Ottawa, March 14, 2008
2008-028

Archived - Minister Flaherty Tables Legislation to Implement Budget 2008 Measures and Protect Canada's Fiscal Framework

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today introduced legislation in the House of Commons to implement key measures from Budget 2008. The bill also includes language to protect the Government's fiscal plan from the effects of Bill C-253.

"Budget 2008 is a plan that is prudent, focused and responsible in this period of economic uncertainty," said Minister Flaherty. "The bill being tabled today will benefit all Canadians with measures such as the new Tax-Free Savings Account. It will also protect the fiscal framework from a Private Member's bill that risks plunging the federal government back into deficit."

Today's budget legislation will:

  • Allow Canadians to invest up to $5,000 a year in a new Tax-Free Savings Account, starting in 2009. Investment income earned within the account, including capital gains, will not be taxed and withdrawals will be tax-free.
  • Benefit small and medium-sized businesses by improving the scientific research and experimental development tax incentive program.
  • Increase the residency component of the Northern Residents Deduction by 10 per cent, effective for the 2008 tax year.
  • Support Canadian students with a $350-million investment in 2009-10, rising to $430 million by 2012-13, in a new consolidated Canada Student Grant Program that will reach 245,000 college and undergraduate students per year when it takes effect in the fall of 2009.
  • Commit $123 million over four years starting in 2009-10 to streamline and modernize the Canada Student Loans Program and expand online services for students, enabling them to manage their student loan accounts online.
  • Modernize the immigration system with a $22-million investment over two years, growing to $37 million per year by 2012-13, including legislation to speed up the processing of permanent resident applications, ensuring shorter wait times and making Canada's immigration system more competitive.
  • Improve the management and governance of the Employment Insurance (EI) program through the creation of the Canada Employment Insurance Financing Board, an independent Crown corporation with a legislated structure which ensures that EI premiums are dedicated exclusively to the EI program.
  • Provide $400 million allocated proportionately through a third-party trust for provinces and territories to support their efforts in recruiting 2,500 new front-line police officers.
  • Invest $500 million in 2007-08 through a third-party trust, allocated on a provincial-territorial per capita basis, for public transit infrastructure.
  • Set aside $250 million for a full-scale commercial demonstration of carbon capture and storage in the coal-fired electricity sector and for research projects to accelerate the deployment of the technology.
  • Build on Canada's knowledge and people advantage in genomics with an additional $140 million for Genome Canada.
  • Provide $110 million to the Mental Health Commission of Canada to support five innovative demonstration projects across the country to develop best practices to help Canadians facing mental health and homelessness challenges.
  • Invest $60 million per year to ensure that low-income seniors who work can realize greater benefits from their earnings through an increase in the Guaranteed Income Supplement earnings exemption.

Detailed explanatory notes relating to the tax measures in the bill tabled today will be available free of charge on the Department of Finance website in the near future. Printed copies will also be available from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855.

More information on these and other Budget 2008 measures can be obtained by visiting the Department of Finance website or by phoning 1-800-O-Canada (1-800-622-6232) or 1-800-926-9105 (TTY for the speech and hearing impaired/deaf).

_____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 14 mars 2008
2008-028

Archivé - Le ministre Flaherty dépose un projet de loi pour mettre en oeuvre le budget de 2008 et protéger le cadre financier du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe:


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes la législation nécessaire afin de mettre en oeuvre les principales mesures du budget de 2008. Ce projet de loi est également formulé de façon à protéger le plan financier du gouvernement contre les effets du projet de loi C-253.

« Le budget de 2008 est un plan de gestion prudente, ciblée et responsable en cette période d'incertitude économique », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Le projet de loi déposé aujourd'hui profitera à toutes les Canadiennes et à tous les Canadiens grâce à des mesures telles que l'établissement du compte d'épargne libre d'impôt. Il protégera aussi le cadre financier d'un projet de loi émanant d'un député qui risque de replonger le gouvernement fédéral dans une situation déficitaire. »

Plus précisément, le projet de loi budgétaire d'aujourd'hui :

  • permettra aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens d'investir jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année, à compter de 2009, dans un nouveau compte d'épargne libre d'impôt; les revenus de placement générés dans le compte, y compris les gains en capital, seront libres d'impôt, tout comme les sommes retirées du compte;
  • profitera aux petites et moyennes entreprises en bonifiant le programme de crédit d'impôt pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental;
  • bonifiera de 10 % le montant pour la résidence de la déduction pour les habitants de régions éloignées, à compter de l'année d'imposition 2008;
  • viendra en aide aux étudiants canadiens au moyen d'un investissement de 350 millions de dollars en 2009-2010 - qui atteindra 430 millions en 2012-2013 - dans un nouveau programme canadien consolidé de subventions aux étudiants qui, à son entrée en vigueur à l'automne 2009, profitera à 245 000 étudiants de niveau collégial et de premier cycle universitaire par année;
  • injectera 123 millions de dollars sur quatre ans à compter de 2009-2010 afin de rationaliser et de moderniser le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants, d'étoffer les services en ligne offerts aux étudiants et de permettre à ces derniers de gérer leur compte de prêt étudiant en ligne;
  • modernisera le système d'immigration en y injectant 22 millions de dollars sur deux ans, montant qui croîtra à 37 millions par année d'ici 2012-2013, et en prescrivant des mesures législatives pour accélérer le traitement des demandes de résidence permanente, raccourcir les délais d'attente et rendre le système d'immigration canadien plus compétitif;
  • améliorera la gestion et la gouvernance du programme d'assurance-emploi en mettant sur pied l'Office de financement de l'assurance-emploi du Canada, une société d'État indépendante dotée d'une structure inscrite dans la loi, afin que les cotisations d'assurance-emploi ne soient utilisées qu'aux fins de ce programme;
  • fournira 400 millions de dollars qui seront répartis de façon proportionnelle par l'entremise d'une fiducie administrée par des tiers afin d'aider les provinces et les territoires à recruter 2 500 policiers de première ligne supplémentaires;
  • investira 500 millions de dollars en 2007-2008 dans l'infrastructure du transport en commun, par l'entremise d'une fiducie administrée par des tiers, selon une répartition entre les provinces et les provinces et d'après un montant égal par habitant;
  • accordera 250 millions de dollars pour la démonstration commerciale pleine échelle du captage et du stockage du carbone dans le domaine de la production d'électricité alimentée au charbon et pour des projets de recherche en vue d'accélérer le déploiement de la technologie;
  • renforcera l'avantage du savoir et des ressources humaines que possède le Canada en génomique en versant une somme supplémentaire de 140 millions de dollars à Génome Canada;
  • versera 110 millions de dollars à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada pour appuyer cinq projets de démonstration innovateurs d'un bout à l'autre du pays qui mèneront à des pratiques exemplaires d'aide aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens qui ont des problèmes de santé mentale et d'itinérance;
  • investira 60 millions de dollars par année pour que les aînés à faible revenu qui travaillent puissent tirer des avantages accrus de leurs gains grâce à la bonification de l'exemption sur le revenu gagné du Supplément de revenu garanti.

Des notes explicatives sur les mesures fiscales proposées dans le projet de loi déposé aujourd'hui seront disponibles sans frais d'ici peu, sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On pourra également en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés auprès du Centre de distribution du Ministère, au 613-995-2855.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les mesures du budget de 2008, on peut consulter le site Web du ministère des Finances ou composer le 1-800-O-Canada (1-800-622-6232) ou le 1-800-926-9105 (téléimprimeur pour les personnes ayant une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole).

___________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.