Toronto, November 17, 2011
2011-119

Archived - Harper Government Introduces the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance), and the Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Industry, today announced that the Government of Canada is introducing changes to Canada’s pension landscape that will make saving for retirement easier for millions of Canadians.

Legislation was introduced today in Parliament, implementing the federal portion of the Pooled Registered Pension Plan (PRPP) framework. Since PRPPs are particularly applicable to small business, Minister Menzies delivered his remarks at a small radio station without a company pension plan.

“Today marks a major milestone in our efforts to ensure the ongoing strength of Canada’s retirement income system by providing a pension option for the many workers, like those here at Canadian Multicultural Radio, who currently do not participate in a company pension plan,” said Minister Menzies. “Incredibly, just over 60% of Canadians do not have a workplace pension plan. Canadians work hard to realize their retirement dreams, and PRPPs will offer them a new, low-cost and accessible pension option to help meet their goals.”

“We are thrilled at the opportunity to provide our staff with an option for retirement savings,” said Thomas Lambert, Chief Executive Officer of Canadian Multicultural Radio. “The PRPP is just the kind of option we’ve been searching for. With the savings on the administrative costs we can incentivize our staff towards better retirement savings.”

PRPPs are the outcome of several years of cooperation, research and consultations by Canada’s finance ministers on the best ways to ensure the long-term strength of Canada’s retirement income system.

“If you invest in a PRPP you will benefit from lower investment management costs associated with the large scale of these funds,” said Minister Menzies. “Essentially, you will be buying in bulk. This will leave you with more cash in your pocket when you retire.”

Provincial enabling legislation will need to be introduced for the framework to become fully operational.

“Canadians want their governments to act on their priorities and deliver results on a timely basis, and the PRPP is a prime example of what we can accomplish for Canadians when governments work together,” said Minister Paradis. “The Government of Canada is therefore confident that the provincial side of the framework will soon be in place to help Canadians reach their retirement objectives.”

In addition, the tax rules for PRPPs are being developed by the Government of Canada and will be released in draft for comment shortly. The PRPP tax rules will apply to both federally and provincially regulated PRPPs.

For further information, media may contact:

Bram Sepers
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Toronto, le 17 novembre 2011
2011-119

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper présente la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Ted Menzies, ministre d’État (Finances), et l’honorable Christian Paradis, ministre de l’Industrie, ont fait savoir aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada annonçait des changements dans le domaine des pensions au Canada qui faciliteront l’épargne-retraite pour des millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens.

Le projet de loi présenté aujourd’hui au Parlement met en œuvre la composante fédérale du cadre des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC). Puisque les RPAC s’adressent particulièrement aux petites entreprises, le ministre Menzies s’est exprimé dans une petite station de radio qui n’est pas dotée d’un régime de pension d’entreprise.

« L’événement d’aujourd’hui constitue un  jalon important en ce qui concerne les efforts que nous déployons pour assurer la solidité permanente de l’épargne-retraite au Canada en fournissant une option de pension à de nombreux travailleurs, comme ceux de Canadian Multicultural Radio, qui ne participent pas actuellement à un régime de pension de l’employeur, a indiqué le ministre Menzies. Cela a de quoi surprendre, mais un peu plus de 60 % des Canadiens ne participent pas à un régime de retraite offert au travail. Les Canadiens travaillent fort pour profiter de la retraite dont ils rêvent, et les RPAC constituent une nouvelle option de retraite, peu coûteuse et accessible qui les aidera à atteindre leurs objectifs. »

« Nous sommes enchantés de pouvoir offrir à nos employés un régime d’épargne-retraite, a fait savoir Thomas Lambert, premier dirigeant de Canadian Multicultural  Radio. Le RPAC est exactement le genre d’option que nous recherchions. Grâce aux économies de coûts administratifs, nous pouvons inciter nos employés à épargner davantage pour leur retraite. »

Les RPAC sont l’aboutissement de plusieurs années de collaboration, de recherche et de consultations des ministres des Finances du Canada afin de trouver les meilleures façons d’assurer la solidité à long terme du système de revenu de retraite du Canada.

« Si vous investissez dans un RPAC, vous paierez des coûts de gestion des placements moins élevés grâce à l’ampleur des fonds communs, a fait remarquer le ministre Menzies. Vous ferez essentiellement des achats de gros. Vous disposerez ainsi de plus d’argent lorsque vous prendrez votre retraite. »

Des lois habilitantes provinciales devront être adoptées pour que le cadre puisse devenir pleinement opérationnel.

« Les Canadiens tiennent à ce que leurs gouvernements agissent en temps opportun pour donner suite aux éléments qu’ils jugent prioritaires et produire des résultats, et les RPAC sont un parfait exemple de ce que nous pouvons faire pour eux lorsque nos gouvernements font équipe, a indiqué le ministre Paradis. Le gouvernement du Canada est donc persuadé que la composante provinciale du cadre sera bientôt en vigueur pour aider les Canadiens à réaliser leurs objectifs de retraite. »

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada élabore présentement les règles fiscales qui s'appliqueront aux RPAC et une version provisoire de ces règles sera diffusée sous peu à des fins de commentaires. Celles-ci s'appliqueront tant aux régimes sous réglementation fédérale qu’aux régimes sous réglementation provinciale.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Bram Sepers
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.