July 13, 2008
2008-053

Archived - Governments of Canada and Nova Scotia Resolve Crown Share Adjustment Payments

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related document:


On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper, the Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of National Defence, and Nova Scotia Premier Rodney MacDonald today announced the resolution of an outstanding obligation respecting the province's Crown Share Adjustment Payments for oil and gas projects in the Nova Scotia offshore.

"Last October, Prime Minister Harper and Premier MacDonald announced a process to finally resolve this dispute and today I am pleased to announce we have a resolution," said Minister MacKay. "Together, our governments sat down, rolled up our sleeves and set out to make good on a 22-year-old obligation to Nova Scotia."

Accepting the recommendation of an independent panel, the Government of Canada will provide Nova Scotia with $234.4 million for past payments up to March 31, 2008. Going forward, the two governments have agreed to work together to take the steps necessary to implement the Chair's recommendation enabling the calculation of Crown Share Adjustment Payments for future years. The panel estimates the value of those payments for future years for the Sable Offshore Energy Project and the Deep Panuke Offshore Project to be approximately $633 million.

"This is an historic day for the people of Nova Scotia," said Premier MacDonald. "Today we are taking a major step toward achieving our goal of sustainable prosperity. I want to thank Prime Minister Harper and Minister MacKay and the many others who worked with me to seize the opportunity to resolve this longstanding issue."

Federal legislation implementing the 1986 Offshore Accord, including provisions for Crown Share Adjustment Payments, has been in place since 1988. Previous governments were unable to come to an agreement on how to put the Crown Share Adjustment Payment provisions into effect.

On October 10, 2007, the Panel was asked by Prime Minister Harper and Premier MacDonald to provide guidance to both governments on the methodology for calculating Crown Share adjustment payments to Nova Scotia. The panel, chaired by the Honourable Lorne O. Clarke, former Chief Justice of the Nova Scotia Supreme Court, presented its recommendations to both governments earlier this month. Other panel members were Dr. Brian Lee Crowley, founding President of the Atlantic Institute for Market Studies, and Dara L. Gordon, Q.C., a partner at McInnes Cooper.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Dan Dugas
Director of Communications to the
Minister of National Defence and of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
613-996-3100

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Wade Keller Communications Director
Nova Scotia Premier's Office
902-483-5198

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

le 13 juillet 2008
2008-053

Archivé - Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse règlent la question des paiements de rajustement à l'égard de la part de la Couronne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Au nom du premier ministre Stephen Harper, l'honorable Peter MacKay, ministre de la Défense nationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui avec Rodney MacDonald, premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le règlement de l'obligation du gouvernement du Canada concernant les paiements de rajustement à l'égard de la part de la Couronne à verser à la Nouvelle-Écossse pour les projets pétroliers et gaziers situés dans la zone extracôtière de cette province.

« En octobre dernier, les premiers ministres Harper et MacDonald ont annoncé l'établissement d'un processus pour enfin dénouer ce différend. Je suis heureux de signaler aujourd'hui que nous en sommes arrivés à un règlement, a déclaré le ministre MacKay. Ensemble, des représentants des deux paliers de gouvernement ont mis l'épaule à la roue afin de résoudre positivement une obligation envers la Nouvelle-Écosse demeurée non résolue depuis 22 ans. »

Comme l'a recommandé un groupe d'experts indépendant, le gouvernement du Canada versera à la Nouvelle-Écosse une somme de 234,4 millions de dollars représentant les paiements de rajustement à l'égard de la part de la Couronne jusqu'en date du 31 mars 2008. Les deux gouvernements ont convenu de collaborer à l'avenir pour prendre les mesures nécessaires à l'application de la recommandation du président du groupe d'experts concernant la méthode de calcul des paiements pour les années futures. Le groupe d'experts évalue à quelque 633 millions de dollars les paiements futurs relativement au Projet énergétique extracôtier de l'île de Sable et au projet gazier Deep Panuke.

« C'est un jour historique pour la population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a commenté le premier ministre MacDonald. Nous faisons aujourd'hui un grand pas vers notre objectif de prospérité durable. Je remercie le premier ministre Harper et le ministre MacKay ainsi que les nombreuses autres personnes qui ont ouvré avec moi pour saisir l'occasion de résoudre ce problème de longue date. »

La législation fédérale de mise en ouvre de l'accord de 1986 sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers, adoptée en 1988, renfermait des dispositions sur les paiements de rajustement à l'égard de la part de la Couronne, mais les gouvernements précédents n'avaient pu s'entendre sur leur application.

Le 10 octobre 2007, les premiers ministres Harper et MacDonald ont demandé au groupe d'experts de conseiller les deux gouvernements sur la méthode de calcul des paiements à verser à la Nouvelle-Écosse au titre du rajustement à l'égard de la part de la Couronne. Le groupe d'experts, présidé par l'honorable Lorne O. Clarke, ancien juge en chef de la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a présenté ses recommandations aux deux gouvernements plus tôt ce mois-ci. Outre le président, les membres du groupe d'experts étaient M. Brian Lee Crowley, président fondateur de l'Atlantic Institute for Market Studies, et Mme Dara L. Gordon, c.r., associée du cabinet d'avocats McInnes Cooper.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Dan Dugas
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre de la
Défense nationale et ministre de
l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique
613-996-3100

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Wade Keller
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du premier ministre de la
Nouvelle-Écosse
902-483-5198

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080