Ottawa, November 30, 2011

Archived - Harper Government Moving Forward to Improve Financial Literacy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, as committed to in Budget 2011, today introduced the Financial Literacy Leader Act, to provide for the appointment of a Financial Literacy Leader who will exercise national leadership to strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.

“Ensuring that Canadians have the tools and knowledge to make responsible financial decisions is important for their personal well-being and for the strength and stability of our financial system as a whole,” said Minister Flaherty. “The appointment of a Financial Literacy Leader will mark an important step toward that goal.”

Earlier this year, the Government received the recommendations of the Task Force on Financial Literacy. Today’s legislation represents the first step in moving forward on the recommendations of the Task Force. The Act would also expand the responsibilities of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada to include collaborating and coordinating with stakeholders to contribute to and support initiatives that strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians. It also sets out the duties, powers and functions of the Financial Literacy Leader, enabling him or her to carry out activities in support of strengthening financial literacy.

“The Government will be able to name the Financial Literacy Leader soon after this legislation has been passed,” said Minister Flaherty. “We also applaud and support the efforts of the Member from Edmonton–Leduc, James Rajotte, in championing financial literacy in Parliament through his Private Member’s Motion M-269.”

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 30 novembre 2011
2011-125

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper adopte des mesures pour améliorer la littératie financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a présenté aujourd’hui, conformément à l’engagement énoncé dans le budget de 2011, la Loi sur le chef du développement de la littératie financière, afin de prévoir la nomination d’un chef du développement de la littératie financière chargé d’assurer un leadership national en vue de renforcer la littératie financière des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

« Pour assurer le bien–être personnel des Canadiens ainsi que la vigueur et la stabilité de notre système financier, il importe de veiller à ce que les Canadiens disposent des outils et des connaissances nécessaires pour prendre des décisions financières responsables, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. La nomination d’un chef du développement de la littératie financière constitue une étape importante en vue d’atteindre cet objectif. »

Plus tôt cette année, le gouvernement a reçu les recommandations du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière. Le projet de loi présenté aujourd’hui constitue un premier pas pour donner suite aux recommandations du Groupe de travail. La loi proposée élargirait en outre les responsabilités de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada en y intégrant la collaboration avec les intervenants afin de contribuer au développement et au soutien d’initiatives visant à renforcer la littératie financière des Canadiens et, à cette fin, la coordination des activités de l’Agence avec celles des intervenants.

Le projet de loi détermine également les attributions du chef du développement de la littératie financière, qui lui permettront de mener des activités appuyant le renforcement de la littératie financière.

« Le gouvernement pourra nommer le chef du développement de la littératie financière peu de temps après l’adoption de ce projet de loi, a indiqué le ministre Flaherty. Par ailleurs, nous saluons et soutenons les efforts du député d’Edmonton–Leduc, M. James Rajotte, qui s’est fait le champion parlementaire de la littératie financière grâce à la motion de député M-269. »

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.