Ottawa, April 30, 2010

Archived - Minister of Finance Releases Draft Proposals on Tax-Free Savings Accounts

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released for consultation a package of draft Income Tax Act amendments relating to Tax-Free Savings Accounts. These proposed amendments, when enacted, will implement the measures announced in the October 16, 2009 news release entitled Government of Canada Proposes Technical Changes Concerning Tax-Free Savings Accounts.

“Our government is committed to enhancing the fairness of Canada’s tax rules,” said Minister Flaherty. “Tax-Free Savings Accounts are an important vehicle for helping Canadians save. We want to ensure that the rules work appropriately for everyone.”

The accompanying explanatory notes provide additional details regarding the proposed legislative amendments.

Interested stakeholders have until May 31, 2010, to submit comments on the proposed amendments. Comments may be submitted to the Tax Legislation Division at the Department of Finance at Once received by the Department of Finance, all submissions will be subject to the Access to Information Act and may be disclosed in accordance with its provisions.

The Government of Canada will proceed with legislation at an early opportunity to implement the proposed amendments, taking into account any comments received.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at

Ottawa, le 30 avril 2010
2010-038

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances publie un projet de modification touchant le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd’hui, à des fins de consultation, un projet de modification des dispositions de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu concernant le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt. Une fois adoptées, ces modifications mettront en œuvre les mesures annoncées le 16 octobre 2009 dans le communiqué intitulé Le gouvernement du Canada propose des modifications techniques touchant le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt.

« Notre gouvernement est résolu à accroître l’équité du régime fiscal canadien, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt est un mécanisme important qui aide les Canadiens à épargner et nous voulons nous assurer que les règles s’appliquent équitablement à tous. »

Les notes explicatives ci-jointes contiennent plus de précisions sur les propositions législatives.

Les intéressés sont invités à faire part de leurs commentaires d’ici le 31 mai 2010 en envoyant un courriel à la Division de la législation de l’impôt du ministère des Finances à l’adresse tfsarules-reglesceli@fin.gc.ca.  Les présentations reçues par le Ministère seront assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et elles pourront être communiquées conformément à cette loi.

Un projet de loi mettant les propositions en œuvre, compte tenu des commentaires reçus, sera déposé dès que l’occasion se présentera.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp