2008-090

Archived - Government of Canada Announces Additional Support for Canadian Credit Markets

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the Government will purchase up to an additional $50 billion of insured mortgage pools by the end of the fiscal year as part of its ongoing efforts to maintain the availability of longer-term credit in Canada.

This action will increase to $75 billion the maximum value of securities purchased through Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) under this program.

"At a time of considerable uncertainty in global financial markets, this action will provide Canada’s financial institutions with significant and stable access to longer-term funding," said Minister Flaherty.

"This extension of the program to purchase insured mortgages will further support the availability of credit, which will benefit Canadian households, businesses and the economy. In addition, it will earn a modest rate of return for the Government with no additional risk to the taxpayer."

In addition:

  • The Government will reduce the base commercial pricing of the Canadian Lenders Assurance Facility by 25 basis points. It will also waive the 25 basis point across-the-board surcharge for insurance provided under the Facility until further notice. This will make the Facility more competitive with similar programs offered in other countries. The term sheet for the Facility will be posted on the Finance Canada web site (www.fin.gc.ca) shortly.
  • The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) announced yesterday an increase in the allowable limit of innovative and preferred shares in Tier 1 capital. This will provide Canadian financial institutions with more sources of funds to support lending in Canada. This will also ensure that similar decisions in other countries do not place Canadian institutions at a competitive disadvantage. Further technical information is available from OSFI at www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca.
  • As the Bank of Canada noted in its announcement on October 13, the Bank will continue to provide exceptional liquidity to the Canadian financial system as long as conditions warrant.

"The Government of Canada is prepared to take whatever steps are necessary to ensure that Canada’s strong financial system is not put at a competitive disadvantage by developments in other countries. The Government will not allow Canada’s financial system, which has been ranked as the soundest in the world, to be put at risk by global events," said Minister Flaherty.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Backgrounder

Insured Mortgage Purchase Program (IMPP)

  • Under the Insured Mortgage Purchase Program, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) purchases securities comprised of pools of insured residential mortgages from Canadian financial institutions. These are high-quality assets that are backed not only by the overall strength of Canada’s housing market, but also by the Government’s own guarantee of the insured mortgages.
  • The first tranche of the program, for purchases up to $25 billion, was announced on October 10. These purchases will be completed by November 21. Under the initiative announced today, Canadian financial institutions will have access to up to an additional $50 billion of longer-term funding, bringing the total for the IMPP to $75 billion.
  • The extension of the IMPP will be financed through increased issuance of Treasury bills and bonds. The Government will be consulting with market participants about the operational plan in the coming weeks.

Canadian Lenders Assurance Facility (CLAF)

  • This Facility, announced October 23, will make available government insurance of up to three years, on commercial terms, for borrowings by banks and other qualifying deposit-taking institutions. This initiative will help to secure access to longer-term funds so that Canadian financial institutions can continue lending to consumers, homebuyers and businesses in Canada. As the Facility will be offered to lenders on commercial terms, there is no expected fiscal cost.
  • Many countries have recently announced new and comprehensive policy initiatives to restore or protect the stability of their financial systems. The Facility will ensure that financial institutions in this country are not put at a competitive disadvantage when raising funds in wholesale markets.
  • The Facility is a component of Canada’s implementation of the G7 Plan of Action to stabilize financial markets, restore the flow of credit and support global economic growth. It will be available, on a voluntary basis, to all federally-regulated deposit-taking financial institutions and Caisse centrale Desjardins (see announcement of October 27). The program will commence in the coming days. Insurance extended under the Facility will be available until April 30, 2009.
  • The changes to pricing announced today mean that lowest price for insurance under the Facility will be 110 basis points, rather than 160 basis points as announced on October 23. The 25 basis point surcharge for lower-rated and unrated borrowers, and the further surcharge for foreign currency issuance, will remain in effect.

2008-090

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada annonce un soutien additionnel aux marchés canadiens du crédit

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :

La version française sera disponible sous peu.


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement achètera d’ici la fin de l’année financière des blocs additionnels de prêts hypothécaires assurés à concurrence de 50 milliards de dollars, dans le cadre de ses efforts soutenus visant à maintenir la disponibilité du crédit à plus long terme au Canada.

Cette mesure portera à 75 milliards de dollars la valeur maximale des titres acquis par l’entremise de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) en vertu de ce programme.

« Vu la grande incertitude qui prévaut dans les marchés financiers mondiaux, cette mesure permettra aux institutions financières du Canada d’avoir accès à un financement important et stable à plus long terme, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. »

« Cet élargissement du programme d’achat d’hypothèques assurées accroîtra encore plus l’accessibilité du crédit, ce qui profitera aux ménages, aux entreprises et à l’économie du Canada, a ajouté le ministre. De plus, le gouvernement en tirera un rendement modeste, sans risque additionnel pour les contribuables. »

De plus :

  • Le gouvernement amputera de 25 points de base la tarification de la Facilité canadienne d’assurance aux prêteurs (FCAP). Il renoncera également, jusqu’à nouvel avis, à la surprime systématique de 25 points de base au titre de l’assurance fournie par la Facilité. La Facilité sera ainsi plus concurrentielle par rapport aux programmes semblables offerts à l’étranger. Les modalités de la FCAP seront affichées sous peu sur le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada (www.fin.gc.ca).
  • Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a annoncé hier le relèvement de la proportion de titres innovateurs et d’actions privilégiées pouvant être incluse dans le calcul des fonds propres de catégorie 1. Les institutions financières canadiennes disposeront donc d’une gamme plus vaste de sources de financement pour octroyer des prêts au Canada, et elles ne seront pas désavantagées au plan de la concurrence par des décisions semblables prises à l’étranger. Des renseignements techniques à ce sujet figurent sur le site Web du BSIF (www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca).
  • Comme elle l’a souligné dans son communiqué du 13 octobre 2008, la Banque du Canada assurera un apport exceptionnel en liquidités au système financier canadien tant que les conditions le justifieront.

« Le gouvernement du Canada est disposé à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour faire en sorte que le système financier canadien ne soit pas désavantagé sur le plan de la concurrence par des facteurs émanant d’autres pays, a commenté le ministre Flaherty. Le gouvernement du Canada ne permettra pas que le système financier du pays, classé comme le plus solide au monde, soit compromis par des événements d’ampleur internationale. »

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu’un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.

Document d'information

Programme d’achat de prêts hypothécaires assurés (PAPHA)

  • En vertu du Programme d’achat de prêts hypothécaires assurés, la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) achète, des institutions financières canadiennes, des titres constitués de blocs de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels assurés. Il s’agit d’actifs de grande qualité qui sont soutenus tant par la vigueur globale du marché canadien du logement que par le fait que le gouvernement lui-même garantit les prêts hypothécaires assurés.
  • La première tranche de ce programme, couvrant des achats à concurrence de 25 milliards de dollars, a été annoncée le 10 octobre 2008. Ces opérations seront achevées d’ici le 21 novembre. En vertu de l’initiative annoncée aujourd’hui, les institutions financières canadiennes auront accès à des fonds à plus long terme additionnels pouvant atteindre 50 milliards de dollars, ce qui portera la valeur totale du PAPHA à 75 milliards.
  • L’élargissement du PAPHA sera financé par de nouvelles émissions de bons du Trésor et d’obligations. Le gouvernement consultera dans les prochaines semaines les participants des marchés au sujet du plan de fonctionnement du Programme.

Facilité canadienne d’assurance aux prêteurs (FCAP)

  • Annoncée le 23 octobre 2008, la Facilité propose une assurance du gouvernement couvrant les emprunts des banques et d’autres institutions de dépôt admissibles, pour une période maximale de trois ans, selon les conditions du marché. Cette initiative facilitera l’accès à du financement à plus long terme afin que les institutions financières canadiennes puissent continuer de prêter aux consommateurs, aux acheteurs de maisons et aux entreprises du Canada. Compte tenu que la Facilité sera offerte aux prêteurs aux conditions du marché, elle ne devrait entraîner aucun coût budgétaire.
  • De nombreux pays ont récemment annoncé de nouvelles mesures stratégiques détaillées afin de rétablir ou de protéger la stabilité de leurs systèmes financiers. Grâce à la Facilité, les institutions financières du Canada ne seront pas désavantagées au plan de la concurrence lorsqu’elles voudront obtenir des fonds sur les marchés de gros.
  • La Facilité est un volet de la mise en œuvre par le Canada du plan d’action adopté par les pays du Groupe des Sept (G7) pour stabiliser les marchés financiers, rétablir les flux de crédit et appuyer la croissance économique mondiale. Elle sera offerte, de manière facultative, à toutes les institutions de dépôt sous réglementation fédérale, de même qu’à la Caisse centrale Desjardins (voir le communiqué du 27 octobre 2008). La Facilité entrera en vigueur au cours des prochains jours, et l’assurance ainsi offerte portera jusqu’au 30 avril 2009.
  • Par suite des changements de tarification annoncés aujourd’hui, le prix le moins élevé de l’assurance offerte en vertu de la Facilité se situera à 110 points de base, plutôt que les 160 points de base annoncés le 23 octobre. La surprime de 25 points de base applicable aux emprunteurs non cotés ou dont la cote est inférieure, ainsi que la prime additionnelle pour les titres émis en devises demeurent inchangées.