Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, March 18, 2011
2011-026

Archived - Minister of Finance to Host Meeting of Finance Ministers of the Americas and the Caribbean in Calgary

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Addressing economic challenges and enhancing regional trade and cross-border infrastructure will be the focus of the upcoming meeting of Finance Ministers of the Americas and the Caribbean on March 25-26 in Calgary, the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, confirmed today. The meeting, which coincides with the annual meeting of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), will be the fourth for the Finance Ministers of 34 nations in the Western Hemisphere.

“Canada’s goal in Calgary will be to strengthen the dialogue among our nations and enhance the region’s economic prospects, building on the progress made in the previous meetings in Mexico, Chile and Peru,” said Minister Flaherty. “I have participated in all of these meetings and have found them to be an increasingly influential forum on issues affecting growth and development. I have no doubt, as was the case last year at the Toronto G-20 Leaders’ summit and the G-7 Finance Ministers’ meeting in Iqaluit, that this gathering will play a pivotal role in our collective efforts towards a sustained global recovery.”

Both the Finance Ministers’ and IDB meetings are further evidence of the priority the Government of Canada places on its partnerships throughout the Americas. Other recent examples include:

The Harper Government has launched an ambitious trade agenda, opening doors to Canadian business by concluding new free trade agreements with several countries in the Americas, including Colombia, Peru and Panama.

At the same time, the Government has also launched negotiations with the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and Honduras, which is building on the success of the North American Free Trade Agreement with the United States and Mexico.

Canadian businesses and workers can compete with the best in the world, confident that the Government of Canada will continue to create jobs and open new markets for Canadian families and businesses.

Further details on the 4th Meeting of Finance Ministers of the Americas and the Caribbean can be found in the attached media advisory.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 18 mars 2011
2011-026

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances sera l’hôte de la réunion des ministres des Finances des Amériques et des Caraïbes qui se tiendra à Calgary

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a confirmé aujourd’hui que la réunion des ministres des Finances des Amériques et des Caraïbes, qui se tiendra à Calgary les 25 et 26 mars, portera principalement sur les problèmes économiques et sur l’amélioration du commerce et de l’infrastructure transfrontalière dans la région. Cette réunion, qui se tient au même moment que la réunion annuelle de la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID), sera la quatrième du genre à réunir les ministres des Finances de 34 pays de l’hémisphère occidental.

« À Calgary, le Canada tentera de renforcer le dialogue entre les pays présents et d’améliorer les perspectives économiques de la région, dans la foulée des progrès réalisés lors des réunions précédentes qui ont eu lieu au Mexique, au Chili et au Pérou, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. J’ai participé à toutes ces réunions et j’estime qu’elles constituent une tribune de plus en plus influente dans les domaines touchant la croissance et le développement. Cette rencontre jouera sans aucun doute un rôle clé dans nos efforts collectifs pour assurer une reprise mondiale soutenue, comme cela a été le cas lors du Sommet des chefs d’État du G-20 de Toronto et de la réunion des ministres des Finances du G-7 d’Iqaluit, tenues l’an dernier. »

Les réunions des ministres des Finances et des représentants de la BID attestent une fois de plus le degré de priorité que le gouvernement du Canada donne à ses partenariats dans l’ensemble des Amériques. En voici quelques exemples récents :  

Le gouvernement Harper a lancé un programme commercial ambitieux qui ouvre la voie aux entreprises canadiennes grâce à la signature de nouveaux accords de libre-échange avec plusieurs pays des Amériques, y compris avec  la Colombie, le Pérou et le Panama.

Au même moment, le gouvernement a engagé des négociations avec la Communauté des Caraïbes (Caricom) et le Honduras. Le lancement de ces négociations s’appuie sur le succès de l’Accord de libre‑échange nord-américain signé avec les États-Unis et le Mexique.

Les entreprises et les travailleurs canadiens peuvent compétitionner avec les meilleurs au monde et être assurés que le gouvernement du Canada continuera à créer des emplois et de nouveaux marchés pour les familles et les entreprises canadiennes.

Pour plus de détails sur la quatrième réunion des ministres des Finances et des Caraïbes, veuillez consulter l’avis aux médias ci-joint.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.