Ottawa, June 30, 2010
2010-062

Archived - Proposed Changes to Certain Harmonized Sales Tax Rules in Respect of Financial Institutions, Streamlined Accounting Methods and Interment Rights

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Department of Finance today released proposed changes to the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) measures in respect of: certain financial institutions; rules and rates for streamlined accounting methods; and transitional rules for Ontario and British Columbia in respect of interment rights.

Details relating to the vast majority of the proposed changes applicable to financial institutions proposed in the May 19, 2010 document, Financial Institution Rules for the Harmonized Sales Tax, can be found in the attached draft regulations. These changes are being proposed to ensure that the rules continue to function properly in the context of the modernized HST Framework, which provides additional flexibility to provinces in areas such as the rate of the provincial component of the HST. The proposed changes are intended to provide a level playing field for financial institutions in terms of where they locate and where they purchase their business inputs, and result in the appropriate amount of tax being collected for HST provinces.

The attached backgrounder describes a number of proposed technical clarifications and other improvements that follow from comments received during consultations on the document, Financial Institution Rules for the Harmonized Sales Tax. Some of the proposed technical clarifications and other improvements in the attached backgrounder are also included in the draft regulations.

The remaining details on the proposed changes in respect of financial institutions will be included, at an early opportunity, in regulations that will be submitted for approval by the Governor in Council or in proposed amendments to the Excise Tax Act.

The attached backgrounder also describes proposed new HST rules and rates for streamlined accounting methods used by small businesses and eligible public service bodies, as well as proposed transitional rules for Ontario and British Columbia in respect of interment rights.

For simplicity, the attached documents assume that all other pending legislative proposals will have been enacted as proposed before the measures described in this release are themselves enacted.

Comments on the proposals in respect of financial institutions should be submitted by interested parties by July 31, 2010 to ConsultationsFI-IF@fin.gc.ca or to:

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 30 juin 2010
2010-062

Archivé - Modifications proposées à certaines règles d’application de la taxe de vente harmonisée visant les institutions financières, les méthodes de comptabilité abrégée et les droits d’inhumation

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministère des Finances a publié aujourd’hui des modifications proposées aux mesures de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) portant sur certaines institutions financières, les règles et taux relatifs aux méthodes de comptabilité abrégée ainsi que les règles transitoires pour l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique concernant les droits d’inhumation.

Les dispositions visant la presque totalité des modifications proposées s’appliquant aux institutions financières qui ont été proposées dans le document du 19 mai 2010, intitulé Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) – Règles relatives aux institutions financières, se trouvent dans l’avant-projet de règlement ci-joint. Ces modifications sont mises de l’avant dans le but de garantir le bon fonctionnement des règles dans le contexte du cadre modernisé de la TVH, lequel procure aux provinces une plus grande marge de manœuvre dans certains domaines, notamment en ce qui touche le taux de la composante provinciale de la TVH. Elles visent à uniformiser les règles du jeu pour les institutions financières quant à l’endroit où elles s’établissent et celui où elles acquièrent leurs intrants d’entreprise et se traduiront par la perception du montant approprié de taxe pour les provinces qui appliquent la TVH.

Le document d’information annexé décrit un certain nombre de précisions techniques et d’autres améliorations proposées qui découlent des commentaires formulés lors des consultations sur le document susmentionné. Quelques-unes des précisions techniques et autres améliorations proposées dans le document annexé sont également comprises dans l’avant-projet de règlement.

Les autres dispositions découlant des modifications proposées concernant les institutions financières seront intégrées dans les plus brefs délais au règlement qui sera soumis à l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil ou à des projets de modification de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise.

Le document d’information annexé décrit également les nouveaux taux et règles proposés au titre de la TVH pour les méthodes de comptabilité abrégée dont se servent les petites entreprises et les organismes de services publics admissibles ainsi que les règles transitoires proposées pour l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique concernant les droits d’inhumation.

Par souci de simplicité, on présume, dans les documents annexés, que toutes les autres propositions législatives en attente auront été adoptées comme il a été proposé avant que les mesures décrites dans le présent communiqué ne soient adoptées.

Les personnes voulant présenter des commentaires au sujet des propositions relatives aux institutions financières sont priées de le faire d’ici le 31 juillet 2010, par courriel à l’adresse ConsultationsFI-IF@fin.gc.ca, ou par courrier à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp