Ottawa, March 16, 2011
2011-024

Archived - Department of Finance Releases Draft Income Tax Proposals

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Department of Finance today announced draft legislative proposals relating to the Income Tax Act and Income Tax Regulations concerning the deductibility by a taxpayer of contingent amounts, the withholding tax that applies to interest payments made to non-residents, and the tax treatment of a life insurance corporation’s reserves in respect of its segregated fund policies.

These proposals are in response to three Federal Court of Appeal decisions (Collins v. The Queen, 2010 FCA 12, Lehigh Cement Limited v. The Queen, 2010 FCA 124 and The Queen v. National Life Assurance Company of Canada, 2008 FCA 14).

The draft legislative proposals would clarify:

  • that a taxpayer who has a right to reduce an amount in respect of an expenditure is to be given recognition for tax purposes for only that reduced amount;
  • that withholding tax under Part XIII of the Income Tax Act will apply (subject to the application of Canada’s tax treaties) to interest paid or credited by a person who is resident in Canada (the payer) to any non-resident person in respect of a debt that is owed to a non-resident person who does not deal at arm’s length with the payer; and
  • the rules for computing a life insurance corporation’s segregated fund policy reserves.

Today’s release includes the draft legislative proposals and explanatory notes to implement these changes for public consultation. References in these documents to “Announcement Date” are to be read as references to today’s date.

Interested parties are invited to send comments on these proposals by April 15, 2011 to ConsultationsFCA-CAF@fin.gc.ca.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 16 mars 2011
2011-024

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances publie des propositions relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministère des Finances a annoncé aujourd’hui des propositions législatives touchant des dispositions de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu relatives à la déductibilité par un contribuable de sommes éventuelles, à la retenue d’impôt à opérer sur les paiements d’intérêts faits à des non-résidents et au traitement fiscal des provisions pour polices à fonds réservés des compagnies d’assurance-vie.

Ces propositions font suite à trois décisions rendues par la Cour d’appel fédérale, à savoir Collins c. la Reine, 2010 CAF 12, Lehigh Cement Limited c. la Reine, 2010 CAF 124 et La Reine c. la Nationale du Canada, compagnie d’assurance-vie, 2008 CAF 14.

Les propositions législatives préciseraient ce qui suit :

  • le contribuable qui a le droit de réduire une somme relative à une dépense ne pourra faire reconnaître aux fins d’impôt que la somme une fois réduite;
  • la retenue d’impôt prévue par la partie XIII de la Loi de l’impôt sur revenu s’appliquera (sous réserve des traités fiscaux du Canada) aux intérêts qu’une personne résidant au Canada (le payeur) paie à une personne non-résidente, ou porte à son crédit, au titre d’une dette due à une personne non-résidente ayant un lien de dépendance avec le payeur;
  • l’application des règles sur le calcul des provisions techniques pour polices à fonds réservés de compagnies d’assurance-vie.

Le présent communiqué comprend, aux fins de consultation publique, des propositions législatives et des notes explicatives en vue de la mise en œuvre des modifications. Toute mention dans ces documents de la date de publication vaut mention de la date d’aujourd’hui.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires au sujet des propositions d’ici le 15 avril 2011 par courriel à l’adresse ConsultationsFCA-CAF@fin.gc.ca.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.