Ottawa, December 14, 2010

Archived - Government of Canada Moves to Strengthen the Federally Regulated Private Pension System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today proposed regulatory changes to help make federally regulated private pension plans less sensitive to financial market volatility while protecting plan members and retirees.

“These changes will help pension plan sponsors to better manage their funding obligations while providing additional protection to plan members and retirees,” said Minister Flaherty.

The proposed amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 would:

  • Permit plan sponsors to secure properly structured letters of credit in lieu of making solvency payments to the pension fund, up to a limit of 15 per cent of plan assets.
  • Require plan sponsors to fully fund pension benefits on plan termination.
  • Void any amendments to a pension plan that would reduce the solvency ratio of the pension plan if the plan’s solvency ratio would be below 0.85.
  • Permit sponsors, plan members and retirees of a distressed pension plan to negotiate their own funding arrangements to facilitate a plan restructuring.

These proposed changes to federally regulated private pension plans implement elements of the Government’s modernized federal pension framework announced on October 27, 2009, which enhances protection for plan members, reduces funding volatility, makes it easier to negotiate changes to pension arrangements and modernizes the rules for investments made by pension funds.

“These changes are part of the Government of Canada’s overall commitment to maintain a strong retirement income system for Canadians,” said Minister Flaherty, noting these changes are a federal initiative and do not apply to provincially regulated pension plans.

The amendments are being released today for public comment. The official pre-publication in the Canada Gazette will be on December 18, 2010. At that time, interested persons may make representations on the proposed amendments within 30 days, prior to final consideration by the Government.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at

Ottawa, le 14 décembre 2010
2010-121

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures en vue de renforcer les régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui un projet de modifications réglementaires qui permettraient aux régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale d’être moins vulnérables à la volatilité des marchés financiers tout en protégeant les participants aux régimes et les pensionnés.

« Ces modifications aideront non seulement les répondants des régimes à mieux gérer leurs exigences de capitalisation, mais elles offriront aussi une protection supplémentaire aux participants aux régimes et aux pensionnés », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty.

Les modifications proposées au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension ont pour effet :

  • d’autoriser les répondants des régimes à obtenir des lettres de crédit adéquatement structurées, plutôt que de verser des paiements de solvabilité à la caisse de retraite, jusqu’à une limite de 15 % des actifs du régime;
  • d’exiger du répondant du régime qu’il capitalise entièrement les prestations de retraite à la cessation du régime;
  • d’annuler les modifications apportées à un régime qui réduiraient son ratio de solvabilité si celui-ci est inférieur à 0,85;
  • d’autoriser les répondants, les participants et les pensionnés d’un régime en difficulté à négocier leurs propres arrangements de capitalisation de manière à faciliter la restructuration du régime.

Les modifications proposées aux régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale mettent en œuvre des éléments du cadre modernisé des régimes de retraite fédéraux, cadre qui a été annoncé le 27 octobre 2009.  Ce cadre a pour effet de mieux protéger les participants aux régimes, d’atténuer la volatilité de la capitalisation, de faciliter les négociations concernant les changements apportés aux modalités régissant les pensions et de moderniser les règles applicables aux placements des caisses de retraite.

« Ces modifications s’inscrivent dans le cadre de l’engagement que le gouvernement du Canada a pris de faire en sorte que le système de revenu de retraite du Canada demeure solide », a ajouté le ministre Flaherty. Il a par ailleurs précisé que ce projet relevait du gouvernement fédéral et qu’il ne visait pas les régimes de pension sous réglementation provinciale.

Les modifications proposées sont publiées aux fins de consultation. La publication préalable officielle paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada le 18 décembre 2010. Les parties intéressées auront alors un délai de 30 jours pendant lequel elles pourront faire parvenir leurs observations avant que le gouvernement procède à un examen final.

___________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861à

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp