Ottawa, January 17, 2011

Archived - The Harper Government Takes Prudent Action to Support the Long-Term Stability of Canada’s Housing Market

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, and the Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced prudent adjustments to the rules for government-backed insured mortgages to support the long-term stability of Canada’s housing market and support hard-working Canadian families saving through home ownership.

“Canada’s well-regulated housing sector has been an important strength that allowed us to avoid the mistakes of other countries and helped protect us from the worst of the recent global recession,” said Minister Flaherty. “The prudent measures announced today build on that advantage by encouraging hard-working Canadian families to save by investing in their homes and future.”

“The economy continues to be our Government’s top priority,” continued Minister Paradis. “Our Government will continue to take the necessary actions to ensure stability and economic certainty in Canada’s housing market.”

The new measures:

  • Reduce the maximum amortization period to 30 years from 35 years for new government-backed insured mortgages with loan-to-value ratios of more than 80 per cent. This will significantly reduce the total interest payments Canadian families make on their mortgages, allow Canadian families to build up equity in their homes more quickly, and help Canadians pay off their mortgages before they retire.
  • Lower the maximum amount Canadians can borrow in refinancing their mortgages to 85 per cent from 90 per cent of the value of their homes. This will promote saving through home ownership and limit the repackaging of consumer debt into mortgages guaranteed by taxpayers.
  • Withdraw government insurance backing on lines of credit secured by homes, such as home equity lines of credit, or HELOCs. This will ensure that risks associated with consumer debt products used to borrow funds unrelated to house purchases are managed by the financial institutions and not borne by taxpayers.

Our Government’s ongoing monitoring and sound underlying supervisory regime, along with the traditionally cautious approach taken by Canadian financial institutions to mortgage lending, have allowed Canada to maintain strong and secure housing and mortgage markets.

The adjustments to the mortgage insurance guarantee framework will come into force on March 18, 2011. The withdrawal of government insurance backing on lines of credit secured by homes will come into force on April 18, 2011.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 17 janvier 2011
2011-003

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper adopte des mesures prudentes pour appuyer la stabilité à long terme du marché canadien du logement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, et l’honorable Christian Paradis, ministre des Ressources naturelles, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que des rajustements prudents seraient apportés aux règles s’appliquant aux prêts hypothécaires assurés bénéficiant d’une garantie du gouvernement, afin d’appuyer la stabilité à long terme du marché canadien du logement et de soutenir les familles de travailleurs canadiens qui épargnent grâce à leur propriété résidentielle.

« Le secteur du logement au Canada est bien réglementé, et cet important avantage nous a permis d’éviter les erreurs commises par d’autres pays, tout en nous protégeant des pires conséquences de la récession mondiale, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Les mesures prudentes que nous annonçons aujourd’hui consolident cet avantage en encourageant les familles canadiennes, qui travaillent très fort, à épargner en investissant dans leur maison et dans l’avenir. »

« L’économie demeure la grande priorité de notre gouvernement, a ajouté le ministre Paradis. Notre gouvernement continuera de prendre les mesures qui s’imposent afin d’assurer la stabilité et la certitude économique du marché canadien du logement. »

Les nouvelles mesures prévoient ce qui suit :

  • La période maximale d’amortissement des nouveaux prêts hypothécaires assurés garantis par le gouvernement et dont le ratio prêt-valeur est supérieur à 80 % passera de 35 ans à 30 ans. Cela procurera aux Canadiens une nette réduction du total des paiements d’intérêt sur les prêts hypothécaires. Cela leur permettra aussi d’accroître plus rapidement la valeur nette de leur habitation et les aidera à rembourser leur prêt hypothécaire avant la retraite.
  • Le montant maximal pouvant être emprunté lors du refinancement d’une hypothèque passera de 90 % à 85 % de la valeur de l’habitation. Cela encouragera les propriétaires à utiliser leur habitation comme mécanisme d’épargne et limitera la pratique consistant à convertir les dettes de consommation en prêts hypothécaires garantis par les contribuables.
  • Le gouvernement cessera d’offrir une garantie d’assurance dans le cas des lignes de crédit garanties par l’habitation, telles que les marges de crédit hypothécaires. Ainsi, les risques associés aux produits de crédit à la consommation que l’on utilise pour emprunter de l’argent dont l’utilisation n’est pas liée à des achats concernant l’habitation seront gérés par les institutions financières, et non par les contribuables.

La surveillance continue du gouvernement en matière de prêt hypothécaire et le solide régime de surveillance qui sous-tend cette activité, combinés avec l’approche prudente appliquée par les institutions financières du pays au fil des ans, ont permis au Canada de maintenir la vigueur et la stabilité de ses marchés du logement et du crédit hypothécaire.

Les rajustements au cadre de garantie de l’assurance hypothécaire entreront en vigueur le 18 mars 2011. L’élimination de la garantie d’assurance du gouvernement relativement aux marges de crédit hypothécaires prendra effet le 18 avril 2011.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.