Ottawa, September 23, 2009
2009-088

Archived - Government of Canada Proposes Improvements to the Application of the GST to the Financial Services Sector

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released draft legislation, explanatory notes and a backgrounder for several measures aimed at improving and streamlining the application of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) to the financial services sector.

"Our strong financial system, supported by Canada's Economic Action Plan, has helped to protect our economy and Canadians during the global economic recession," said Minister Flaherty. "The changes proposed today will support the economy by ensuring that the tax system is fair and functions smoothly."

The draft legislation released today improves on draft legislation that was released in January 2007. That draft legislation addressed GST (and, where applicable, the Harmonized Sales Tax) advantages that currently exist in favour of imported financial services over comparable domestic services and streamlined the application of the GST input tax credit rules to financial institutions. Following extensive consultations with the financial services sector, several improvements are now being proposed. These include provisions to:

  • Allow Canadian financial institutions to elect to use a simpler alternative approach to self-assess tax on services provided by their foreign branches to Canadian branches.
  • Allow financial institutions to exclude certain financial derivative transactions from the self-assessment rules that apply to imported services.
  • Allow large banks, insurance companies and securities dealers to use their own proposed methods to allocate input tax credits in certain circumstances.
  • Provide financial institutions and the Canada Revenue Agency with more flexibility in the use of the process for pre-approving an input tax credit allocation method.

The draft legislation released today would also implement measures that were previously announced in January 2007 to:

  • Replace the complex system of legislative and administrative rules that currently apply to different employer-sponsored registered pension plan trust structures with a new, uniform GST rebate system that will apply fairly and equitably to all such structures.
  • Introduce a new GST annual information return for financial institutions to improve GST reporting in the financial services sector.

For financial institutions that file a regular GST return (GST34) annually or that are required to provide a special GST return (GST494) annually, the proposed amendments extend the due date for filing these returns from three months to six months after year-end. The due date for filing these returns will therefore coincide with the due date for filing the financial institution's annual income tax returns.

The accompanying backgrounder, draft legislation and explanatory notes provide further details on these measures. References in these documents to an Announcement Date should be read as references to today's date. For simplicity, these documents assume that all other pending legislative proposals will have been enacted as proposed before the measures in this release are themselves enacted.

Interested parties are invited to provide comments on the draft legislation by October 23, 2009. Please send your comments to:

Sales Tax Division
Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For more information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 23 septembre 2009
2009-088

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada propose d'améliorer l'application de la TPS au secteur des services financiers

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd'hui un avant-projet de loi, des notes explicatives et un document d'information portant sur plusieurs mesures qui ont pour but d'améliorer et de simplifier l'application de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) au secteur des services financiers.

« Appuyé par le Plan d'action économique du Canada, notre solide système financier a aidé à protéger notre économie et les Canadiens pendant la récession économique mondiale, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Les changements proposés aujourd'hui soutiennent notre économie en assurant l'application équitable et harmonieuse du régime fiscal. »

L'avant-projet de loi rendu public aujourd'hui apporte certaines améliorations aux mesures législatives publiées en janvier 2007. Ces mesures portaient notamment sur les avantages que présentent actuellement, sur le plan de la TPS (et de la taxe de vente harmonisée, le cas échéant), les services financiers importés par rapport aux services intérieurs comparables. En outre, elles simplifiaient l'application des règles sur l'attribution des crédits de taxe sur les intrants aux institutions financières. Par suite de vastes consultations avec des représentants du secteur des services financiers, plusieurs améliorations sont proposées aujourd'hui en vue notamment :

  • de permettre aux institutions financières canadiennes de choisir d'employer une méthode plus simple pour établir la taxe applicable aux services que leurs succursales étrangères offrent aux succursales canadiennes;
  • de permettre aux institutions financières d'exclure certaines opérations sur instruments dérivés des règles d'autocotisation qui s'appliquent aux services importés;
  • de permettre aux banques, compagnies d'assurance et courtiers en valeurs mobilières d'envergure d'utiliser leur propre méthode d'attribution des crédits de taxe sur les intrants dans certaines circonstances;
  • d'accorder aux institutions financières et à l'Agence du revenu du Canada une plus grande marge de manœuvre lors du processus d'approbation des méthodes d'attribution des crédits de taxe sur les intrants.

L'avant-projet de loi rendu public aujourd'hui a également pour but de mettre en œuvre les mesures suivantes annoncées en janvier 2007 :

  • Le remplacement du régime complexe de règles législatives et administratives qui s'applique aux diverses structures de fiducies de régimes de pension agréés d'employeur par un nouveau régime unique de remboursement de la TPS qui s'appliquera équitablement et uniformément à l'ensemble de ces structures.
  • La création d'une déclaration de renseignements annuelle de TPS à l'usage des institutions financières afin d'améliorer la déclaration de la TPS dans le secteur des services financiers.

Dans le cas des institutions financières qui produisent annuellement une déclaration ordinaire de TPS (GST34) ou qui sont tenues de présenter annuellement une déclaration spéciale de TPS (GST494), il est proposé de prolonger le délai pour la production de ces déclarations afin de le faire passer de trois à six mois suivant la fin de l'exercice. Ainsi, la date limite pour la production de ces déclarations coïncidera avec celle qui s'applique aux déclarations d'impôt sur le revenu annuelles de l'institution financière.

Le document d'information, l'avant-projet de loi et les notes explicatives qui accompagnent le présent communiqué contiennent des renseignements plus détaillés au sujet de ces mesures. La mention, dans ces documents, de la date de publication s'entend de la date d'aujourd'hui. Par souci de simplicité, ces documents supposent que toutes les autres propositions législatives en instance auront été édictées telles quelles au moment de la mise en œuvre des mesures dont il est question ici.

Les intéressés sont priés d'envoyer leurs commentaires sur l'avant-projet de loi d'ici le 23 octobre 2009 à l'adresse suivante :

Division de la taxe de vente
Direction de la politique de l'impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour en savoir davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, veuillez visiter le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.