Ottawa, December 28, 2011
2011-145

Archived - Government Launches Consultations on Canada’s Foreign Trade Zone-Like Policies and Programs

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today launched consultations to examine Canada’s foreign trade zone (FTZ)-like policies and programs, further to the commitment outlined in Budget 2011, the Next Phase of Canada’s Economic Action Plan.

“We need to ensure that these policies and programs are internationally competitive, effectively marketed and administratively efficient,” said Minister Flaherty. “We look forward to receiving input from stakeholders. Our goal is to have policies and programs that continue to attract investment and provide the greatest economic benefit for Canadians.”

Canada’s tax and tariff policies and national FTZ-like programs provide benefits comparable to those offered by site-specific FTZs in other countries. In recent years, the Government has taken important steps to enhance these tax and tariff advantages, notably by working to make Canada a tariff-free zone for manufacturers and contributing to a single-window pilot project for federal, provincial and municipal services at CentrePort Canada.

Stakeholders wishing to provide input are invited to submit their comments to the following address or by e-mail to Tariff-Tarif@fin.gc.ca. The closing date for comments is February 17, 2012.

Consultations on Foreign Trade Zone Programming
Department of Finance Canada
International Trade Policy Division, 14th Floor East
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 28 décembre 2011
2011-145

Archivé - Le gouvernement lance des consultations sur les politiques et les programmes apparentés aux zones franches

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a lancé aujourd’hui des consultations s’inscrivant dans l’examen des politiques et des programmes apparentés aux zones franches du Canada, pour donner suite à l’engagement décrit dans le budget de 2011, La prochaine phase du Plan d’action économique du Canada.

« Nous devons nous assurer que ces politiques et ces programmes sont concurrentiels sur le plan international, commercialisés efficacement et efficients du point de vue administratif, a fait savoir le ministre Flaherty. Nous avons hâte de recevoir les commentaires des intervenants. Notre but est de nous doter de politiques et de programmes qui continuent d’attirer les investissements tout en fournissant le plus grand avantage économique possible aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens. »

Les politiques fiscales et tarifaires du Canada ainsi que les programmes nationaux apparentés aux zones franches fournissent des avantages comparables à ceux offerts par des zones franches propres à des lieux d’autres pays. Ces dernières années, le gouvernement a pris d’importantes mesures pour améliorer ces avantages fiscaux et tarifaires, surtout en faisant en sorte que le Canada devienne une zone libre de droits de douane pour l’industrie manufacturière et en contribuant à la mise en œuvre d’un projet pilote de guichet unique pour les services fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux à CentrePort Canada.

Les intervenants qui souhaitent fournir des commentaires sont priés de les faire parvenir à l’adresse suivante ou à l’adresse électronique Tariff-Tarif@fin.gc.ca. Les commentaires seront acceptés jusqu’au 17 février 2012.

Consultations sur les programmes apparentés aux zones franches
Ministère des Finances Canada
Division de la politique commerciale internationale, 14e étage, tour Est
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.