Ottawa, May 29, 2009

Archived - Minister of Finance Appoints New Director to PPP Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related document:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the appointment of a new director to PPP Canada. Peter R.B. Armstrong, Executive Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Armstrong Group, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of PPP Canada for a two-year term.

Mr. Armstrong joins Jacques Lamarre, the former President and Chief Executive Officer of SNC-Lavalin Group Inc., Anthony Comper, the former Chairman of BMO Financial Group, and Carol Diane Pennycook, law partner at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg, who were recently appointed to the Board.

"I am very pleased to appoint Peter Armstrong to the already strong board of management at PPP Canada," said Minister Flaherty. "With his wealth of expertise in the private sector, Mr. Armstrong will be able to provide strategic guidance to help select the public-private partnerships needed to stimulate economic growth now."  

PPP Canada is a Crown corporation that was recently established to work with the public and private sector to support public-private partnerships (P3s) and to encourage the further development of Canada's P3 market.

Biographical notes are attached.

For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at

Biographical Notes

Peter R.B. Armstrong

Peter R.B. Armstrong is the founder, Executive Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Armstrong Group, owner and operator of Rocky Mountaineer Vacations, Gray Line West and other associated tourism and hospitality businesses. Mr. Armstrong was born in Saint John, New Brunswick, and attended St. George's School, the British Columbia Institute of Technology's Hotel Management Program and the University of British Columbia. He participates on many industry and community boards. He was inducted into the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame in 2005, named British Columbia's 2007 Tourism Leader of the Year, and inducted into the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame in 2008. Mr. Armstrong received his ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors in October 2008.