Ottawa, February 25, 2010
2010-014

Archived - Government of Canada Announces Proposed Changes to Place of Supply Rules for the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents


The Department of Finance today announced proposed changes to the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) place of supply rules in the regulations made pursuant to the Excise Tax Act. These rules specify whether, and at what rate, suppliers must charge the provincial component of the HST on their supplies of taxable property and services in Canada. There are also changes proposed to the related rules that, in certain circumstances, require self-assessment or provide for rebates of the provincial component of the HST on property or services where the property or services are brought into a province or are acquired in a province for consumption, use or supply outside that province. 

Many of the current HST place of supply rules for property and services rely on the location of the supplier to determine whether a sale is subject to the provincial component of the HST. It is proposed that the HST place of supply rules for intangible personal property and services be changed so that there is less reliance on the supplier’s location and greater reliance on where the consumer of the intangible personal property or service is located. These changes will help to accommodate variable rates of the provincial component of the HST under the Provincial Choice Tax Framework Act and will modernize the rules to address changing business models and technological advances.

The accompanying document provides further details on the proposed changes to the HST place of supply, self-assessment and rebate rules in the regulations made pursuant to the Excise Tax Act. References in this document to an “announcement date” should be read as referring to today’s date.

Comments on these proposals should be submitted by interested parties by March 31, 2010, as regulations implementing the proposed changes will be submitted to the Governor in Council for approval at the earliest opportunity.

Comments should be sent to POSConsultations-ConsultationsLDF@fin.gc.ca or:

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 25 février 2010
2010-014

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada propose des changements aux règles de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) sur le lieu de fourniture

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe


Le ministère des Finances a annoncé aujourd’hui les changements qu’il est proposé d’apporter aux règles de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) sur le lieu de fourniture, prévues dans le règlement pris en application de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise. Ces règles permettent aux fournisseurs d’établir s’il y a lieu d’exiger la composante provinciale de la TVH sur leurs fournitures de biens et services taxables effectuées au Canada et, dans l’affirmative, de déterminer le taux auquel cette composante doit être calculée. Des changements sont également proposés aux règles connexes qui prévoient l’établissement par autocotisation de la composante provinciale de la TVH, ou son remboursement, dans certaines circonstances où les biens ou les services sont transférés dans une province ou sont acquis dans une province en vue d’être consommés, utilisés ou fournis à l’extérieur de cette province.

À l’heure actuelle, la question de savoir si la vente d’un bien ou d’un service est assujettie à la composante provinciale de la TVH repose, dans bon nombre de cas, sur le lieu où se trouve le fournisseur. Il est proposé que les règles sur le lieu de fourniture des biens meubles incorporels et des services soient modifiées de sorte qu’elles reposent moins sur le lieu où se trouve le fournisseur et davantage sur celui où se trouve le consommateur. Cette approche est en effet mieux adaptée aux taux variables de la composante provinciale de la TVH, prévus dans la Loi sur le cadre du choix provincial en matière fiscale, et permettra de faire face à l’évolution de la technologie et au changement des modèles d’entreprise.

Le document ci-joint contient plus de précisions sur les changements proposés aux règles sur le lieu de fourniture, l’autocotisation et les remboursements prévues dans le règlement pris en application de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise. Il est à noter que la mention dans ce document de la date de publication vaut mention de la date d’aujourd’hui.

Les intéressés sont invités à faire part de leurs commentaires sur les propositions d’ici le 31 mars 2010 puisque des dispositions réglementaires les mettant en œuvre seront soumises à l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil dès que l’occasion se présentera.

Veuillez envoyer les commentaires par courriel à POSConsultations-ConsultationsLDF@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

_______________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à  www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.