Ottawa, June 22, 2009
2009-064

Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Launch of Canadian Securities Regulator Transition Office

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the launch of the Transition Office, which will lead Canada’s effort to establish the Canadian securities regulator. The Minister also announced that Mr. Doug Hyndman will be the Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Transition Office and Mr. Bryan Davies will be the Vice-Chair.

“As part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan, we are acting to strengthen and grow Canada’s capital markets in the long term through consistent regulation,” said Minister Flaherty. “The appointment of such experienced individuals will ensure that the Transition Office has the expertise in securities regulation and financial stability that is required to launch this important project.”

Mr. Hyndman is being appointed on a full-time basis and will head the Transition Office. The Transition Office will lead all aspects of the transition, including the development of the federal Securities Act, collaborating with provinces and territories, and developing and implementing a transition plan with respect to organizational and administrative matters. Mr. Hyndman will also be the Chair of the Advisory Committee of Participating Provinces and Territories, which will be a key interface for participating provinces and territories to shape the Canadian securities regulator. The Transition Office will begin operations July 13, 2009. The mandate of the Transition Office is attached.

“I am eager to begin work on setting the course for a Canadian securities regulator. My aim is to create the best securities regulator in the world, following best global practices for independence, governance, and accountability. This includes ensuring that Canada has strong and cost-effective investor protection delivered through regional offices that are connected to regional economies and integrated in a national structure,” said Mr. Hyndman.

Mr. Davies’ key areas of responsibility will include stakeholder consultations, integration of the Canadian securities regulator into the legislation governing Canada’s financial stability framework, and acting as Vice-Chair of the Advisory Committee. Mr. Davies will also continue as Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, a part-time position.

“Having the Canadian securities regulator alongside the other financial regulators, at one table, will improve policy coordination and the responsiveness of Canada’s financial regulatory framework to global challenges,” noted Mr. Davies. “We will be able to better identify risks on the horizon and work together to address them. Ensuring that the new Canadian securities regulator is properly incorporated into Canada’s financial stability framework is a key priority for me.”

Mr. Hyndman of Vancouver, British Columbia, has been Chair of the British Columbia Securities Commission since 1987. He is also Chair of the Accounting Standards Oversight Council. Mr. Davies of Toronto, Ontario, was appointed Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation in 2006. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Davies was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario from 2002 to 2005.

Canada’s Economic Action Plan announced the Government’s plan to move forward quickly with willing provinces and territories to establish a Canadian securities regulator that respects constitutional jurisdiction, regional interests, and expertise.

“With the leadership of the Transition Office, the Canadian securities regulator will enable Canada to respond swiftly and efficiently to developments in the financial sector and speak with one voice internationally. It will also provide clearer national accountability, strengthen enforcement, better serve the needs of investors, and eliminate barriers within our own country,” said Minister Flaherty.

Minister Flaherty said the Transition Office, to be advised by the Advisory Committee, will be expected to deliver within one year a plan for the transition to a Canadian securities regulator. The members of the Advisory Committee will be announced at a future date.

As it moves ahead, the Government intends to work collaboratively with provinces and territories that are willing to participate in the establishment of a Canadian securities regulator.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at
www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Biographical Notes

Doug Hyndman

Mr. Hyndman has been Chair of the British Columbia Securities Commission since 1987. He is also Chair of the Accounting Standards Oversight Council.

From 1995 to 2003, Mr. Hyndman was the Chair of the Canadian Securities Administrators. Since 2005, he has chaired the CSA’s Passport Steering Committee.

After receiving a BA (Economics) from the University of British Columbia and a Master of Business Administration from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario, he joined the B.C. Ministry of Finance in 1975, serving in various positions within the Treasury Board staff division.

Between 1984 and 1987, he was assistant deputy minister with responsibility for advising the government on economic, fiscal, budgetary and tax policy.

Bryan Davies

Mr. Davies was appointed Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation in 2006. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Davies was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario from 2002 to 2005. Before then, he was Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at the Royal Bank Financial Group.

Mr. Davies held a number of senior positions in the Government of Ontario from 1975 and 1992, including Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Minister of Economics, and was Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto from 1992 to 1994.

Mr. Davies is a graduate of Queen’s University (Masters in Public Administration) and of the University of Toronto (B. Comm.).

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Ottawa, le 22 juin 2009
2009-064

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la mise sur pied du Bureau de transition vers un régime canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui le début des activités du bureau de transition qui dirigera les efforts en vue de l’établissement d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières. Il a également annoncé que M. Doug Hyndman sera le président et premier dirigeant du Bureau et que M. Bryan Davies en assurera la vice-présidence.

« Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada, nous prenons des mesures visant à assurer le renforcement et la croissance à long terme des marchés de capitaux canadiens au moyen d’une réglementation uniforme, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Les deux personnes d’expérience nommées au Bureau ont les compétences voulues en matière de stabilité financière et de réglementation des valeurs mobilières pour mettre en œuvre ce projet important. »

M. Hyndman, qui occupera ses fonctions à temps plein, dirigera les activités du Bureau de transition. Le Bureau sera chargé de tous les volets de la transition, notamment d’élaborer une loi fédérale sur les valeurs mobilières, de collaborer avec les provinces et les territoires, ainsi que de préparer et de mettre en œuvre un plan de transition concernant les questions organisationnelles et administratives. M. Hyndman assumera aussi la présidence du comité consultatif des provinces et territoires participants, au sein duquel ces derniers pourront contribuer à façonner l’organisme canadien de réglementation. Le Bureau de transition entreprendra ses activités le 13 juillet 2009; son mandat est joint au présent communiqué.

« J’ai hâte de jeter les bases de la création d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières. Mon objectif consiste à mettre sur pied le meilleur organisme de ce genre au monde, en adoptant les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’indépendance, de gouvernance et de reddition de comptes. Pour ce faire, il faut notamment voir à ce que le Canada dispose d’un système de protection des investisseurs solide et peu coûteux, administré par des bureaux régionaux bien au fait de l’économie de leur territoire, et intégré à une structure nationale », a indiqué M. Hyndman.

M. Davies sera chargé principalement de consulter les parties intéressées, d’intégrer l’organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières dans les lois régissant le cadre canadien de stabilité financière et d’assurer la vice-présidence du comité consultatif. Il demeurera à la présidence du conseil de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada, qui est une charge à temps partiel.

« La présence de l’organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières à la même table que les autres organismes de réglementation du secteur financier permettra de mieux coordonner les politiques et d’améliorer la capacité du cadre national de réglementation financière à répondre aux situations qui surviendront sur la scène mondiale, a signalé M. Davies. Nous serons davantage en mesure de repérer les risques qui pointent à l’horizon et d’y réagir d’un commun effort. L’intégration du futur organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières au cadre canadien de stabilité financière représente l’une de mes grandes priorités. »

M. Hyndman, de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), est président de la commission des valeurs mobilières de la Colombie-Britannique depuis 1987, ainsi que du Conseil de surveillance de la normalisation comptable. M. Davies, de Toronto (Ontario), a été nommé président du conseil d’administration de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada en 2006, après avoir occupé le poste de directeur général et surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario de 2002 à 2005.

Dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il comptait mettre en place rapidement, en collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires intéressés, un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières qui respecte les compétences prévues dans la Constitution ainsi que l’expertise et les intérêts régionaux.

« L’établissement de l’organisme canadien de réglementation, sous l’impulsion du Bureau de transition, permettra au Canada d’intervenir rapidement et efficacement en réaction à l’évolution du secteur financier, a affirmé le ministre Flaherty. Il permettra également au pays de parler d’une seule voix sur la scène internationale, en plus d’offrir une reddition de comptes plus claire à l’échelle nationale, de raffermir l’application de la réglementation, de mieux répondre aux besoins des investisseurs et d’éliminer des barrières à l’intérieur de nos frontières. »

Le ministre Flaherty a indiqué que le Bureau de transition, qui recevra les conseils du comité consultatif, est chargé de présenter d’ici un an un plan de transition pour la mise sur pied d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières. La composition du comité consultatif sera annoncée à une date ultérieure.

Le gouvernement a l’intention de travailler de concert avec les provinces et les territoires intéressés à participer à l’établissement d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Notices biographiques

Doug Hyndman

M. Hyndman est président de la commission des valeurs mobilières de la Colombie-Britannique depuis 1987. Il est également président du Conseil de surveillance de la normalisation comptable.

De 1995 à 2003, il a occupé la présidence des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, et depuis 2005, il est président du comité directeur du régime de passeport de cet organisme.

Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en économie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Richard Ivey School of Business de l’Université de Western Ontario, M. Hyndman est entré en 1975 au service du ministère des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique, où il a occupé divers postes au sein de la division du conseil du Trésor provincial.

De 1984 à 1987, il a conseillé le gouvernement en matière de politiques économiques, financières, budgétaires et fiscales dans ses fonctions de sous-ministre adjoint.

Bryan Davies

M. Davies a été nommé président du conseil d’administration de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada en 2006. De 2002 à 2005, il a été directeur général et surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario. Auparavant, il avait exercé les fonctions de premier vice-président des affaires réglementaires chez RBC Groupe financier.

M. Davies a occupé divers postes de cadre supérieur au gouvernement de l’Ontario de 1975 à 1992, notamment ceux de trésorier adjoint et de sous-ministre à l’économie. Il a également servi à titre de vice-président des affaires commerciales et agent administratif principal à l’Université de Toronto de 1992 à 1994.

M. Davies est diplômé de l’Université Queen’s (maîtrise en administration publique) et de l’Université de Toronto (baccalauréat en commerce).