Ottawa, November 7, 2007
2007-086

Archived - Government of Canada Releases Proposals to Improve the Taxation of Financial Institutions

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, is seeking public comment on draft amendments released today to improve the taxation of financial institutions by better aligning tax laws with new standards set out by the Accounting Standards Board. The intention to release these proposals was originally announced by the Minister on December 28, 2006.

"The Government is committed to reducing the compliance burden faced by Canadian businesses," said Minister Flaherty. "These changes will ease this burden on financial institutions as well as improve the economic efficiency of the tax system by improving the measurement of income and capital for tax purposes."

The proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations relate to the calculation of:

  • the income of financial institutions from certain share holdings and debt obligations;
  • policy reserves that are deductible by insurance corporations in computing income for tax purposes; and
  • the minimum tax for life insurance corporations resident in Canada.

These proposals are proposed to become effective for taxation years that begin on or after October 1, 2006.

This package also contains a number of additional changes to the "mark-to-market" rules determining the income of financial institutions from certain share holdings and debt obligations. These changes will provide that, in certain situations, securities held in corporations carrying on a stock exchange or a credit card business will not be subject to these rules.

Comments on these proposals are requested by November 30, 2007. Once the consultation period is over, the Government will work toward introducing these measures in Parliament at the earliest opportunity.

The legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available free of charge on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies are available for $10 from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855.

______________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 7 novembre 2007
2007-086

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada propose des mesures pour améliorer le régime d'imposition des institutions financières

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, invite le public à commenter les modifications législatives proposées aujourd'hui qui visent à améliorer le régime d'imposition des institutions financières par une meilleure concordance des lois fiscales avec les nouvelles normes établies par le Conseil des normes comptables. L'intention de publier ces propositions a été annoncée par le ministre le 28 décembre 2006.

« Le gouvernement est résolu à réduire le fardeau des entreprises canadiennes en matière d'observation de la loi », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Ces changements auront pour effet d'alléger ce fardeau pour les institutions financières et d'accroître l'efficience économique du régime fiscal en améliorant le calcul du revenu et du capital aux fins d'impôt. »

Les modifications qu'il est proposé d'apporter à la Loi et au Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu ont trait au calcul des sommes suivantes :

  • le revenu des institutions financières provenant de certaines actions et de certains titres de créance;
  • les provisions techniques déductibles par les compagnies d'assurance dans le calcul du revenu aux fins d'impôt;
  • l'impôt minimum des compagnies d'assurance-vie qui résident au Canada.

Il est proposé que ces modifications s'appliquent aux années d'imposition commençant le 1er octobre 2006 ou par la suite.

Les propositions législatives comprennent aussi des changements aux règles sur l'évaluation à la valeur du marché. Ces règles servent à déterminer le revenu des institutions financières provenant de certaines actions et certains titres de créance. Les changements prévoient que, dans certaines circonstances, les titres détenus dans des sociétés qui exploitent une bourse de valeurs ou une entreprise d'émission de cartes de crédit ne sont pas assujettis à ces règles.

Les intéressés sont invités à faire part de leurs commentaires d'ici le 30 novembre 2007. Au terme de cette période de consultation, le gouvernement veillera à soumettre les mesures au Parlement dans les plus brefs délais.

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives sont disponibles sans frais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés, au coût de 10 $, auprès du Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances (613-995-2855).

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp