Ottawa, June 24, 2011

Archived - Statement by Canada and Australia on the Selection of the Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

“It is important that the new IMF Managing Director be selected in an open and transparent process with the candidate chosen on the basis of merit and not nationality. 

“This is consistent with the G-20’s commitments to reform our international financial institutions and is reflected in recent progress at giving greater representation in the IMF to emerging and developing economies.

“The international community is well served with two highly credible candidates for the position. It is essential for the legitimacy of the IMF that we have candidates of the calibre of Christine Lagarde and Agustín Carstens.

“Agustín Carstens’ previous experience in the IMF, combined with his background as Finance Minister of Mexico and his current position as Governor of the Mexican central bank, equip him very well to understand and address, on a collaborative and inclusive basis with IMF member countries, the challenges faced by the global economy. Accordingly, after due consideration of the candidates and the IMF selection criteria, we have decided to support him for the position of IMF Managing Director.

“We look forward to the decision of the IMF Executive Board, whether it be in favour of Mr. Carstens or Ms. Lagarde, and to working closely with the next Managing Director to build a strong and sustainable global economy.”

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Ottawa, le 24 Juin 2011
2011-050

Archivé - Déclaration du Canada et de l’Australie concernant la sélection du directeur général du Fonds monétaire international (FMI)

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

« Il est important que la sélection du nouveau directeur général du FMI se fasse de façon ouverte et transparente, et que la personne retenue le soit en fonction de son mérite, et non en fonction de sa nationalité. 

Ce point de vue est conforme aux engagements qu’a pris le G‑20 de réformer les institutions financières internationales, et il se traduit par les progrès accomplis récemment en ce qui concerne l’augmentation de la représentation des économies émergentes et en développement au sein du FMI.

La communauté internationale est bien servie grâce à deux candidats hautement crédibles pour le poste. Pour assurer la légitimité du FMI, il est essentiel que nous ayons des candidats du calibre de Mme Christine Lagarde et de M. Agustín Carstens.

Grâce à l’expérience qu’il a acquise au sein du FMI, à son expérience de ministre des Finances du Mexique et à son poste actuel de gouverneur de la Banque centrale du Mexique, Agustín Carstens est très bien placé pour comprendre et relever les défis auxquels l’économie mondiale fait face, en travaillant de manière inclusive avec les pays membres du FMI. Par conséquent, après un examen approfondi des candidatures et des critères de sélection du FMI, nous avons décidé de le soutenir pour le poste de directeur général du FMI.

Nous attendons avec impatience la décision du Conseil d’administration du FMI, que celui‑ci choisisse M. Carstens ou Mme Lagarde, et l’occasion de travailler étroitement avec le prochain directeur général afin de bâtir une économie mondiale forte et durable. »

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.