Ottawa, July 4, 2007
2007-058

Archived - Canada's New Government Introduces Measures to Make the Tax System More Efficient

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


As proposed in Budget 2007, the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced draft amendments to the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations that will make the tax system more efficient. They will reduce delays in the preparation and issuance of T3 information slips (relating to distributions of publicly traded trusts) and T5013 information slips (relating to allocations of publicly traded partnerships).

"Our government is committed to making the tax system as effective and efficient as possible" said Minister Flaherty. "The changes I am announcing today will address many of the concerns expressed by taxpayers about the timing of their receipt of tax information slips by helping investment managers to meet filing deadlines."

The proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act would provide authority for regulations requiring the disclosure by publicly traded trusts and partnerships of information enabling investment managers to prepare the tax information slips that they are required to issue to investors. This disclosure would be made through a posting of the required information on the website for CDS Innovations Inc. (a subsidiary of the Canadian Depository for Securities Limited), a website that is designed to provide this type of information to investment managers. The proposed amendments were developed in conjunction with the investment industry.

The proposed regulations would require publicly traded trusts and partnerships to disclose information concerning distributions and allocations of income and capital made in respect of each of their units within 60 days after the end of the taxation year or fiscal period for which the information is relevant. For publicly traded trusts and partnerships that invest in other publicly traded trusts, partnerships or corporations, this information would be required to be disclosed within 67 days after the end of the calendar year to which the information relates. This is a new requirement that is expected to make the filing process more efficient.

Investment managers could use this information to prepare the information slips that are required to be issued to their investors within 90 days of the end of the year. The taxation year and fiscal period of publicly traded trusts and partnerships normally end on December 31 of each calendar year. In the case of publicly traded trusts, a December 15 year-end can be used upon election.

These amendments are to be effective in respect of information required to be disclosed in connection with assessments in respect of taxation years (or fiscal periods, in the case of publicly traded partnerships) that end after today.

The draft amendments and explanatory notes are appended to this news release and are available on the Department of Finance website.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 4 juillet 2007
2007-058

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada présente des mesures pour accroître l'efficience du régime fiscal

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Comme il a été proposé dans le budget de 2007, l'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a présenté aujourd'hui un projet de modifications à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et au Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu visant à rendre le régime fiscal plus efficient. Ces modifications permettront de réduire le temps de préparation et d'émission des feuillets de renseignements T3 (se rapportant aux distributions de fiducies cotées en bourse) et des feuillets de renseignements T5013 (se rapportant aux répartitions de sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse).

« Notre gouvernement tient à rendre le régime fiscal aussi efficace et efficient que possible », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Les changements que j'annonce aujourd'hui donnent suite à plusieurs préoccupations soulevées par les contribuables concernant le moment où ils reçoivent ces feuillets, en aidant les gestionnaires de placements à respecter les délais qui s'appliquent à leur production. »

Les modifications proposées de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu conféreront les pouvoirs nécessaires à la prise de règlements concernant la communication, par les fiducies et les sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse, des renseignements qui permettront aux gestionnaires de placements de préparer les feuillets de renseignements fiscaux qu'ils doivent remettre aux investisseurs. Pour ce faire, elles afficheront les renseignements requis sur le site Web de CDS Innovations Inc. (une filiale de la Caisse canadienne de dépôt de valeurs limitée), site conçu pour fournir ce genre d'information aux gestionnaires de placements. Les modifications proposées ont été établies en collaboration avec l'industrie des placements.

Aux termes du projet de règlement, les fiducies et sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse devront communiquer les renseignements concernant les distributions et les répartitions de revenu et de principal qui ont été effectuées à l'égard de chacune de leurs unités, dans les 60 jours de la fin de l'année d'imposition ou de l'exercice visé. Les fiducies et sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse qui investissent dans d'autres fiducies, sociétés de personnes ou sociétés cotées en bourse devront fournir ces renseignements dans les 67 jours de la fin de l'année civile visée. On prévoit que cette nouvelle exigence accroîtra l'efficience de la production des feuillets de renseignements.

Les gestionnaires de placements pourront se servir de ces renseignements pour préparer les feuillets qu'ils sont tenus de remettre aux investisseurs dans les 90 jours de la fin de l'année. L'année d'imposition et l'exercice des fiducies et sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse se terminent habituellement le 31 décembre de chaque année civile, mais les fiducies cotées en bourse peuvent fixer leur fin d'exercice au 15 décembre.

Ces modifications s'appliqueront aux renseignements qui doivent être communiqués à l'égard de cotisations visant les années d'imposition (ou les exercices, dans le cas de sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse) qui se terminent après aujourd'hui.

Le projet de modifications et des notes explicatives sont annexés et sont affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp