Ottawa, December 2, 2010
2010-115

Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of New Director to the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the appointment of George Burger to the Board of Directors of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC).

“Mr. Burger has had an illustrious career in both the fields of business and law, making him an ideal choice for this position,” said Minister Flaherty.

Mr. Burger, of Toronto, is a senior media and broadcasting industry executive. He was most recently President and Chief Executive Officer of The Fight Network. Previously, he was Executive Vice President of Alliance Communications Corporation. Prior to joining Alliance in 1994, Mr. Burger was a senior partner with the Corporate Finance and Mergers and Acquisitions group at the national law firm Heenan Blaikie.

CDIC is a federal Crown corporation established in 1967 to provide deposit insurance against the loss, in whole or in part, of deposits with member institutions in the event of their failure. Member institutions include banks, trust companies and loan companies.

Biographical notes are attached.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Biographical Notes

George Burger BA, LLB, LLM

George Burger is a senior media and broadcasting industry executive with a legal background.

He was most recently President and CEO of The Fight Network, a Category 2 sports genre channel. Prior to that, he was the Chairman, President and CEO of Spotlight Television Inc. Mr. Burger was formerly the Executive Vice President and second in command of Alliance Communications Corporation, then Canada’s largest fully integrated media and entertainment company.

Prior to joining Alliance in 1994, Mr. Burger was a senior partner with the Corporate Finance and Mergers and Acquisitions group at the national law firm Heenan Blaikie. A graduate of the University of Toronto Law School, he also was awarded an LLM from the University of Sydney, where he studied public company finance and international tax.

Ottawa, le 2 décembre 2010
2010-115

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la nomination d’un nouvel administrateur à la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de George Burger au conseil d’administration de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC).

« M. Burger a connu une brillante carrière tant dans le milieu des affaires que dans celui du droit, et il représente donc un choix parfait pour ce poste », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty.

M. Burger, qui habite à Toronto, occupe des fonctions de cadre supérieur dans l’industrie des médias et de la radiodiffusion. Récemment, il a été président et chef de la direction de la chaîne de télévision The Fight Network. Auparavant, il a été vice-président directeur de la société Alliance Communications. Avant de joindre Alliance en 1994, M. Burger était associé principal du groupe du financement des sociétés et des fusions et acquisitions au cabinet d’avocats Heenan Blaikie.

La SADC est une société d’État fédérale mise sur pied en 1967 pour fournir une assurance contre la perte, intégrale ou partielle, de dépôts auprès des institutions membres, au cas où elles feraient faillite. Les banques, les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés de prêt comptent parmi les membres de cette société.

Une notice biographique est jointe en annexe.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp

Notice biographique

George Burger, B.A., LL.B., LL.M.

George Burger occupe des fonctions de cadre supérieur dans l’industrie des médias et de la radiodiffusion, et il possède une formation juridique.

Récemment, il a été président et chef de la direction de The Fight Network, une chaîne de télévision sportive de catégorie 2. Auparavant, il a été président du conseil, président et chef de la direction de Spotlight Television Inc. M. Burger a également été vice-président directeur et second dirigeant de la société Alliance Communications, qui représentait alors la plus importante entreprise canadienne entièrement intégrée dans le domaine des médias et du divertissement.

Avant de joindre Alliance en 1994, M. Burger a été associé principal du groupe du financement des sociétés et des fusions et acquisitions au cabinet national d’avocats Heenan Blaikie. Il est diplômé de l’école de droit de l’Université de Toronto, et il a également obtenu une maîtrise en droit de l’Université de Sydney, où il a étudié les finances des sociétés publiques et la fiscalité internationale.