Ottawa, December 15, 2006

Archived - Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act Receives Royal Assent

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced that Bill C-25, amending the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act, has received Royal Assent, ensuring Canada continues to be a global leader in combating organized crime and terrorist financing.

"Canada's New Government will continue to be relentless in its battle against money laundering and terrorism financing" said Minister Flaherty. "One of the best ways of putting these criminals out of business is to starve them of the funds they need to finance their activities. This new legislation will improve our ability to act decisively." 

The amendments make Canada's anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime consistent with new Financial Action Task Force (FATF) standards. They also follow recommendations made in the 2004 Auditor General's Report and in a 2004 Treasury Board evaluation of the regime.

The amendments include:

  • Enhancing information sharing between the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), law enforcement and other domestic and international agencies.
  • Creating a registration regime for money service businesses.
  • Enabling legislation for enhanced client identification measures.
  • Creating an administrative and monetary penalties' regime to better enforce compliance with the Act.

The Government has already ensured adequate funding for key partners by announcing, in Budget 2006, $64 million in additional funding over the next two years for FINTRAC, the RCMP, the Canada Border Services Agency and the Department of Justice.

In July, Minister Flaherty announced that Toronto had been selected as the permanent headquarters of the secretariat of the Egmont Group, an organization of 101 of the world's financial intelligence units, including FINTRAC. Canada's New Government will contribute $5 million over the next five years to help the secretariat get established.

For the first time ever, Canada has assumed the Presidency of the FATF. The FATF is an international body that develops and promotes policies to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance


f you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at

Ottawa, le 15 décembre 2006
2006-081

Archivé - La Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes reçoit la sanction royale

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le projet de loi C-25, qui modifie la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, avait reçu la sanction royale, ce qui permettra au Canada de demeurer à l'avant-garde dans la lutte contre le crime organisé et le financement du terrorisme.

« Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada poursuivra sans relâche son combat contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « L'un des meilleurs moyens de réduire ces criminels à l'impuissance est de les priver des fonds dont ils ont besoin pour financer leurs activités. Les nouvelles dispositions législatives que nous avons mises de l'avant nous donneront les moyens d'agir de façon encore plus décisive. »

Les modifications apportées font en sorte que le régime canadien de lutte au blanchiment d'argent et au financement des activités terroristes soit conforme aux nouvelles normes établies par le Groupe d'action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux (GAFI). Elles donnent également suite aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport de 2004 de la vérificatrice générale ainsi qu'à l'évaluation du régime par le Conseil du Trésor en 2004.

Ces modifications consistent notamment :

  • à améliorer les échanges de renseignements entre le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), les organismes d'exécution de la loi et d'autres organismes nationaux et internationaux;
  • à mettre en place un régime d'enregistrement des entreprises de transfert de fonds;
  • à renforcer les mesures d'identification des clients prévues dans la Loi;
  • à instaurer un régime de sanctions administratives et pécuniaires pour mieux assurer le respect de la Loi.

Le gouvernement a déjà pris des mesures pour que les principaux partenaires disposent de fonds suffisants; il a annoncé dans le budget de 2006 l'affectation de fonds additionnels totalisant 64 millions de dollars sur deux ans à l'intention du CANAFE, de la GRC, de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et du ministère de la Justice.

En juillet, le ministre Flaherty a annoncé que la ville de Toronto avait été choisie pour l'établissement du siège permanent du secrétariat du Groupe Egmont, dont font partie 101 organismes du renseignement financier de la planète, y compris le CANAFE. Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada versera 5 millions de dollars au cours des cinq prochaines années pour appuyer l'établissement du secrétariat.

Pour la toute première fois, le Canada préside le GAFI, un organisme international qui se voue à l'élaboration et à la promotion de politiques de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement des activités terroristes.

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.