Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, January 27, 2009
2009-011

Archived - Budget 2009: Canada’s Economic Action Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today tabled a comprehensive budget plan to stimulate economic growth, restore confidence and support Canadians and their families during a synchronized global recession.

"Budget 2009 is Canada’s economic action plan," said Minister Flaherty. "It builds on our position of strength. It provides temporary and effective economic stimulus to help Canadian families and businesses deal with short-term challenges. Our investments will build Canada’s long-term capacity, so that when the global recession eases, we emerge even stronger."

Canada’s Economic Action Plan will provide almost $30 billion in support to the Canadian economy this year. In total, this is equivalent to 1.9 per cent of our total economy.

The plan will stimulate the economy through:

Immediate Action to Build Infrastructure

Expanding and accelerating the recent historic federal investment in infrastructure with almost $12 billion in new infrastructure stimulus funding for roads, bridges, broadband internet access, electronic health records, laboratories and border crossings across the country. This will support economic growth and employment this year and next while also bolstering Canada’s long-run productive capacity.

Action to Reduce Taxes and Freeze EI Rates

Providing $20 billion in personal income tax relief that will benefit Canadians over 2008‑09 and the next five fiscal years as well as continued low Employment Insurance rates.

Action to Stimulate Housing Construction

Providing $7.8 billion to build quality housing, stimulate construction and enhance energy efficiency. Measures include a renovation tax credit providing an estimated 4.6 million Canadian families up to $1,350 each, funding for energy retrofits, investments for social housing to support low-income Canadians, seniors, persons with disabilities and Aboriginal Canadians, and low-cost loans to municipalities.

Action to Improve Access to Financing and Strengthen Canada’s Financial System

Providing up to $200 billion through the Extraordinary Financing Framework to improve access to financing for consumers and allow businesses to obtain the financing they need to invest, grow and create new jobs.

Canada’s Economic Action Plan will protect Canadians hit hardest by the global recession with:

Action to Help Canadians

Providing $8.3 billion for the Canada Skills and Transition Strategy, which includes extra support for Canadians most affected by the economic downturn, including enhancements to Employment Insurance and more funding for skills and training.

Action to Support Businesses and Communities

Protecting jobs and supporting sectoral adjustments during this extraordinary crisis with $7.5 billion in extra support for sectors, regions and communities. This includes targeted support for the auto, forestry and manufacturing sectors, as well as funding for clean energy.

When combined with the ongoing benefits of the tax reductions in the 2007 Economic Statement, the Economic Action Plan in this budget is estimated to boost real GDP by 2.5 per cent and create or maintain about 265,000 jobs by the end of 2010.

"We are not acting alone," said Minister Flaherty. "These actions fulfill Canada’s commitments to its global partners at the G20 leaders' summit to provide timely stimulus to domestic demand, while maintaining long-run fiscal sustainability.

"With this stimulus plan, Canada will emerge from this recession with a more modern and greener infrastructure, a more skilled labour force, lower taxes and a more competitive economy."

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Backgrounder

Canada’s Economic Action Plan

Canada’s Economic Action Plan is a balanced stimulus plan that includes massive investments in infrastructure, tax relief and transfers, and other new initiatives.

Stimulus measures in Budget 2009 will provide almost $30 billion in support to the Canadian economy this year, an amount equivalent to 1.9 per cent of our total economy (real GDP).

Many of these investments are partnerships with provinces, territories and municipalities. Over the next two years, the total stimulus to the Canadian economy, including stimulus from other levels of government, will surpass $50 billion — an amount equal to 3.2 per cent of real GDP.

Table 1
Canada's Economic Action Plan
  2009 2010 Total

  (millions of dollars—cash basis)
Action to Help Canadians and Stimulate Spending 5,880 6,945 12,825
Action to Stimulate Housing Construction 5,365 2,395 7,760
Housing leverage 725 750 1,475
Immediate Action to Build Infrastructure 6,224 5,605 11,829
Infrastructure leverage 4,532 4,365 8,897
Action to Support Businesses and Communities 5,272 2,255 7,527
Sectoral leverage 1,300   1,300
Total federal stimulus 22,742 17,200 39,942
Total stimulus (with leverage) 29,298 22,316 51,613
As a share of GDP (%)      
Total federal stimulus 1.5 1.1 2.5
Total stimulus (with leverage) 1.9 1.4 3.2

Notes: Totals may not add due to rounding. These cost estimates reflect projected cash expenditures over the next two years. The budgetary impact is somewhat smaller because some of these expenditures relate to construction and renovation costs of federal assets (for which only depreciation is recorded on a budgetary basis) and loans to third parties (where there is a budgetary impact only in the event that there is a risk of loss).

Fulfilling our Global Responsibilities

Canada’s Economic Action Plan fulfills Canada's commitments at the recent G-20 Special Leaders Summit to provide timely stimulus to domestic demand, while also maintaining long-run fiscal sustainability. Indeed, it surpasses the International Monetary Fund suggestion that countries in a position to do so should inject fiscal stimulus of 2 per cent of GDP to reduce the effects of a damaging global recession.

Ottawa, le 27 janvier 2009
2009-011

Archivé - Le budget de 2009 : Le Plan d’action économique du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd’hui un plan budgétaire détaillé en vue de stimuler la croissance économique, de rétablir la confiance et de venir en aide aux Canadiens et à leurs familles durant une récession mondiale synchronisée.

« Le budget de 2009 est Le Plan d’action économique du Canada, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Il tire parti de notre position de force. Il assure à l’économie une stimulation temporaire et efficace pour aider les familles et les entreprises canadiennes à faire face à leurs problèmes à court terme. Nos investissements vont accroître la capacité du Canada à long terme; ainsi, lorsque la récession mondiale prendra fin, nous en sortirons encore plus forts. »

Le Plan d’action économique du Canada prévoit près de 30 milliards de dollars pour soutenir l’économie canadienne cette année. En tout, cela équivaut à 1,9 % de l’ensemble de notre économie.

Le Plan va stimuler l’économie grâce à :

Des mesures immédiates pour l’infrastructure

Le budget accélère et augmente le récent investissement sans précédent du gouvernement fédéral dans l’infrastructure en accordant près de 12 milliards de dollars pour financer la construction de routes et de ponts, le développement de l’accès Internet à haute vitesse et des dossiers de santé électronique ainsi que l’aménagement de laboratoires et de postes frontaliers d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Ces mesures stimuleront la croissance économique et l’emploi cette année et l’an prochain, tout en augmentant notre capacité de production à long terme.

Des mesures pour réduire les impôts et geler les cotisations d’assurance-emploi

Les Canadiens bénéficieront d’allégements de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers totalisant 20 milliards de dollars pour 2008-2009 et les cinq exercices suivants, tandis que les taux de cotisation d’assurance-emploi resteront à leur niveau actuel.

Des mesures pour stimuler la construction domiciliaire

Le budget fournit 7,8 milliards de dollars pour bâtir des logements de qualité, stimuler la construction et améliorer l’efficacité énergétique. Les mesures comprennent : un crédit d’impôt pour la rénovation domiciliaire qui permettra à quelque 4,6 millions de familles canadiennes de recevoir jusqu’à 1 350 $ chacune;

le financement de rénovations énergétiques; des investissements dans le logement social pour venir en aide aux Canadiens à faible revenu, aux aînés, aux personnes handicapées et aux Canadiens autochtones; et des prêts à faible coût consentis aux municipalités.

Des mesures pour améliorer l’accès au financement et renforcer le système financier canadien

Le budget fournit jusqu’à 200 milliards de dollars, au moyen du Cadre de financement exceptionnel, afin d’améliorer l’accès au financement pour les consommateurs et de permettre aux entreprises d’obtenir les fonds dont elles ont besoin pour investir, croître et créer des emplois.

Le Plan d’action économique du Canada protégera les Canadiennes et les Canadiens les plus durement touchés par la récession mondiale grâce à :

Des mesures pour venir en aide aux Canadiens

Le budget affecte 8,3 milliards de dollars à la Stratégie canadienne de transition et d’acquisition de compétences, qui inclut une aide additionnelle pour les Canadiens les plus touchés par le ralentissement de l’économie, y compris des améliorations à l’assurance-emploi et des fonds supplémentaires pour la formation et l’acquisition de compétences.

Des mesures pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités

Le budget protège les emplois et soutient l’adaptation sectorielle pendant la crise actuelle en accordant aux secteurs, aux régions et aux collectivités touchés une aide supplémentaire de 7,5 milliards de dollars. Il prévoit un soutien ciblé pour les secteurs de l’automobile et de la fabrication et pour le secteur forestier, ainsi que le financement de projets en matière d’énergie propre.

Une fois pris en compte les avantages continus des réductions d’impôt instaurées dans l’Énoncé économique de 2007, on estime que le Plan d’action économique établi dans le budget fera augmenter le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel du Canada de 2,5 % et permettra de créer ou de protéger environ 265 000 emplois d’ici la fin de 2010.

« Le Canada n’agit pas seul, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Ces mesures remplissent l’engagement que le Canada a pris envers ses partenaires mondiaux, au sommet des dirigeants du Groupe des Vingt, de stimuler rapidement la demande intérieure tout en préservant sa viabilité financière à long terme.

« Grâce à ce plan d’action, le Canada sortira de la récession avec une infrastructure plus moderne et plus verte, une main-d’œuvre plus qualifiée, des impôts plus bas et une économie plus concurrentielle. »

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Document d'information

Le Plan d’action économique du Canada

Le Plan d’action économique du Canadaest un plan de stimulation équilibré qui prévoit des investissements massifs dans l’infrastructure, des allégements fiscaux et des transferts, ainsi que de nouvelles initiatives.

Les mesures de stimulation prévues dans le budget de 2009 injecteront près de 30 milliards de dollars dans l’économie canadienne cette année, soit l’équivalent de 1,9 % de l’ensemble de notre économie (le produit intérieur brut [PIB] réel).

Bon nombre de ces investissements sont effectués en partenariat avec les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités. Au cours des deux prochaines années, les mesures de stimulation de l’économie canadienne, y compris celles des autres administrations,

totaliseront plus de 50 milliards de dollars, ce qui équivaut à 3,2 % du PIB réel.

Tableau 1
Le Plan d'action économique du Canada
  2009 2010 Total

  (M$, comptabilité de caisse)
Mesures pour aider les Canadiens et stimuler les dépenses 5 880 6 945 12 825
Mesures pour stimuler la construction domiciliaire 5 365 2 395 7 760
Effet de levier – logement 725 750 1 475
Mesures immédiates pour l’infrastructure 6 224 5 605 11 829
Effet de levier – infrastructure 4 532 4 365 8 897
Mesures pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités 5 272 2 255 7 527
Effet de levier – adaptation sectorielle 1 300   1 300
Total – Mesures de stimulation fédérales 22 742 17 200 39 942
Total – Mesures de stimulation
(y compris l’effet de levier)
29 298 22 316 51 613
En pourcentage du PIB      
Total – Mesures de stimulation fédérales 1,5 1,1 2,5
Total – Mesures de stimulation
(y compris l’effet de levier)
1,9 1,4 3,2

Nota – Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué. Ces estimations tiennent compte des décaissements projetés au cours des deux prochaines années. L’impact budgétaire est un peu moindre parce que certaines de ces dépenses se rapportent aux coûts de construction et de rénovation des biens fédéraux (dont seul l’amortissement est constaté selon la comptabilité de caisse) et aux prêts à des tiers (qui n’ont un impact budgétaire qu’en cas de risque de perte).

Remplir nos engagements à l’échelle internationale

Le Plan d’action économique du Canada permet au Canada de s’acquitter des engagements qu’il a pris au récent sommet spécial des dirigeants du Groupe des Vingt en vue de stimuler rapidement la demande intérieure tout en préservant sa stabilité financière à long terme. En fait, le Plan va au-delà de la suggestion du Fonds monétaire international invitant les pays en mesure de le faire à mettre en place des mesures de stimulation budgétaire de l’ordre de 2 % de leur PIB afin d’atténuer les effets dommageables d’une récession mondiale.