Ottawa, December 7, 2010
2010-118

Archived - Governments of Canada and Saskatchewan Release Proposals to Improve the Saskatchewan Pension Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Canada’s Minister of Finance, together with the Honourable Ken Krawetz, Saskatchewan’s Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance, today released draft legislative amendments to accommodate changes to the Saskatchewan Pension Plan, as outlined by the Government of Saskatchewan in its 2010 budget.

“Saving for retirement is an important objective for Canadian families,” said Minister Flaherty. “We are continuing to move forward to provide greater flexibility and opportunity to achieve this goal. The Government of Saskatchewan’s proposed changes to the Saskatchewan Pension Plan are consistent with these objectives. Accordingly, I am proposing changes to the Income Tax Act to accommodate Saskatchewan’s proposals.”

“We are very pleased that the federal government has agreed to our request to increase the contribution limit,” said Minister Krawetz. “Plan participants requested this change and we are responding.”

The Saskatchewan Pension Plan is a voluntary defined contribution pension plan established by the Government of Saskatchewan. It offers an alternative for small businesses that do not offer their own pension plans, provides cost-effective professional investment management of retirement savings, and allows employees full portability of pension savings between employers.

The amendments proposed today to the Income Tax Act accommodate an increase in the annual contribution limit to the Saskatchewan Pension Plan to $2,500 from $600, and align its tax treatment with that of other tax-assisted retirement savings vehicles. These changes will ensure that Saskatchewan Pension Plan members benefit from additional features of the Registered Retirement Savings Plan and Registered Pension Plan rules that were not previously available to them. The proposed changes will apply to 2010 and subsequent taxation years.

The Government of Saskatchewan is simultaneously proceeding with amendments to provincial legislation and regulations required to enact these changes.

“This is another great example of our governments working together to help families in Saskatchewan,” said the Honourable Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Member of Parliament for Battlefords–Lloydminster.

“The Government of Canada is continuing to work with Saskatchewan and all provinces and territories on strengthening Canada’s retirement income system,” added Minister Flaherty.

Minister Flaherty indicated that the Government of Canada intends to table the proposed changes to the Income Tax Act in the House of Commons at an early opportunity.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Randy Burton
Saskatchewan Ministry of Finance
Regina, Sask.
306-787-6578

Katherine Strutt
Saskatchewan Pension Plan
Kindersley, Sask.
306-463-5412
306-463-9703 (cellular)

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 7 décembre 2010
2010-118

Archivé - Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Saskatchewan proposent des améliorations au Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances du Canada, a rendu publiques aujourd’hui, de concert avec l’honorable Ken Krawetz, vice-premier ministre et ministre des Finances de la Saskatchewan, des propositions législatives pour tenir compte des changements au Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan que le gouvernement de cette province a annoncés dans son budget de 2010.

« Épargner en vue de la retraite est un objectif important pour les familles canadiennes, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Nous poursuivons nos efforts afin d’offrir une plus grande marge de manœuvre et un plus grand nombre de possibilités pour atteindre cet objectif. Les changements que le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan propose d’apporter au Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan sont compatibles avec cet objectif. Par conséquent, je propose de modifier la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu de façon à tenir compte des propositions de la Saskatchewan. »

« Nous sommes très heureux que le gouvernement fédéral ait accédé à notre demande de hausser le plafond de cotisation, a déclaré le ministre Krawetz. Les participants au régime ont demandé ce changement et nous y donnons suite. »

Le Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan est un régime de pension à cotisations déterminées à participation volontaire qui a été établi par le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan. Il offre une solution de rechange aux petites entreprises qui n’offrent pas leur propre régime de retraite, permet une gestion économique et professionnelle des placements d’épargne-retraite et permet aux employés de transférer leur épargne-retraite entre employeurs.

Les modifications proposées à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et à son règlement visent à tenir compte de la hausse du plafond annuel de cotisation au Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan, lequel passe de 600 $ à 2 500 $, et à aligner le traitement fiscal de ce régime sur celui d’autres instruments d’épargne-retraite donnant droit à une aide fiscale. Ces changements permettront aux participants au Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan de profiter de certains aspects des règles concernant les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite et les régimes de pension agréés qui ne leur étaient pas applicables auparavant. Les changements proposés s’appliqueront aux années d’imposition 2010 et suivantes.

Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan travaille simultanément à modifier les lois et les règlements provinciaux afin de mettre ces changements à effet.

« Voilà un excellent exemple de l’engagement de nos gouvernements de collaborer en vue d’aider les familles de la Saskatchewan », a déclaré l’honorable Gerry Ritz, ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire et député de Battlefords-Lloydminster.

« Le gouvernement du Canada continue de travailler avec la Saskatchewan et avec l’ensemble des provinces et territoires afin de consolider le régime de revenu de retraite du Canada », a ajouté le ministre Flaherty.

Le ministre Flaherty a indiqué que le gouvernement du Canada avait l’intention de déposer à la Chambre des communes, dans un avenir rapproché, un projet de loi contenant les modifications proposées à la Loi et au Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Randy Burton
Ministère des Finances
Regina (Saskatchewan)
306-787-6578

Katherine Strutt
Régime de pension de la Saskatchewan
Kindersley (Saskatchewan)
306-463-5412
306-463-9703 (cellulaire)

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp