au fil de la mise en œuvre des RPAC sur leur territoire.

Administration des RPAC

Administrateurs admissibles

Les administrateurs admissibles sont entre autres les sociétés pouvant exercer des responsabilités fiduciaires, par exemple des institutions financières réglementées et des régimes de retraite publics. Pour pouvoir offrir des RPAC, les administrateurs devront obtenir un permis du surintendant des institutions financières.

Responsabilités de l’administrateur

De manière à protéger les intérêts des participants à un régime, l’administrateur sera chargé d’une obligation fiduciaire à l’égard des participants. La Loiporte que l’administrateur d’un RPAC gère le régime et ses actifs en qualité de fiduciaire des participants.

Les RPAC seront administrés par des tiers qui assumeront la plupart des responsabilités incombant aux employeurs dans le cas des régimes de pension existants. Les responsabilités générales de ces administrateurs consisteront à remplir les fonctions administratives et les fonctions opérationnelles générales rattachées aux RPAC, par exemple la perception des cotisations des participants et des employeurs ainsi que l’investissement des actifs des régimes.

Les administrateurs devront également communiquer périodiquement aux participants certains renseignements ayant trait à leur régime, par exemple une explication écrite des dispositions du régime ainsi que la valeur des cotisations cumulatives versées au titre du régime depuis l’adhésion du participant.

Placements et coûts connexes

Aux termes de la Loi, l’administrateur doit offrir le RPAC aux participants à un coût peu élevé. Il peut proposer à ces derniers différentes options de placement, chaque participant ayant la possibilité de choisir l’option correspondant le plus à ses besoins et à ses objectifs particuliers. Le cas échéant, les options de placement doivent présenter des degrés de risque et de rendement variés, de sorte qu’une personne raisonnable et prudente puisse se constituer un portefeuille de placements d’épargne-retraite approprié.

L’administrateur offrira une option de placement par défaut, qui sera appropriée dans le cas de larges bassins de cotisants dont le profil de risque peut varier. L’administrateur prendra toutes les décisions ayant trait au placement des fonds détenus dans les comptes auxquels s’applique l’option par défaut. Le participant qui ne choisit pas d’option de placement sera automatiquement inscrit à l’option par défaut. Les caractéristiques de cette option seront précisées par règlement.

Rôle de l’employeur

La participation des employeurs à un RPAC est facultative. L’employeur qui choisit de participer devra choisir un régime particulier pour ses employés et y faire adhérer ces derniers. Les employés participeront automatiquement au régime ainsi choisi, mais ils auront la possibilité d’annuler leur participation dans les 60 jours.

L’employeur peut choisir de verser des cotisations au régime, et il devra percevoir et verser les cotisations des employés. Le contrat conclu entre l’employeur et l’administrateur déterminera les sommes applicables en ce qui touche les cotisations des employés et, le cas échéant, celles de l’employeur qui doivent être versées à l’administrateur, de même que la fréquence des versements et les conséquences en cas d’inobservation des clauses du contrat qui ont trait à ces versements.

Les travailleurs indépendants et les employés d’un employeur du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ou du Nunavut qui n’offre pas de RPAC devront eux-mêmes prendre la décision relative à leur adhésion, et ensuite verser leurs cotisations à l’administrateur.

Les employeurs ne seront aucunement tenus responsables des actes ou omissions de l’administrateur.

Cotisations

Il incombera à l’administrateur de déterminer les taux de cotisation des participants ainsi que les hausses éventuelles de ces taux. L’employé qui n’a pas annulé sa participation au RPAC a la possibilité de fixer son taux de cotisation à 0 %, et ce, à tout moment.

Immobilisation des cotisations

La Loicontient des dispositions d’immobilisation dont le but est d’assurer la disponibilité des fonds pour assurer un revenu de retraite. En règle générale, les fonds détenus dans les comptes des participants ne peuvent être retirés. Sous réserve de la réglementation rattachée à la Loi, un participant peut retirer des fonds de son compte dans certaines circonstances (incapacité). Une personne qui cesse de participer à un RPAC pourra transférer les fonds contenus dans son compte conformément aux options relatives à la transférabilité énoncées dans la Loi.

Transférabilité

Le participant au régime disposera d’un droit de transférabilité sous réserve de certaines conditions. Il pourra transférer des fonds de son compte à un autre RPAC ou à un autre régime de pension, en fonction des conditions de ce dernier. Il pourra aussi transférer les fonds à un régime d’épargne-retraite autorisé ou les utiliser pour souscrire une rente viagère immédiate ou différée.

Supervision

Différents employeurs pourront participer à un RPAC, ce qui signifie qu’un RPAC comptera sans doute des participants relevant de plus d’une administration publique et qu’il pourrait être assujetti à la réglementation de plusieurs administrations. Par voie d’accord, une administration pourra déléguer à une autre administration des responsabilités comme l’octroi d’un permis et la surveillance d’autres aspects du régime (enregistrement, surveillance permanente, respect des exigences de divulgation). Outre la délégation des responsabilités de surveillance, les administrations pourront convenir d’appliquer en totalité ou en partie la législation d’une autre administration en matière de normes de pension, de manière à rationaliser la supervision et l’observation. La Loiconfère aussi au ministre des Finances le pouvoir de conclure des accords bilatéraux ou multilatéraux avec des provinces désignées afin de déléguer à une province les pouvoirs fédéraux de supervision des RPAC ou au contraire de se voir confier les pouvoirs de supervision de la province.

L’objectif du gouvernement est de faire en sorte que toutes les administrations adoptent un cadre hautement harmonisé et conviennent de répartir les responsabilités de supervision de manière à éviter les chevauchements et à limiter les coûts tout en protégeant les intérêts des employés.