Ottawa, March 31, 2010
2010-027

Archived - Canada Helps Haiti Eliminate All Debt Owed to World Bank

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today hailed the cancellation of nearly US$40 million in debt owed by Haiti to the World Bank, made possible by financial commitments by Canada and other donor nations.

“At our recent meeting in Iqaluit, G7 Finance Ministers pledged to work with the World Bank and other international financial institutions to forgive lingering debts that would divert valuable resources from Haiti’s long-term development needs,” said Minister Flaherty. “Canada is pleased to provide the largest financial commitment to today’s effort, and will now work with remaining multilateral organizations to direct past financial obligations towards a much more meaningful purpose—the future of Haiti’s citizens.”

As part of today’s announcement by the World Bank, Canada will provide close to US$8 million to cover the cost of Haiti’s debt to the Bank’s International Development Association, using Canadian resources currently held in the World Bank’s Debt Relief Trust Fund.

The debt relief is part of the $400 million which Canada is providing for humanitarian and reconstruction programs in Haiti that was announced today by the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, at the International Donors’ Conference at the United Nations in New York. Canada is proud to work with its partners to support the Haiti Action Plan and the priorities of the Haitian Government.

In keeping with the G7 call for Haitian assistance to be provided in grant form, the World Bank will also use the financial resources being made available today to provide Haiti with an additional grant of US$38.8 million to further boost reconstruction efforts. The World Bank had previously committed a US$100 million grant towards Haiti’s post-earthquake renewal.

The World Bank announcement builds on the significant progress towards cancelling Haiti’s US$479 million debt to the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB). On March 22 in Cancun, Mexico, Canada worked with other countries to help forge a consensus among Governors allowing for an agreement in principle that will relieve Haiti’s debt to the Bank and provide over US$2 billion in grants to help in its rebuilding efforts.

The Government of Canada cancelled all debt owed by Haiti to Canada through the Canadian Debt Initiative last year.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 31 mars 2010
2010-027

Archivé - Le Canada aide Haïti à éliminer la totalité de sa dette auprès de la Banque mondiale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, s’est réjoui aujourd’hui de l’annulation de la dette d’Haïti auprès de la Banque mondiale, qui s’élève à près de 40 millions de dollars américains, grâce à des engagements financiers du Canada et d’autres pays donateurs.

« Lors de leur récente réunion à Iqaluit, les ministres des Finances du G7 se sont engagés à collaborer avec la Banque mondiale et d’autres institutions financières internationales afin de libérer Haïti de créances persistantes qui empêcheraient l’affectation de ressources précieuses au développement à long terme du pays, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Le Canada est heureux d’être le plus important donateur parmi les pays participant à l’initiative d’aujourd’hui. Il collaborera maintenant avec les autres organismes multilatéraux en vue de canaliser les fonds associés aux obligations financières passées d’Haïti vers un objectif beaucoup plus utile, soit assurer l’avenir des Haïtiennes et des Haïtiens. »

Dans le cadre de l’initiative annoncée par la Banque mondiale, le Canada fournira près de 8 millions de dollars américains pour défrayer le coût de la dette d’Haïti envers l’Association internationale de développement de la Banque. Cette somme proviendra à même les ressources canadiennes détenues actuellement dans le fonds fiduciaire de la Banque mondiale pour l’allégement de la dette.

Les fonds destinés à l’allégement de la dette font partie de la contribution canadienne de 400 millions de dollars aux programmes d’aide humanitaire et de reconstruction en Haïti, annoncée aujourd’hui par l’honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, à la Conférence internationale des donateurs pour un nouvel avenir pour Haïti tenue à New York. Le Canada est heureux de collaborer avec ses partenaires pour soutenir le plan d’action pour Haïti et les priorités du gouvernement haïtien.

De plus, conformément à l’appel lancé par le G7 pour que l’aide à Haïti prenne la forme de subventions, la Banque mondiale utilisera une partie des nouvelles ressources mises à disposition pour verser 38,8 millions de dollars américains additionnels à ce pays afin d’accentuer les efforts de reconstruction. La Banque avait précédemment consenti une subvention de 100 millions de dollars américains pour aider Haïti à se relever du tremblement de terre survenu récemment.

L’annonce de la Banque mondiale s’ajoute aux progrès importants accomplis en vue d’annuler la dette d’Haïti envers la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID), qui s’établit à 479 millions de dollars américains. Lors de la réunion des gouverneurs de la BID tenue le 22 mars dernier à Cancun, au Mexique, le Canada a œuvré avec d’autres pays pour établir une décision par consensus qui prévoit une entente de principe sur l’allégement de cette dette ainsi que l’octroi de plus de 2 milliards de dollars américains en subventions destinées aux efforts de reconstruction.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annulé l’an dernier la totalité de la dette bilatérale que lui devait Haïti, dans le cadre de l’Initiative canadienne d’allégement de la dette.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp