Ottawa, January 26, 2007
2007-006

Archived - Canada's New Government Unveils Proposed Improvements to the Application of the GST/HST to the Financial Services Sector

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released draft legislation, explanatory notes and a backgrounder for several measures aimed at improving and streamlining the application of the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) to the financial services sector.

"The financial services sector is a key element of the Canadian economy. Ensuring that the tax system functions smoothly and fairly in relation to it will support its continued success both at home and abroad. This ultimately benefits consumers and the Canadian economy" said Minister Flaherty.

The draft legislation released today will address GST/HST advantages that currently exist in favour of imported financial services over comparable domestic services.

The draft legislation also proposes new legislative framework for the GST/HST input tax credit allocation regime applicable to financial institutions. The framework will streamline the application of the GST/HST input tax credit rules for these institutions and reduce the uncertainty arising from the lack of specific guidance in the current legislation.

The Minister also announced that stakeholder consultations would be undertaken on the following proposals:

  • Replacing the complex system of legislative and administrative rules that currently apply to different pension plan trust structures with a new, uniform GST/HST rebate system that will apply fairly and equally to all such structures; and
  • Introducing a new GST/HST annual information schedule for financial institutions to improve GST/HST reporting in the financial services sector.

Printed copies of the documents released today are available for $10 from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre. For detailed information on the draft legislation and explanatory notes visit www.fin.gc.ca.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Dan Miles
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 26 janvier 2007
2007-006

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada propose d'améliorer l'application de la TPS/TVH au secteur des services financiers

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a publié aujourd'hui des propositions législatives, des notes explicatives et un document d'information concernant plusieurs mesures qui visent à améliorer et à simplifier l'application de la taxe sur les produits et services et de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) au secteur des services financiers.

« Le secteur des services financiers est un élément clé de l'économie canadienne. Son succès continu, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, repose en bonne partie sur l'application équitable et harmonieuse du régime fiscal. Au bout du compte, cela profite aux consommateurs et à l'économie canadienne  », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty.

Les propositions législatives rendues publiques aujourd'hui visent à corriger les avantages que présentent actuellement, sur le plan de la TPS/TVH, les services financiers importés par rapport aux services intérieurs comparables.

Il est également proposé d'instaurer un nouveau cadre législatif pour l'attribution des crédits de taxe sur les intrants des institutions financières sous le régime de la TPS/TVH. On entend ainsi simplifier l'application des règles sur les crédits de taxe sur les intrants à ces institutions et dissiper l'incertitude découlant du caractère trop général des dispositions législatives en vigueur.

Le ministre a aussi annoncé la tenue de consultations sur les propositions suivantes :

  • Le remplacement du régime complexe de règles législatives et administratives qui s'applique aux diverses structures de fiducies de régimes de pension par un nouveau régime unique de remboursement de la TPS/TVH qui s'appliquera équitablement et uniformément à l'ensemble de ces structures.
  • La création d'une feuille de renseignements annuels sur la TPS/TVH à l'usage des institutions financières dans le but d'améliorer les déclarations liées à la TPS/TVH dans le secteur des services financiers.

On peut obtenir des exemplaires imprimés des documents rendus publics aujourd'hui, au coût de 10 $, en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances. Pour obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés sur les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives, veuillez visiter le site www.fin.gc.ca.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Dan Miles
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp