Ottawa, March 6, 2009
2009-026

Archived - Government Launches Consultations on a Proposed Arrivals Duty-Free Program at Canada's International Airports

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today launched consultations on the possible introduction of arrivals duty-free shops in Canada's international airports.

"During our consultations prior to Budget 2009, we heard suggestions that implementing an arrivals duty-free program could enhance the competitiveness of Canada's international airports and generate new sales and jobs at those airports," said Minister Flaherty. "To help us determine the feasibility and desirability of implementing this proposal, we would like to hear from those who have views on such an initiative and its likely effects."

Currently, individuals leaving Canada can buy goods at duty-free shops. The goods are relieved of taxes and duties otherwise applicable if they are immediately exported from Canada. Under the arrivals duty-free proposal, persons arriving in Canada on international flights would also be able to buy goods in duty-free shops. These goods would be subject to existing limits on the amount of duty- and tax-free goods that travellers can import into Canada. A backgrounder attached to this press release explains in more detail how duty-free shops currently operate and how an arrivals duty-free program might function.

All interested parties wishing to comment on the possibility of allowing arrivals duty-free shops in Canada's international airports should submit their views in writing by May 5, 2009 to:

Arrivals Duty-Free Consultations
Department of Finance Canada
Sales Tax Division, 16th Floor
140 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G5

or

ADFConsultations-ConsultationsBHTZA@fin.gc.ca

Submissions should include, at a minimum, the following information:

  1. The name, address and telephone number of the person making the submission.
  2. The organization, if any, on whose behalf the person is making the submission.
  3. Reasons for the expressed support for, or opposition to, an arrivals duty-free program, including any potential economic benefits and other potential benefits or costs that the introduction of an arrivals duty-free program might have.

Following the consultation period, the Government will review the submissions that it has received, consider the issue carefully and announce its decision at a future date.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Backgrounder

Duty-Free Shops and Proposed Arrivals Duty-Free Program

Duty-Free Shops

Duty-free shops are private sector retail stores that are located at various land border crossings and international airports across Canada. Duty-free shops in Canada are authorized to sell certain goods that are relieved of federal and provincial duties and taxes otherwise applicable to them, if the goods are sold to persons who are immediately leaving Canada. Tobacco products sold in duty-free shops are subject to a special federal duty. Examples of other products sold in duty-free shops include perfume, alcohol and jewellery.

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is responsible for administering the duty-free shop program in Canada.

Arrivals Duty-Free Shops

It has been suggested that the Government should allow duty-free shops to sell tax- and duty-relieved goods in the arrivals areas of international airports in Canada (arrivals duty-free shops). Under the proposal, both resident and non-resident air passengers arriving in Canada on an international flight would be able to buy these tax and duty-relieved goods after they disembark from the airplane but before they reach the customs entry point. The range of goods available in arrivals duty-free shops would be similar to the range of goods currently sold in duty-free shops, and tobacco products sold in arrivals duty-free shops would be subject to the same special federal duty that applies to tobacco products sold in departure duty-free shops.

Goods purchased in arrivals duty-free shops would be treated as imported goods when they are subsequently brought through a customs entry point and would be subject to existing monetary limits on the amount of goods that can be imported without paying applicable duties and taxes. For example, residents returning to Canada after an absence of at least seven days can import $750 worth of goods on a tax- and duty-relieved basis. In addition, goods purchased in an arrivals duty-free shop and brought to a customs entry point would be subject to existing restrictions on the amount of tobacco and alcohol that an individual can import into Canada without paying applicable duties and taxes. More information on these limits and importing goods into Canada can be found on the following CBSA Web page: http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/publications/pub/bsf5056-eng.html.

Ottawa, le 6 mars 2009
2009-026

Archivé - Le gouvernement lance des consultations sur un projet de programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée dans les aéroports internationaux du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a lancé aujourd'hui des consultations sur la mise en place éventuelle d'un programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée dans les aéroports internationaux du Canada.

« Lors des consultations qui ont précédé le dépôt du budget de 2009, des participants ont indiqué que la mise en œuvre d'un programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée pourrait accroître la compétitivité des aéroports internationaux du Canada, en plus d'y accroître les ventes et l'emploi, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Pour mieux évaluer s'il est réalisable et souhaitable de mettre en œuvre cette proposition, nous aimerions consulter les intervenants qui ont une opinion sur une telle initiative et sur ses effets probables. »

À l'heure actuelle, les particuliers qui quittent le Canada peuvent acheter des marchandises dans des boutiques hors taxes en franchise des taxes et des droits applicables par ailleurs, à condition que ces marchandises soient immédiatement exportées du Canada. Aux termes du projet de programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée, les personnes arrivant au Canada à bord d'un vol international pourraient également acheter des marchandises dans des boutiques hors taxes. Ces marchandises seraient visées par les limites en vigueur quant aux quantités de marchandises que les voyageurs peuvent importer au Canada en franchise de droits et de taxes. On trouvera en annexe un document d'information expliquant les modalités actuelles des boutiques hors taxes et comment un programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée pourrait fonctionner.

Tous les intéressés qui veulent faire connaître leur point de vue sur la possibilité d'autoriser des boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée dans les aéroports internationaux du Canada sont invités à transmettre leurs observations par écrit d'ici le 5 mai 2009 à l'une des adresses suivantes :

Consultations sur les boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée
Ministère des Finances
Division de la taxe de vente, 16e étage
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa ON K1A 0G5

ADFConsultations-ConsultationsBHTZA@fin.gc.ca

Les intéressés doivent au moins fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. les nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone de l'auteur des observations;
  2. l'organisme pour le compte duquel l'auteur formule les observations, le cas échéant;
  3. les motifs du soutien ou du rejet d'un programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée, y compris les retombées potentielles – économiques ou autres – et les coûts potentiels de la mise en œuvre d'un tel programme.

À la suite des consultations, le gouvernement examinera les observations qu'il aura reçues, étudiera soigneusement toute la question et annoncera sa décision à une date ultérieure.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.


Document d'information

Boutiques hors taxes et projet de
programme de boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée

Boutiques hors taxes

Les boutiques hors taxes sont des commerces de détail du secteur privé situés à divers points de passage frontalier terrestres de même qu'aux aéroports internationaux partout au Canada. Les boutiques hors taxes au Canada sont autorisées à vendre certaines marchandises en franchise des taxes et des droits fédéraux et provinciaux auxquels ces marchandises normalement assujetties, à condition qu'elles soient vendues à des personnes qui quittent immédiatement le Canada. Les produits du tabac vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes sont visés par un droit fédéral spécial. Parmi les autres produits vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes, citons des parfums, des boissons alcoolisées et des bijoux.

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) est chargée d'administrer le programme de boutiques hors taxes du Canada.

Boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée

On a suggéré au gouvernement de permettre aux boutiques hors taxes de vendre des marchandises en franchise de droits et de taxes dans la zone d'arrivée des aéroports internationaux au Canada (boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée). Aux termes de cette proposition, les passagers aériens, résidents ou non, arrivant au Canada à bord d'un vol international pourraient acheter ces marchandises en franchise de droits et de taxes après leur descente d'avion mais avant d'arriver au point d'entrée des douanes. La gamme de produits offerts en franchise de droits et de taxes à l'arrivée serait semblable à ce qu'offrent présentement les boutiques hors taxes, et les produits du tabac vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée seraient assujettis au même droit fédéral spécial qui s'applique aux produits du tabac vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes au départ.

Les marchandises achetées dans les boutiques hors taxes à l'arrivée seraient considérées comme des importations lorsqu'elles seraient ensuite apportées à un point d'entrée des douanes. Elles seraient visées par les limites en vigueur quant aux quantités de marchandises que les voyageurs peuvent importer au Canada en franchise des droits et des taxes applicables. Par exemple, les résidents qui reviennent au Canada après une absence d'au moins sept jours peuvent importer pour 750 $ de marchandises en franchise de droits et de taxes. En outre, les marchandises achetées dans une boutique hors taxes à l'arrivée et apportées à un point d'entrée des douanes seraient assujetties aux limites en vigueur quant aux quantités de tabac et de boissons alcoolisées qu'un particulier peut importer au Canada sans devoir acquitter les taxes et les droits applicables. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur ces limites et sur l'importation de marchandises au Canada sur le site Web de l'ASFC à l'adresse www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/publications/pub/bsf5056-fra.html.