Ottawa, November 27, 2006
2006-073

Archived - New Measures to Increase Fairness and Efficiency of the Sales Tax System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today tabled a Notice of Ways and Means Motion in the House of Commons to implement measures aimed at increasing the fairness, efficiency and ease of compliance and administration of the sales tax system.

"Canada's New Government is committed to reducing taxes and eliminating red tape. We believe this will make our economy stronger and that it will give a competitive advantage for Canada," said Minister Flaherty. "The Motion we tabled today will increase the fairness of the sales tax system for many individuals with special needs and ease compliance for a wide range of businesses and other organizations."

The proposals, which pertain to the goods and services tax and the harmonized sales tax, the application of the taxation of wine, spirits and tobacco and the application of the Air Travellers Security Charge, will also ensure that existing legislation continues to accord with the policy intent.

Most of these proposals were previously released in the form of draft legislation to provide affected stakeholders with the opportunity to comment on the measures prior to enactment. These proposals also include a few technical amendments that were not previously announced, but which are required to address recently identified matters.

The attached schedule provides a summary of the principal proposals and the attached explanatory notes provide details on all of the proposed measures. References to "Announcement Date" in the explanatory notes should be read as referring to today's date.

The legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies of the legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available for $10 and $15 respectively from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Schedule 

Part 1 of this motion mainly implements proposed measures relating to the Goods and Services Tax and Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST). Part 2 contains measures relating to the Excise Act, 2001 and other Acts, with respect to the taxation of tobacco, spirits and wine. Finally, Part 3 contains measures relating to the Air Travellers Security Charge.

GST/HST Measures

The GST/HST measures, contained in Part 1 of this motion, are principally aimed at improving the operation and fairness of the GST/HST in the affected areas and ensuring that the legislation accords with the policy intent. In some cases, adjustments have been made to the legislation as originally proposed in response to representations from the tax and business communities.

The principal GST/HST measures are as follows:

Health

  • confirms the GST/HST exemption for speech-language pathology services;
  • exempts health-related services rendered in the practise of the profession of social work;
  • zero-rates sales and importations of a blood substitute known as plasma expander;
  • restores the zero-rated status of a group of drugs, collectively known as Benzodiazepines;
  • broadens the specially equipped vehicle GST/HST rebate so that this rebate applies to motor vehicles that have been used subsequent to being specially equipped for use by individuals with disabilities;

Charities

  • ensures that the exemption of supplies by charities of real property under short-term leases and licences extends to any goods supplied together with such real property;

Business Arrangements

  • provides transitional GST/HST relief on the initial asset transfer by a foreign bank that restructures its Canadian subsidiary into a Canadian branch;
  • removes technical impediments that hinder the use of existing group relief provisions under the GST/HST;
  • simplifies compliance by excluding beverage container deposits that are refundable to the consumer from the GST/HST base;
  • permits an agent to claim a GST/HST deduction for bad debts, and to claim adjustments or refunds of tax, in respect of sales made on behalf of a principal where the agent collects and reports tax;
  • extends the existing agent rules under the GST/HST legislation to persons acting only as billing agents for vendors;
  • better accommodates special import arrangements between businesses in certain situations where goods are supplied outside Canada to a Canadian customer;
  • ensures that GST/HST group relief rules cannot be used to exempt from GST/HST otherwise taxable clearing services that are provided by a group member to a closely related financial institution who will then re-supply those services on an exempt basis to a third-party purchaser outside the group;
  • clarifies the treatment of the right to use certain types of amusement or entertainment devices, such as the playing of a game, when it is provided through the operation of a mechanical coin-operated device that can accept only a single coin of twenty-five cents or less as the total consideration for the supply;
  • confirms the policy intent and Canada Revenue Agency's existing practise that no GST/HST or provincial sales taxes on a passenger vehicle are included in calculating the maximum allowable value for input tax credit purposes;

Governments

  • ensures that a small supplier division of a municipality is treated in the same manner as a municipality that is a small supplier;
  • exempts a supply of a right to file or retrieve a document or information stored in an electronic official registry;

HST-related Rules

  • as announced by the Government of Nova Scotia, limits the availability of the current Nova Scotia HST New Housing Rebate to first-time homebuyers and reduces the maximum rebate available to $1,500;
  • includes in the Act the draft Specified Motor Vehicle (GST/HST) Regulations, which prescribe the value of a specified motor vehicle for the purposes of calculating the 8 per cent provincial component of the HST in circumstances where the vehicle is brought into a participating province and prescribe the manner in which that tax is required to be paid;

Administration

  • adds a discretionary power for the Minister of National Revenue to accept late-filed applications for the GST New Housing Rebate and the Nova Scotia HST New Housing Rebate for owner-built homes, where exceptional circumstances have prevented an applicant from meeting the normal filing deadline;
  • adds a discretionary power for the Minister of National Revenue to accept late-filed elections between closely related financial institutions for adjustments that they are required to make for the provincial component of the HST;
  • permits the Minister of National Revenue to exchange GST/HST information with foreign governments that are signatories to the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters; and
  • adds a discretionary power under the Act for the Chief Statistician of Canada to provide statistical information concerning business activities to the provinces similar to an existing provision in the Income Tax Act.

Excise Measures

The measures contained in Part 2 of this motion amend the Excise Act, 2001 to implement minor refinements that will improve the operation of the Act and more accurately reflect current industry and administrative practices. They also implement related and consequential amendments to the Access to Information Act, the Customs Act, the Customs Tariff and the Excise Tax Act.

The principal measures related to the Excise Act, 2001 included in this motion are as follows:

Tobacco

  • extends the requirement to identify the origin of tobacco products to all products, including those for sale at duty-free shops or for export, consistent with the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control, an international treaty on tobacco control;
  • clarifies that cigarettes, tobacco sticks, fine-cut tobacco or cigars, but not packaged raw leaf tobacco, may be supplied to the export market or the domestic duty-free market;

Alcohol

  • authorizes private laboratories, provincial liquor boards and vintners to possess a still or similar equipment and produce spirits for the purpose of analysing substances containing ethyl alcohol without holding a spirits licence;
  • defers the payment of duty by small vintners selling wine on consignment in retail stores operated by an association of vintners until the wine is sold;

Administration

  • permits the Minister of National Revenue to exchange excise duty information with foreign governments that are signatories to the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters; and
  • adds a discretionary power under the Act for the Chief Statistician of Canada to provide statistical information concerning business activities to the provinces similar to an existing provision in the Income Tax Act.

Air Travellers Security Charge Measures

The measures pertaining to the Air Travellers Security Charge (ATSC), contained in Part 3 of this motion, include previously announced relief provisions, as well as technical changes to the Air Travellers Security Charge Act.

The principal measures related to the ATSC included in this motion are as follows:

Relief

  • relieves, in particular circumstances, the ATSC in respect of air travel sold by resellers or donated by air carriers; and

Administration

  • provides authority for the Governor in Council to add, delete or vary by regulation the schedule of listed airports.

Ottawa, le 27 novembre 2006
2006-073

Archivé - Nouvelles mesures visant à accroître l'équité et l'efficacité du régime de la taxe de vente

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Documents connexes:


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à mettre en oeuvre des mesures qui ont pour but d'accroître l'équité et l'efficacité du régime de la taxe de vente et d'en faciliter l'observation et l'application.

« Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à diminuer les taxes et les impôts et à éliminer les tracasseries administratives. Nous croyons que cela rendra notre économie plus forte et donnera un avantage concurrentiel au Canada », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Nous déposons aujourd'hui une motion qui rendra le régime de la taxe de vente plus équitable pour un grand nombre de personnes ayant des besoins particuliers et facilitera l'observation pour un large éventail d'entreprises et d'autres organisations. »

Les propositions, qui portent sur la taxe sur les produits et services et la taxe de vente harmonisée, les taxes sur le vin, les spiritueux et le tabac et le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien, font en sorte que les dispositions législatives en vigueur continuent d'être conformes aux objectifs visés.

La plupart des propositions ont déjà été rendues publiques sous forme d'avant-projet afin de permettre aux intéressés de commenter les mesures avant leur adoption. Le projet comprend également certaines modifications mineures, non annoncées antérieurement, qui ont pour but de régler des questions récemment soulevées.

Les principales propositions sont résumées dans l'annexe ci-jointe. Par ailleurs, chacune des mesures fait l'objet d'un exposé détaillé dans les notes explicatives qui accompagnent le présent communiqué. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication dans les notes explicatives vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui.

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés, au coût de 10 $ et 15 $ respectivement, en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances au numéro 613-995-2855.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Annexe 

La partie 1 de la motion met principalement en oeuvre des propositions concernant la taxe sur les produits et services et la taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH). La partie 2 renferme des mesures concernant la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise et d'autres lois, qui portent sur la taxation du tabac, des spiritueux et du vin. Enfin, la partie 3 contient des mesures touchant le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien.

Mesures touchant la TPS/TVH

Les mesures concernant la TPS/TVH, qui figurent à la partie 1 de la motion, visent principalement à améliorer le fonctionnement de la TPS/TVH dans les secteurs touchés, à en accroître l'équité et à assurer la concordance des dispositions législatives avec les objectifs visés. Dans certains cas, les dispositions législatives initialement proposées ont été modifiées pour tenir compte des observations provenant de représentants des milieux de la fiscalité et des affaires.

Voici un résumé des principales mesures concernant la TPS/TVH :

Santé 

  • confirme que les services d'orthophonie sont exonérés de TPS/TVH;
  • exonère les services liés à la santé qui sont rendus dans le cadre de l'exercice de la profession de travailleur social;
  • détaxe les ventes et importations du succédané de sang appelé « expanseur du volume plasmatique »;
  • rétablit la détaxation des drogues regroupées sous l'appellation « benzodiazépines »;
  • fait en sorte que le remboursement de TPS/TVH applicable aux véhicules munis de dispositifs spéciaux s'applique également aux véhicules à moteur qui ont été utilisés après avoir été munis de dispositifs spéciaux à l'usage de personnes handicapées;

Organismes de bienfaisance

  • veille à ce que l'exonération des fournitures d'immeubles effectuées par les organismes de bienfaisance aux termes de baux à court terme et de licences s'applique également aux produits fournis avec ces immeubles;

Arrangements commerciaux

  • prévoit un allégement transitoire de TPS/TVH au titre du transfert initial d'éléments d'actif par une banque étrangère qui restructure sa filiale canadienne en une succursale canadienne;
  • élimine les obstacles techniques qui empêchent de recourir aux règles sur l'allégement de TPS/TVH accordé aux groupes;
  • simplifie l'observation en excluant les consignes de contenants à boisson remboursables aux consommateurs de l'assiette de la TPS/TVH;
  • permet aux mandataires qui perçoivent et déclarent la taxe de demander des déductions de TPS/TVH pour créances irrécouvrables, ainsi que des rajustements ou des remboursements de taxe, relativement aux ventes effectuées pour le compte des mandants;
  • étend l'application des règles sur les mandataires, sous le régime de la TPS/TVH, aux personnes qui agissent seulement à titre d'agents de facturation pour les vendeurs;
  • favorise la conclusion d'ententes d'importation spéciales entre les entreprises dans certains cas où des produits sont fournis à l'étranger à des clients canadiens;
  • fait en sorte que les règles sur l'allégement de TPS/TVH accordé aux groupes ne puissent servir à exonérer de TPS/TVH les services de compensation par ailleurs taxables qu'un membre du groupe offre à une institution financière étroitement liée qui, à son tour, fournit les services, avec exonération de taxe, à un tiers qui ne fait pas partie du groupe;
  • précise le traitement applicable au droit d'utiliser certains types d'appareils de divertissement, notamment les appareils de jeu, lorsqu'il est offert au moyen d'un appareil automatique qui n'accepte, à titre de contrepartie totale de la fourniture, qu'une seule pièce de vingt-cinq cents ou moins;
  • confirme l'intention visée ainsi que la pratique en usage à l'Agence du revenu du Canada selon laquelle ni la TPS/TVH ni les taxes de vente provinciales sur les voitures de tourisme ne sont incluses dans le calcul de la valeur admissible maximale pour les besoins du crédit de taxe sur les intrants;

Gouvernements

  • veille à ce que la division de petit fournisseur d'une municipalité fasse l'objet du même traitement que la municipalité qui est un petit fournisseur;
  • exonère la fourniture du droit de produire ou d'extraire des documents ou de l'information stockés dans un registre électronique officiel;

Règles liées à la TVH

  • conformément à l'annonce du gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse, prévoit que seuls les acheteurs d'une première habitation ont droit au remboursement de la TVH pour habitations neuves de la Nouvelle-Écosse et ramène le remboursement maximal à 1 500 $;
  • ajoute à la loi les dispositions de l'avant-projet de règlement intitulé Règlement sur les véhicules à moteur déterminés (TPS/TVH), qui fixe la valeur d'un véhicule à moteur déterminé en vue du calcul de la composante provinciale de la TVH de 8 p. 100 dans les circonstances où le véhicule est transféré dans une province participante, et prévoit les modalités de paiement de cette taxe;

Application

  • confère au ministre du Revenu national le pouvoir discrétionnaire d'accepter, après l'expiration du délai imparti, les demandes de remboursement de TPS pour habitations neuves et les demandes de remboursement de TVH de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour habitations neuves construites par le propriétaire, dans le cas où le demandeur n'a pu produire sa demande dans le délai imparti en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles;
  • confère au ministre du Revenu national le pouvoir discrétionnaire d'accepter, après l'expiration du délai imparti, le choix d'une institution financière étroitement liée visant les rajustements qu'elle est tenue de faire au titre de la composante provinciale de la TVH;
  • autorise le ministre du Revenu national à échanger de l'information sur la TPS/TVH avec des gouvernements étrangers signataires de la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale;
  • accorde un pouvoir discrétionnaire au statisticien en chef du Canada et l'autorise à fournir aux provinces des données statistiques sur les activités d'entreprise, de façon similaire à ce qui est prévu dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Mesures touchant l'accise

Les mesures figurant à la partie 2 de la motion modifient la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise. Elles mettent en oeuvre des changements mineurs qui améliorent le fonctionnement de la loi et reflètent mieux les pratiques administratives courantes et les pratiques en usage dans l'industrie. En outre, elles mettent en oeuvre des modifications connexes et corrélatives touchant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, la Loi sur les douanes, le Tarif des douanes et la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

Voici un résumé des principales mesures concernant la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise :

Tabac

  • étend l'obligation de préciser l'origine des produits du tabac à tous les produits, y compris ceux vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes ou destinés à l'exportation, conformément au traité international intitulé Convention-cadre de lutte contre le tabagisme;
  • précise que les cigarettes, les bâtonnets de tabac, le tabac haché fin et les cigares, et non le tabac en feuilles emballé, peuvent être fournis sur le marché de l'exportation ou sur le marché intérieur hors taxes;

Alcool

  • autorise les laboratoires privés, les sociétés provinciales des alcools et les producteurs de vin à posséder un alambic ou un appareil semblable et à produire des spiritueux en vue d'analyser des substances contenant de l'alcool éthylique, sans être titulaires de licence de spiritueux;
  • reporte le paiement du droit par les petits producteurs qui vendent du vin en consignation dans les magasins de vente au détail exploités par une association de producteurs de vin jusqu'à ce que le vin soit vendu;

Application

  • autorise le ministre du Revenu national à échanger de l'information sur les droits d'accise avec des gouvernements étrangers signataires de la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale;
  • accorde un pouvoir discrétionnaire au statisticien en chef du Canada et l'autorise à fournir aux provinces des données statistiques sur les activités d'entreprise, de façon similaire à ce qui est prévu dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Mesures touchant le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien

Les mesures concernant le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien, qui figurent à la partie 3 de la motion, comprennent des mesures d'allégement annoncées antérieurement ainsi que des modifications mineures touchant la Loi sur le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien.

Voici un résumé des principales mesures concernant le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien :

Allégement

  • réduit, dans des circonstances particulières, le droit applicable aux services de transport aérien qui sont vendus par les revendeurs ou qui font l'objet de dons par les transporteurs aériens;

Application

  • prévoit que le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, modifier l'annexe pour y ajouter, en retrancher ou y changer le nom d'aéroports désignés.