Ottawa, Ottawa, May 16, 2008
2008-038

Archived - Canada Acting to Improve the Regime for Donations of Medicines to the Developing World

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, and the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced draft amendments to the provisions of the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations that provide an incentive for Canadian corporations to donate excess inventories of medicine for the purpose of international development.

"Our Government is committed to ensuring that corporate donations of medicines to developing nations provide optimal benefits for the health needs of their citizens," said Minister Flaherty. "The regulations proposed today will better ensure that donated medicines are delivered and administered to the people who need them in accordance with international standards for drug donations."

Budget 2007 introduced a tax incentive that provides a special deduction in respect of approved medicines donated, for the purpose of international aid, to a registered charity that has received funding under a program of the Canadian International Development Agency.

"This partnership between the public and private sectors will enable life-saving medicines to reach some of the developing world's most vulnerable people," said Minister Oda. "Access to medicines is one of the greatest challenges facing international assistance efforts, and through today's announcement, Canada will be helping to provide improved health care to families across the world in an effective way."

To better ensure that donations of medicines are undertaken in accordance with accepted international standards, Budget 2008 proposed to change the definition of charities that are eligible to receive these donations to require that they be registered charities that, in the opinion of the Minister of International Cooperation, meet the conditions prescribed by regulations. The proposed regulations are being released today. Related changes to the Income Tax Act are also proposed to support the regulations.

Under the proposed regulations, to be eligible to receive donated medicines that qualify the corporate donor for the special deduction, charities will have to:

  • act in a manner consistent with principles and objectives of the World Health Organization Guidelines for Drug Donations;
  • have expertise in delivering medical donations to the developing world; and
  • implement appropriate policies and practices with respect to the delivery of international development assistance.

The new rules will apply to gifts made on or after July 1, 2008. The Minister of International Cooperation will implement a process based on these new rules to assess charities to determine their eligibility to receive donations from corporate donors that would qualify for the special deduction.

Additional information on the approvals process will be available in the coming weeks on the Canadian International Development Agency website at www.acdi-cida.gc.ca.

The draft amendments and explanatory notes are appended to this news release and are also available on the Department of Finance website at www.fin.gc.ca.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Joanna Bailey
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
819-953-62388

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency
Telephone: 819-953-6534
info@acdi-cida.gc.ca

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Ottawa, le 16 mai 2008
2008-038

Archivé - Le Canada prend des mesures pour améliorer le régime des dons de médicaments aux pays en développement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, et l'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, ont annoncé aujourd'hui un projet de modification de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu qui offrira un incitatif aux sociétés canadiennes à faire don de leurs stocks excédentaires de médicaments aux fins du développement international.

« Notre gouvernement est résolu à garantir que les médicaments donnés par les sociétés à des pays en développement procurent des avantages optimaux pour la santé des citoyens de ces pays », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Les dispositions réglementaires proposées aujourd'hui encadreront mieux les dons de médicaments afin que ceux-ci soient expédiés et administrés aux personnes qui en ont besoin en conformité avec les normes internationales concernant ces dons. »

Le budget de 2007 contenait un nouvel incitatif fiscal prévoyant une déduction spéciale à l'égard de médicaments approuvés qui sont donnés, aux fins de l'aide internationale, aux organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés ayant reçu des fonds en vertu d'un programme de l'Agence canadienne de développement international.

« Une telle collaboration des secteurs public et privé permettra de fournir des médicaments d'importance vitale aux personnes les plus vulnérables des pays en développement », a indiqué la ministre Oda. « L'accès aux médicaments constitue l'un des défis les plus importants que connaissent les efforts d'aide internationale. Grâce à l'annonce d'aujourd'hui, le Canada contribue à la prestation efficace de soins de santé améliorés aux familles du monde entier. »

De manière à garantir que les dons de médicaments soient effectués conformément aux normes internationales reconnues, le budget de 2008 proposait de modifier la définition des organismes de bienfaisance admissibles à ces dons afin d'exiger qu'ils soient des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui, de l'avis de la ministre de la Coopération internationale, remplissent les conditions fixées par règlement. Le projet de réglementation sera rendu public aujourd'hui; il est accompagné de changements connexes proposés à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

La réglementation proposée prévoit que les organismes de bienfaisance qui remplissent les conditions suivantes pourront recevoir des dons de médicaments pour lesquels la société donatrice aura droit à la déduction spéciale :

  • ils agissent de manière conforme aux fondements et aux objectifs des Principes directeurs applicables aux dons de médicaments publiés par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé;
  • ils ont développé de l'expertise au chapitre de la livraison de dons de médicaments aux pays en développement;
  • ils appliquent des politiques et des pratiques appropriées en matière d'aide au développement international.

Les nouvelles règles s'appliqueront aux dons faits à compter du 1er juillet 2008. La ministre de la Coopération internationale mettra en ouvre un processus fondé sur ces nouvelles règles qui permettra d'évaluer les organismes de bienfaisance afin d'établir s'ils sont admissibles à recevoir de sociétés donatrices des dons qui donneraient droit à la déduction spéciale.

Des renseignements additionnels concernant le processus d'approbation seront disponibles d'ici quelques semaines sur le site Web de l'Agence canadienne de développement international, à l'adresse www.acdi-cida.gc.ca.

Le projet de modification et les notes explicatives sont joints au présent communiqué. Ils sont aussi disponibles sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, à l'adresse www.fin.gc.ca.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Joanna Bailey
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international
819-953-6534
info@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.