Toronto, January 21, 2010

Archived - Minister of Finance Thanks Economic Advisory Council for Its Support in Developing and Implementing Canada's Economic Action Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today thanked the members of his Economic Advisory Council on behalf of all Canadians for volunteering their time and expertise in support of the development and implementation of Canada's Economic Action Plan.

"It has been my privilege to engage some of the best and brightest of Canada's economic and business innovators in crafting the Government's response to the global financial crisis and recession, and I would like to thank them on behalf of all Canadians for the success of their efforts," said Minister Flaherty. "The relative strength of Canada's economy in the face of these unprecedented global shocks reflects the high quality of their advice, and underscores their commitment to community and country at a time when it was needed most."

The Council was established on December 18, 2008 to provide economic advice to the Government of Canada in the wake of the global financial crisis and recession. Council members agreed to a salary of $1, with related expenses being reimbursed by the Government of Canada.

The Council members were:

  • Carole Taylor (chair)
  • Geoff Beattie
  • Paul Desmarais, Jr.
  • George Gosbee
  • Isabelle Hudon
  • James D. Irving
  • Mike Lazaridis
  • Jack Mintz
  • James A. Pattison
  • Ajit Someshwar
  • Annette Verschuren

As the Government moves into the implementation of the second year of the Economic Action Plan, Minister Flaherty will be naming new members to the Council to solicit ongoing advice about solidifying the recovery, returning to balanced budgets once the economy has recovered, and building the foundation for future economic growth. An announcement of the makeup of the new Council is expected soon.

For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at