Archived - Backgrounder: Amendments to the Real Estate Investment Trust Rules

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Real estate investment trusts (“REITs”) are publicly-traded trusts holding non-portfolio property that are exempt from the tax on distributions from a specified investment flow-through (“SIFT”). The proposals announced today contemplate amendments to the rules for qualification as a REIT. The proposals will be effective for the 2011 and subsequent taxation years and also on an elective basis for earlier taxation years. Below are brief explanations of several key elements of the proposed amendments.

Use of Property Held for Resale in Incidental Business Activities

A REIT that acquires property and arranges for its development to hold as a commercial rental property may often resell a portion of that property to another party, such as a desired anchor tenant. A REIT may also acquire property for resale in the condominium and foreclosure contexts.

Today’s proposals would allow REIT subsidiaries to hold, and generate the revenues associated with, certain real estate held for resale that is necessary and incidental to the REIT holding capital property that is qualified REIT property.

Qualified REIT Property

The proposals will permit REITs to hold up to 10% of their property in the form of non-portfolio property that is not qualified REIT property. Consequential to this relieving change, the existing provision for ancillary qualified REIT property is clarified to better describe the type of properties that can be considered ancillary. In particular, only tangible personal property, or for civil law purposes corporeal moveable property, (and, therefore, excluding securities such as equity and debt) can qualify as ancillary for this purpose.

Gross REIT Revenue

In order to qualify as a REIT, a trust must meet two tests designed to determine the nature of its revenue. The REIT rules provide that at least 95% of a REIT’s revenues must be derived from passive sources generally, and that, in particular, at least 75% of a REIT’s revenues must be sourced from certain passive real estate sources.

The rule providing that at least 95% of a REIT’s revenues be derived from certain passive sources is proposed to be modified to require that only 90% of the REIT’s revenues be derived from qualifying sources.

Today’s proposals will also clarify that, for both revenue tests, revenue is to be defined as gross revenue, and will include capital gains. 

Foreign Currency Gains

When REITs hold foreign real or immovable property, they may finance the acquisition of such property using debt denominated in a foreign currency. Also, given the potential foreign currency risk in holding foreign assets, REITs may choose to enter arrangements that hedge that risk.

Today’s proposals will permit REITs to earn, as qualifying revenue, gains realized by virtue of foreign currency fluctuations in respect of revenues derived from such foreign real or immovable property including certain financing and hedging arrangements in respect of such property.

Source Character of Revenue from a Subsidiary Trust

The proposals will ensure that, for purposes of the two revenue tests referred to above (the 95% and the 75% test), amounts paid by certain subsidiaries of a REIT to the REIT will have the same character as that revenue had when it was received or earned by those subsidiaries.

Canadian Real, Immovable or Resource Property

The proposals will ensure that an entity may hold investments in a REIT or transitional SIFT without those investments being treated as Canadian real, immovable or resource property in determining whether the entity itself is a SIFT. For this purpose, a transitional SIFT means a trust or partnership that would, but for the deferred application of the rules for entities that existed on October 31, 2006, be a SIFT trust or SIFT partnership.

Archivé - Document d’information – Modifications aux règles concernant les fiducies de placement immobilier

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les fiducies de placement immobilier (FPI) sont des fiducies cotées en bourse détenant des biens hors portefeuille qui sont exonérés de l’impôt sur les distributions provenant d’entités intermédiaires de placement déterminées. Les propositions annoncées aujourd’hui consistent en modifications aux règles de qualification d’une FPI. Les propositions s’appliqueront aux années d’imposition 2011 et suivantes et, si le contribuable en fait le choix, à des années d’imposition antérieures. Suit un bref exposé de plusieurs éléments clés des modifications proposées.

Utilisation d’un bien détenu pour revente dans le cadre d’activités d’entreprise accessoires

La FPI qui acquiert un bien et qui fait en sorte qu’il soit aménagé en vue d’être détenu à titre de bien de location commercial peut souvent en revendre une partie à un tiers, comme un locataire-clé. Une FPI peut aussi acquérir un bien en vue de le revendre dans un contexte de copropriété ou de forclusion.

Les propositions rendues publiques aujourd’hui permettraient aux filiales de FPI de détenir, à des fins de revente, des biens immeubles ou réels qui sont nécessaires et accessoires à la détention par la FPI d’immobilisations qui constituent des biens admissibles de FPI, et de tirer des revenus de ces biens immeubles ou réels.

Biens admissibles de FPI

Les propositions permettront aux FPI de détenir jusqu’à 10 % de leurs biens sous forme de biens hors portefeuille qui ne sont pas des biens admissibles de FPI. Par suite de cette modification d’allègement, la disposition concernant les biens admissibles de FPI accessoires est modifiée de telle façon qu’elle  décrive plus clairement le type de biens qui sont considérés comme étant accessoires. En effet, seuls les biens personnels tangibles ou, pour l’application du droit civil, les biens meubles corporels (ce qui exclut les titres comme les capitaux propres et les dettes) sont des biens accessoires à cette fin.

Revenu de FPI brut

Pour avoir la qualité de FPI, une fiducie doit remplir deux critères qui permettent de déterminer la nature de son revenu. Les règles sur les FPI prévoient qu’au moins 95 % du revenu de la FPI doit provenir de sources passives et qu’au moins 75 % de ses revenus doit provenir de certaines sources immobilières passives.

Il est proposé de modifier la règle selon laquelle au moins 95 % des revenus d’une FPI doit provenir de certaines sources passives de façon à prévoir que 90 % seulement des revenus d’une FPI doit provenir de sources admissibles.

En outre, les propositions rendues publiques aujourd’hui précisent que, en ce qui a trait aux deux critères de revenu, le calcul doit être fait en fonction du revenu brut, et que ce dernier comprendra les gains en capital.

Gains sur change

Les FPI qui détiennent des biens immeubles ou réels à l’étranger peuvent en financer l’acquisition au moyen de dettes libellées en monnaie étrangère. De plus, en raison du risque de change que présente le fait de détenir des biens étrangers, les FPI peuvent choisir de conclure des arrangements pour couvrir ce risque.

Les propositions rendues publiques aujourd’hui permettront aux FPI de gagner, à titre de revenus admissibles, des gains découlant des fluctuations monétaires liées aux revenus provenant de biens immeubles ou réels étrangers, y compris certains arrangements de financement et de couverture relatifs à ces biens.

Qualification des sources de revenus provenant d’une fiducie affiliée

Les propositions font en sorte que, pour l’application des deux critères de revenu mentionnés ci-dessus (le critère de 95 % et le critère de 75 %), la qualification des sommes que certaines filiales d’une FPI versent à celle-ci demeurera la même que celle qu’elles avaient au moment où elles ont été reçues ou gagnées par les filiales.

Biens canadiens immeubles, réels ou miniers

Les propositions font en sorte qu’une entité puisse détenir des placements dans une FPI ou dans une entité intermédiaire de placement déterminée transitoire sans que ceux-ci soient traités comme des biens canadiens immeubles, réels ou miniers quand vient le temps de déterminer si l’entité est elle-même une entité intermédiaire de placement déterminée. À cette fin, « entité intermédiaire de placement déterminée transitoire » est une fiducie ou une société de personnes qui serait une fiducie intermédiaire de placement déterminée ou une société de personnes intermédiaire de placement déterminée en l’absence de l’application différée des règles visant les entités qui existaient au 31 octobre 2006.