Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, October 16, 2009
2009-099

Archived - Government of Canada Proposes Technical Changes Concerning Tax-Free Savings Accounts

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:

Backgrounder


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act to strengthen the rules applicable to Tax-Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs).

The TFSA was introduced in Budget 2008. Since January 1, 2009, Canadian residents who are 18 years of age or older are eligible to contribute up to $5,000 annually to a TFSA. The TFSA is a flexible, registered, general purpose account that allows Canadians to maximize their savings by earning tax-free investment income. Contributions to a TFSA are not tax-deductible, but investment income earned in a TFSA, as well as TFSA withdrawals, are tax-free.

The proposed amendments respond to recent concerns that have arisen regarding the use of TFSAs in tax-planning schemes.

The proposed amendments would:

"These proposals will ensure that the TFSA remains viable and strong for Canadians today and in the future and the use of inappropriate transactions to draw excessive benefits are avoided," said Minister Flaherty.

As with the existing TFSA legislation, the Minister of National Revenue will maintain, in appropriate circumstances, the discretion to waive or cancel all or part of any tax that would otherwise be payable because of the application of today's proposals.

Given the clear intent of the TFSA concept, Minister Flaherty has asked the Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Minister of National Revenue, to ensure that the Canada Revenue Agency closely examines any unusual TFSA transactions that have occurred to date, and to apply the existing TFSA rules to challenge aggressive tax planning where appropriate.

The proposed amendments are to apply to transactions that occur after today. The Government will introduce legislation at an early opportunity.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Backgrounder

The Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) was introduced in Budget 2008. Since January 1, 2009, Canadian residents who are 18 years of age or older are eligible to contribute up to $5,000 annually to a TFSA. The TFSA is a flexible, registered, general purpose account that allows Canadians to maximize their savings by earning tax-free investment income. Contributions to a TFSA are not tax-deductible, but investment income earned in a TFSA, as well as TFSA withdrawals, are tax-free. Any amounts withdrawn from an individual's TFSA in a year will be added to the individual's contribution room for the following year.

The proposals announced today contemplate a number of amendments to the tax framework applicable to TFSAs. These amendments seek to address concerns regarding the use of TFSAs in tax-planning schemes.

Asset Transfer Transactions

"Asset transfer transactions" (sometimes known as "swap transactions"), in this context, refer to transfers of property (other than cash) for cash or other property between accounts (for example, a Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) and another registered account) that are generally not treated as a withdrawal and re-contribution, but instead as a straightforward purchase and sale. Subject to the application of existing anti-avoidance rules in the Income Tax Act, these transfers, when performed on a frequent basis with a view to exploiting small changes in asset value, could potentially be used to shift value from, for example, an RRSP to a TFSA without paying tax, in the absence of any real intention to dispose of the asset.

The proposed amendments would effectively prohibit asset transfer transactions between registered or non-registered accounts and TFSAs. The prohibition would apply to transfers effected between accounts of the same taxpayer or that of the taxpayer and an individual with whom the taxpayer does not deal at arm's length.

TFSA amounts that may reasonably be attributed to asset transfer transactions will be subject to the advantage rules in Part XI.01 of the Income Tax Act. The advantage rules are anti-avoidance rules that are applicable to transactions or events that would not have occurred in an open market in which parties deal with each other at arm's length and act prudently, knowledgeably and willingly. Where these rules apply, TFSA amounts reasonably attributable to asset transfer transactions will be taxable at 100%.

In circumstances where an asset transfer transaction were to occur inadvertently, after today, between a taxpayer's TFSA (or the TFSA of an individual with whom the taxpayer does not deal at arm's length) and another account, and the taxpayer promptly rectifies the situation by restoring each account to its position before the asset transfer transaction occurred, the Minister of National Revenue will have discretion to waive or cancel all or part of the tax payable, and the authority to adjust the taxpayer's TFSA contribution room accordingly. In such a case, the proposed amendment would provide for any investment income attributable to the asset transfer transaction to be taxed as regular income.

Deliberate Overcontributions

The TFSA rules allow a holder to contribute, for 2009, a maximum of $5,000. Contributions and associated earnings may accrue tax-free in the TFSA and may be withdrawn at any time without any adverse tax consequences. Contributions in excess of the contribution limit are subject to a tax of 1% per month on the highest amount of excess contributions for the month. This tax is generally sufficient to neutralize the tax benefit of overcontributions. The Government of Canada has become aware that in certain situations, and subject to the existing anti-avoidance rules in the Income Tax Act, some TFSA holders are attempting to generate a rate of return on deliberate overcontributions over a short period of time sufficient to outweigh the cost of the 1% tax. On its introduction, it was not anticipated that the TFSA would be subject to this type of deliberate overcontribution.

Under the proposed amendments, any income reasonably attributable to deliberate overcontributions will be made subject to the existing advantage rules (as described above) and taxed accordingly. Pursuant to the advantage rules, the tax payable on the income will be 100%.

The Minister of National Revenue will maintain the discretion to waive or cancel all or part of the tax payable and the authority to adjust the taxpayer's TFSA contribution room accordingly in appropriate circumstances.

Prohibited Investments and Non-Qualified Investments

A similar concern exists in relation to investment income related to prohibited investments and non-qualified investments held in TFSAs generally. The qualified investment regime sets out the basic investment framework for TFSAs (which is similar to the rules for RRSPs) and includes, for example, debt obligations issued by public corporations as well as publicly listed securities. The prohibited investment rules in respect of TFSAs are intended to guard against, for example, self-dealing opportunities for the holder. Prohibited investments include, for example, shares of the capital stock of a corporation in which the holder has a significant (10% or greater) interest and investments in entities with which the holder does not deal at arm's length. Non-qualified investments include, for example, land and general partnership units.

Under the current rules, where a TFSA holds a non-qualified investment or a prohibited investment, the holder of the TFSA is subject to a tax equivalent to 50% of the fair market value of the property. This tax is refundable to the holder if the investment is promptly disposed of from the account (by the end of the year following the year in which the tax arose, or such later time as the Minister of National Revenue considers reasonable), except in circumstances where the holder knew or ought to have known that the investment was non-qualified or prohibited. All or part of the tax may also be waived or cancelled at the discretion of the Minister of National Revenue where that Minister considers it just and equitable to do so having regard to the circumstances. Prohibited investments also trigger an additional income tax for the TFSA holder (equivalent to 150% of Part I tax in order to provide a proxy for the combined federal-provincial income tax rate) applicable to investment income earned on the prohibited investments. With respect to non-qualified investments, the trust governed by the TFSA is liable for income tax at regular federal/provincial rates on any investment income earned on non-qualified investments held inside the TFSA. The Income Tax Act does not provide for a similar Ministerial discretion to waive or cancel these additional taxes.

While the current TFSA regime applicable to prohibited investments and non-qualified investments provides for serious tax consequences for holding such investments, the investment income associated with the investments may remain tax-sheltered in the TFSA, resulting in an unintended permanent increase in TFSA savings and contribution room.

Under the proposed amendments, the existing prohibited investment tax framework will be modified so that any income reasonably attributable to prohibited investments will be considered an "advantage" and taxed accordingly, i.e. at 100%. The existing taxes on prohibited investment income will be repealed.

Further, any income reasonably attributable to non-qualified investments will also be taxable at regular federal/provincial income tax rates. That is, income earned on income that was earned on non-qualified investments will also be taxable. Under the existing rules, only the investment income on non-qualified investments is taxable as regular income and there is no obligation to remove these amounts. The proposed amendments ensure that the TFSA does not allow for the tax-sheltering of this ancillary income derived from non-qualified investments.

Withdrawals

The proposed amendments will also include rules to ensure that the withdrawal of amounts in respect of deliberate overcontributions, prohibited investments, non-qualified investments, asset transfer transactions and income related to those amounts do not constitute distributions for TFSA purposes and thus do not create additional TFSA contribution room.

Effective Date

It is proposed that these measures apply to transactions undertaken after today's date. Withdrawals of amounts related to transactions occurring on or before today's date will be governed by the existing rules.

Ottawa, le 16 octobre 2009
2009-099

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada propose des modifications techniques touchant le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :

Document d'information


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a proposé aujourd'hui des modifications à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu en vue de resserrer les règles applicables au compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI).

Le CELI a été instauré dans le budget de 2008. Depuis le 1er janvier 2009, les résidents canadiens âgés de 18 ans et plus peuvent verser jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année dans un CELI. Le CELI est un compte enregistré souple et d'usage général qui permet aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de maximiser leur épargne en gagnant un revenu de placement qui est libre d'impôt. Les cotisations au CELI ne sont pas déductibles, mais le revenu de placement gagné et les retraits ne sont pas imposables.

Les modifications proposées donnent suite à des préoccupations exprimées récemment quant à l'utilisation du CELI dans le cadre de stratagèmes de planification fiscale.

Ces modifications auraient pour effet :

  • d'assujettir aux règles anti-évitement de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu tout revenu attribuable aux cotisations excédentaires versées de propos délibéré ou aux placements interdits;
  • d'assujettir aux taux normaux de l'impôt sur le revenu tout revenu attribuable aux placements non admissibles;
  • de veiller à ce que les retraits de cotisations excédentaires versées de propos délibéré, de placements interdits, de placements non admissibles, de sommes attribuables à des opérations d'échange ou de revenus de placement connexes ne donnent pas lieu à un accroissement des droits de cotisation à un CELI;
  • d'interdire les opérations de transfert d'actifs entre un CELI et d'autres comptes.

« Ces propositions feront en sorte que le CELI demeure, aujourd'hui et dans l'avenir, un outil viable et solide au service des Canadiens, et elles empêcheront le recours à des opérations abusives afin d'obtenir des avantages indus », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty.

Comme le prévoient les dispositions législatives actuelles régissant le CELI, le ministre du Revenu national pourra, lorsque les circonstances le justifieront, renoncer à tout ou partie de l'impôt qui serait payable par ailleurs en application des modifications proposées aujourd'hui, ou l'annuler en tout ou en partie.

Étant donné l'intention clairement définie du concept de CELI, le ministre Flaherty a demandé à l'honorable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, ministre du Revenu national, de veiller à ce que l'Agence du revenu du Canada examine soigneusement toutes les opérations inhabituelles effectuées jusqu'ici sur des CELI et d'appliquer au besoin les règles actuelles pour contrer les tentatives de planification fiscale abusive.

Les modifications proposées s'appliqueront aux opérations effectuées à compter de la date de demain. Le gouvernement déposera bientôt les mesures législatives nécessaires.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à : www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Document d'information

Le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI) a été instauré dans le budget de 2008. Depuis le 1er janvier 2009, les résidents canadiens âgés de 18 ans et plus peuvent verser jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année dans un CELI. Le CELI est un compte enregistré souple et d'usage général qui permet aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de maximiser leur épargne en gagnant un revenu de placement libre d'impôt. Les cotisations à un CELI ne sont pas déductibles, mais le revenu de placement gagné et les retraits ne sont pas imposables. Les sommes retirées du CELI d'une personne dans une année s'ajoutent aux droits de cotisation de cette personne l'année suivante.

Les propositions annoncées aujourd'hui incluent différentes modifications du cadre fiscal applicable au CELI. Elles donnent suite à des préoccupations exprimées récemment quant à l'utilisation du CELI dans le cadre de stratagèmes de planification fiscale.

Opérations de transfert d'actifs

Dans le contexte du CELI, « opération de transfert d'actifs » (ou, parfois, « opération d'échange ») s'entend d'un transfert de biens autres que des espèces d'un compte à un autre (par exemple, d'un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite [REER] à un autre compte enregistré), en contrepartie d'espèces ou d'autres biens, qui n'est généralement pas traité comme un retrait donnant lieu à une nouvelle cotisation mais plutôt comme une simple opération d'achat et de vente. Compte tenu de l'application des règles anti-évitement que contient actuellement la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, ces opérations, si elles sont effectuées fréquemment en vue de tirer profit de légères variations de la valeur des actifs, pourraient servir à effectuer un transfert de valeur, par exemple d'un REER à un CELI, sans avoir à payer d'impôt et en l'absence de toute intention réelle de disposer des actifs.

Les modifications proposées interdiraient les opérations de transfert d'actifs entre des comptes enregistrés et non enregistrés et un CELI. L'interdiction viserait les opérations entre les comptes d'un même contribuable ou entre ceux d'un contribuable et d'une personne avec laquelle il a un lien de dépendance.

Les montants d'un CELI qui peuvent raisonnablement être attribués à des opérations de transfert d'actifs seront assujettis aux règles sur les avantages prévues à la partie XI.01 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Il s'agit de règles anti-évitement visant des opérations ou des événements qui ne se seraient pas produits dans un marché libre où des parties sans lien de dépendance traitent librement, prudemment ou en toute connaissance de cause. Par suite de l'application de ces règles, les montants qu'il est raisonnable de considérer comme étant attribuables à des opérations de transfert d'actifs seront imposables au taux de 100 %.

À compter de demain, si une opération de transfert d'actifs survient par inadvertance entre le CELI d'un contribuable (ou d'une personne avec laquelle il a un lien de dépendance) et un autre compte et si le contribuable rectifie la situation sans tarder afin de remettre les comptes dans l'état où ils étaient avant l'opération, le ministre du Revenu national aura le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer à tout ou partie de l'impôt payable, ou de l'annuler en tout ou en partie, et de rajuster en conséquence les droits de cotisation du contribuable. En pareil cas, tout revenu de placement attribuable à l'opération de transfert d'actifs sera traité comme un revenu imposable normal.

Cotisations excédentaires versées de propos délibéré

Les règles relatives au CELI autorisent le titulaire d'un compte à y verser des cotisations maximales de 5 000 $ en 2009. Les cotisations et les revenus qui s'y rattachent peuvent s'accumuler dans le CELI en franchise d'impôt, et le titulaire peut effectuer des retraits en tout temps sans aucune conséquence fiscale défavorable. Les cotisations au-delà de la limite sont assujetties à un impôt, calculé mensuellement, égal à 1 % du montant le plus élevé de l'excédent pour le mois. Cet impôt suffit généralement à annuler l'avantage fiscal découlant de cotisations excédentaires. Toutefois, le gouvernement du Canada a constaté que, dans certaines situations, compte tenu des règles anti-évitement que contient actuellement la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, des titulaires de CELI qui ont délibérément versé des cotisations excédentaires cherchent à en tirer, à l'intérieur d'une courte période, un taux de rendement qui compense largement l'impôt de 1 %. Au moment de l'instauration du CELI, la possibilité de ce genre de cotisations excédentaires versées de propos délibéré n'avait pas été envisagée.

Selon les modifications proposées, le revenu que l'on pourra raisonnablement attribuer à des cotisations excédentaires faites de propos délibéré sera assujetti aux règles sur les avantages (dont il a été question précédemment) et imposé en conséquence. Aux termes de ces règles, le taux d'imposition de ce revenu sera de 100 %.

Le ministre du Revenu national aura le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer à tout ou partie de l'impôt payable, ou de l'annuler en tout ou en partie, et de rajuster en conséquence les droits de cotisation du contribuable.

Placements interdits et placements non admissibles

Il existe des préoccupations similaires concernant le revenu tiré de placements interdits et de placements non admissibles détenus dans un CELI. Les règles relatives aux placements admissibles établissent les critères de base applicables aux placements dans un CELI (qui sont semblables aux critères régissant les placements dans un REER) : il peut notamment s'agir de titres de créance émis par des sociétés publiques et de titres cotés en bourse. Quant aux règles sur les placements interdits, elles visent à éviter, par exemple, les opérations d'initié de la part des titulaires de CELI. Un placement interdit peut prendre la forme d'actions d'une société dans laquelle le titulaire du compte a une participation notable (10 % ou plus) ou de placements dans des entités ayant un lien de dépendance avec le titulaire, tandis que les fonds de terres et les parts de sociétés de personnes sont des exemples de placements non admissibles.

Suivant les règles actuelles, si un placement non admissible ou un placement interdit est détenu dans un CELI, le titulaire du compte est assujetti à un impôt équivalant à 50 % de la juste valeur marchande des biens. Cet impôt est remboursable au titulaire si celui-ci dispose rapidement des placements (avant la fin de l'année suivant celle au cours de laquelle l'impôt a pris naissance ou à tout moment ultérieur que le ministre du Revenu national estime raisonnable dans les circonstances), sauf s'il est raisonnable de supposer que le titulaire savait ou aurait dû savoir que les biens étaient des placements non admissibles ou des placements interdits. De plus, le ministre a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer à tout ou partie de l'impôt payable, ou de l'annuler en tout ou en partie, lorsqu'il est juste et équitable de le faire compte tenu des circonstances. Pour ses placements interdits, le titulaire du CELI est également assujetti à un impôt additionnel (fixé à 150 % de l'impôt de la partie I, de façon à correspondre approximativement au taux d'imposition fédéral-provincial combiné) qui s'applique au revenu tiré de ces placements. En ce qui concerne les placements non admissibles, la fiducie régie par le CELI doit payer l'impôt fédéral et provincial aux taux normalement applicables sur tout revenu tiré de tels placements qui sont détenus dans le compte. La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu n'accorde pas au ministre le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer à cet impôt additionnel ou de l'annuler.

Dans sa forme actuelle, le régime applicable aux CELI prévoit donc d'importantes conséquences fiscales pour la détention de placements interdits et de placements non admissibles, mais le revenu rattaché à ces placements peut néanmoins être conservé en franchise d'impôt dans un CELI, ce qui a pour effet imprévu de donner lieu à une hausse permanente de l'épargne conservée dans le compte et des droits de cotisation connexes.

Grâce aux modifications proposées du cadre fiscal applicable aux placements interdits, tout revenu qu'il est raisonnable d'attribuer à un placement interdit sera réputé être un « avantage » et sera imposé en conséquence, c'est-à-dire au taux de 100 %. Les impôts qui s'appliquent actuellement au revenu tiré de placements interdits seront abrogés.

De plus, tout revenu qu'il est raisonnable d'attribuer à un placement non admissible deviendra imposable aux taux normaux de l'impôt fédéral et provincial sur le revenu. Autrement dit, le revenu provenant du revenu tiré d'un placement non admissible sera lui aussi imposable. Selon les règles actuelles, seul le revenu directement tiré de placements non admissibles est imposable de la même manière qu'un revenu normal, et il n'est pas exigé que ce revenu soit retiré du compte. Les modifications proposées feront en sorte que le CELI ne puisse servir à soustraire à l'impôt le revenu accessoire découlant de placements non admissibles.

Retraits

Les modifications proposées comportent aussi des règles afin que les sommes retirées relativement aux cotisations excédentaires versées de propos délibéré, aux placements interdits, aux placements non admissibles ou aux opérations de transfert d'actifs, ainsi que le revenu lié à ces sommes, ne constituent pas des distributions effectuées sur le compte et ne donnent pas lieu à une augmentation des droits de cotisation au CELI.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

Il est proposé que les modifications s'appliquent aux opérations effectuées à compter de la date de demain. Les retraits relatifs aux opérations effectuées avant la date de demain seront régis par les règles existantes.