Ottawa, February 23, 2009
2009-018

Archived - Minister of Finance Launches National Consultations on Private Pensions

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the Government will begin scheduled public consultations across Canada on the legislative and regulatory framework for federally regulated private pension plans.

"Many Canadians are concerned about the long-term viability of their pension plans," said Minister Flaherty. "The Government wants to hear people's views on how we can strengthen the security of pension plan benefits and ensure that the framework is balanced and appropriate."

The Government released a discussion paper seeking views from Canadians on this issue on January 9. It followed up by announcing in Budget 2009: Canada's Economic Action Plan that the national consultations will be chaired by Ted Menzies, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance.

"We announced this consultation process in January and we committed to getting it up and running quickly because this issue is important to many Canadians," said Mr. Menzies.

The national consultations will begin in mid-March according to the following schedule:

March 13—Launch in Ottawa
March 17—Halifax
March 18—Montréal
March 20—Toronto
April 14—Vancouver
April 15—Whitehorse
April 16—Edmonton
April 17—Winnipeg

The federal government regulates private pension plans that are subject to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985. These plans cover areas of employment under federal jurisdiction, including banking, telecommunications and interprovincial transportation. These plans currently represent 7 per cent of all private pension plans in Canada, accounting for approximately 12 per cent of pension assets.

Canadians who wish to attend these consultations or send submissions on the discussion paper are invited to submit an e-mail to this address: pensions@fin.gc.ca.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 23 février 2009
2009-018

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances lance les consultations nationales au sujet des régimes de retraite privés

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement amorçait les consultations publiques prévues dans l'ensemble du Canada au sujet du cadre législatif et réglementaire des régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale.

« De nombreux Canadiens sont préoccupés par la viabilité à long terme de leurs régimes de retraite, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Le gouvernement souhaite entendre les opinions de la population quant aux moyens à prendre pour garantir davantage les prestations de ces régimes et faire en sorte que nous disposions d'un cadre équilibré et adéquat. »

Le gouvernement a publié le 9 janvier dernier un document de travail dans lequel il invitait les Canadiens à lui communiquer leurs points de vue sur cette question. Par la suite, dans le budget de 2009, Le Plan d'action économique du Canada, il a annoncé que les consultations nationales en la matière seraient menées par Ted Menzies, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances.

« Nous sommes déterminés à mettre sur pied ce processus de consultations, annoncé en janvier, sans tarder parce qu'il s'agit d'une question importante pour bon nombre de Canadiens », a déclaré M. Menzies.

Les consultations nationales débuteront à la mi-mars. Elles se dérouleront selon le calendrier suivant :

13 mars : Ottawa (lancement des consultations)
17 mars : Halifax
18 mars : Montréal
20 mars : Toronto
14 avril : Vancouver
15 avril : Whitehorse
16 avril : Edmonton
17 avril : Winnipeg

Le gouvernement fédéral réglemente les régimes de retraite privés qui sont assujettis à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension. Ces régimes s'appliquent à divers secteurs d'emploi qui relèvent du gouvernement fédéral, tels que les banques, les télécommunications et le transport interprovincial. Ces régimes représentent actuellement 7 % de tous les régimes de retraite privés au Canada et environ 12 % des actifs de ces régimes.

Les Canadiens qui désirent assister aux consultations ou présenter des observations au sujet du document de travail sont priés de s'adresser au Ministère par voie électronique, à l'adresse pensions@fin.gc.ca.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp