Ottawa, October 2, 2007
2007-074

Archived - Canada's New Government Introduces Draft Legislative Proposals to Implement the Registered Disability Savings Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, and the Honourable Monte Solberg, Minister of Human Resources and Social Development, today released draft legislative proposals to implement the Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) announced in Budget 2007.

"The legislative proposals being released today are an important step towards helping persons with severe disabilities, and their families, save for their financial future" said Minister Flaherty. "We will endeavour to complete this legislative process as quickly as possible so that Canadians with disabilities have access to the financial support they need."

RDSPs are being introduced in response to the recommendations of the Minister of Finance's Expert Panel on Financial Security for Children with Severe Disabilities, which tabled its report in December 2006.

Under the new measure, individuals who qualify for the disability tax credit, or their parents or other legal guardian, will be able to establish an RDSP. RDSPs will be eligible to receive payments of the new Canada Disability Savings Grants (CDSGs) and, for low- and modest-income beneficiaries, Canada Disability Savings Bonds (CDSBs).

The proposals include amendments to the Income Tax Act and Income Tax Regulations dealing primarily with the establishment of RDSPs. They also introduce the Canada Disability Savings Act, which would be administered by Human Resources and Social Development Canada and would provide for payment into RDSPs of the new CDSGs and CDSBs.

"Helping Canadians with disabilities means giving them the means to plan for their financial future" said Minister Solberg. "With this proposed legislation, Canada's New Government is taking an active role in making sure the people who need it most are getting the long-term financial support they require."

Interested parties are invited to provide comments in writing on the draft legislative proposals. Comments can be sent jointly to the Tax Policy Branch, Department of Finance and the Office of Disability Issues, Human Resources and Social Development Canada at 140 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0G5 on or before October 23, 2007.

Following this consultation period, the Government intends to introduce legislation, including regulations under the Canada Disability Savings Act, to implement the program as quickly as possible.

The legislative proposals and explanatory notes released today are available free of charge on the Department of Finance website (www.fin.gc.ca). Printed copies will be available at a later date for $10 from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855. This publication is also available in alternative formats (large print, audio cassette, Braille and computer diskette) in French and English by calling 1-800-622-6232 (toll-free) on a touchtone phone. TTY at 1-800-926-9105.

____________________________________________________
This news release is available in alternative formats upon request.

For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080
Pema Lhalungpa
Press Secretary
Human Resources and Social
Development Canada
819-994-2482
Media Relations
Human Resources and Social
Development Canada
819-994-5559
www.hrsdc.gc.ca

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 2 octobre 2007
2007-074

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada présente des propositions législatives pour mettre en place le Régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, et l'honorable Monte Solberg, ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement social, ont rendu publiques aujourd'hui des propositions législatives visant à mettre en place le Régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité (REEI) annoncé dans le budget de 2007.

« Les propositions législatives rendues publiques aujourd'hui constituent un premier pas important en vue d'aider les personnes gravement handicapées, ainsi que leur famille, à épargner pour assurer leur avenir financier », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Nous nous efforcerons d'achever le processus législatif le plus rapidement possible afin que les Canadiens handicapés aient accès au soutien financier dont ils ont besoin. »

La création des REEI donne suite aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport du Groupe d'experts au sujet de la sécurité financière des enfants gravement handicapés établi par le ministre des Finances, qui a été déposé en décembre 2006.

En vertu de cette nouvelle mesure, les particuliers admissibles au crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées, leurs parents ou leurs tuteurs légaux pourront établir un REEI. Aux cotisations aux REEI s'ajouteront la nouvelle Subvention canadienne pour l'épargne-invalidité (SCEI) et, dans le cas des bénéficiaires à revenu faible ou modeste, les Bons canadiens pour l'épargne-invalidité (BCEI).

Les propositions prévoient notamment de modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et le Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu principalement afin de mettre en place les REEI. Elles contiennent en outre la Loi canadienne sur l'épargne-invalidité, qui serait administrée par Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada et régirait le versement de la SCEI et des BCEI dans les REEI.

« Pour aider les Canadiens handicapés, il faut leur donner les moyens de préparer l'avenir financier », a déclaré le ministre Solberg. « Avec cette loi proposée, le nouveau gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures énergiques pour faire en sorte que les plus démunis reçoivent le soutien financier à long terme dont ils ont besoin. »

Les intéressés sont invités à commenter les propositions législatives par écrit. Veuillez adresser vos observations conjointement à la Direction de la politique de l'impôt, ministère des Finances, et au Bureau de la condition des personnes handicapées, Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada, au 140, rue O'Connor, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G5, au plus tard le 23 octobre 2007.

À la suite de ces consultations, le gouvernement entend déposer un projet de loi, de même que des mesures réglementaires sous le régime de la Loi canadienne sur l'épargne-invalidité, pour instaurer ce programme dans les meilleurs délais.

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives connexes sont diffusées sans frais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances (www.fin.gc.ca). On pourra se procurer des exemplaires imprimés à une date ultérieure, au prix de 10 $, en téléphonant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances au 613-995-2855. On peut également obtenir ce document en médias de substitution (gros caractères, audiocassette, braille et disquette), en français et en anglais, en téléphonant au numéro sans frais 1-800-622-6232 au moyen d'un appareil à clavier. Service ATS : 1-800-926-9105.

________________________________________________________
Ce communiqué de presse est disponible sur demande en médias de substitution.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pema Lhalungpa
Attachée de presse
Ressources humaines et Développement
social Canada
819-994-2482

Relations avec les médias
Ressources humaines et Développement
social Canada
819-994-5559

www.rhdsc.gc.ca 

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.