Ottawa, December 14, 2011
2011-134

Archived - Provincial and Federal Governments Partner Toward Introduction of Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance), today announced that the Government released for consultation a package of draft legislative proposals for changes to the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations to accommodate Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs).

In December 2010, there was unanimous agreement among provinces, territories and the federal government to move forward with the framework for PRPPs. The rules announced today will set the stage for all provinces to introduce legislation to implement PRPPs.

“I want to thank all our provincial partners for their work and engagement on this file,” said Minister Menzies. “In particular, Quebec has been among our most engaged partners in crafting an innovative, new and low-cost savings option for those without access to a workplace pension plan.”

PRPPs will be a broad-based, low-cost, defined contribution pension vehicle that will be available to employers, employees and self-employed individuals.

“The Government of Quebec welcomes the federal government’s decision to quickly make changes to tax legislation to accommodate PRPPs. This announcement will allow us to fulfill our commitment made in the 2011–2012 budget to put in place new voluntary retirement savings plans,” said Raymond Bachand, Quebec’s Minister of Finance, Minister of Revenue and Minister responsible for the Montréal region.

The PRPP tax rules have been designed to be simple and straightforward and to promote low-cost plans. They will encourage take-up by employers and ultimately, greater pension coverage among Canadians.

The proposed tax rules for PRPPs will apply to both federally and provincially regulated PRPPs and will operate alongside the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act.

The attached backgrounder outlines the key measures proposed in today’s package, while explanatory notes provide further details.

Interested parties may submit comments on the package until February 14, 2012. The Government will then proceed with legislation at an early opportunity to implement the amendments, taking into account comments received.

Comments can be sent to PRPPtaxrules-RPACreglesfiscales@fin.gc.ca or to:

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Bram Sepers
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 14 décembre 2011
2011-134

Archivé - Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux collaborent en vue de l’instauration de régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Ted Menzies, ministre d’État (Finances), a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication par le gouvernement, à des fins de consultation, d’un ensemble de propositions législatives visant à modifier la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et le Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu pour qu’il y soit tenu compte des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC).

En décembre 2010, les provinces, les territoires et le gouvernement fédéral ont convenu à l’unanimité de faire progresser le cadre des RPAC. Les règles annoncées aujourd’hui ouvrent la voie au dépôt dans toutes les provinces de projets de loi visant à mettre en œuvre les RPAC.

« Je tiens à remercier tous nos partenaires provinciaux pour leur travail et leur engagement dans ce dossier, a déclaré le ministre Menzies. Le Québec notamment compte parmi nos partenaires les plus engagés dans l’élaboration d’une nouvelle option d’épargne innovatrice et peu coûteuse à l’intention des personnes qui n’ont pas accès à un régime de retraite en milieu de travail. »

Les RPAC constituent un mécanisme de pension à cotisations déterminées d’envergure et peu coûteux qui sera offert aux employeurs, aux salariés et aux travailleurs autonomes.

« Le gouvernement du Québec se réjouit de la décision du gouvernement fédéral d’apporter rapidement les modifications à la législation fiscale pour que celle-ci tienne compte des RPAC. Cette annonce va nous permettre de donner suite à notre engagement du budget 2011-2012 qui vise à mettre en place les nouveaux régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite », a déclaré Raymond Bachand, ministre des Finances, ministre du Revenu et ministre responsable de la région de Montréal du Québec.

Les règles fiscales relatives aux RPAC ont été conçues pour être simples et directes et pour favoriser la mise sur pied de régimes peu coûteux. Elles encourageront la participation des employeurs et assureront à terme une meilleure protection en matière de pensions pour les Canadiens.

Les règles fiscales proposées à l’égard des RPAC visent aussi bien les régimes sous réglementation fédérale que les régimes sous réglementation provinciale et s’appliqueront parallèlement à la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs.

La fiche d’information qui figure en annexe présente les principales mesures qui sont proposées aujourd’hui tandis que les notes explicatives fournissent de plus amples renseignements.

Les intéressés peuvent envoyer leurs commentaires sur les propositions d’ici le 14 février 2012. Par la suite, le gouvernement déposera un projet de loi afin de mettre les modifications en œuvre, compte tenu des commentaires reçus.

Prière de transmettre les commentaires par courrier électronique à l’adresse PRPPtaxrules-RPACreglesfiscales@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Bram Sepers
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.