Ottawa, November 9, 2006
2006-065

Archived - Canada's New Government Strengthens the Income Tax System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today tabled a Notice of Ways and Means Motion in the House of Commons to prevent tax deferral and avoidance through the use of foreign investment funds and trusts. The Motion proposes to tighten the income tax rules, responding to concerns raised by the Auditor General.

"Our new government is committed to a tax system that is both competitive and fair," said Minister Flaherty. "The Motion we tabled today will amend existing income tax rules to help ensure that income earned by Canadians through foreign jurisdictions, including tax havens, is subject to tax as if it had been earned in Canada."

The measures in the Motion relate principally to the taxation of income that is earned through the use of non-resident trusts and foreign investment entities. The measures generally follow the draft legislative proposals released for comment in 2005 and have been amended to generally take effect only for taxation years that begin after 2006.

The Motion also includes a number of technical amendments to update the Income Tax Act and ensure the law reflects government policy. In this regard, the Motion would correct or clarify the application of existing provisions, implement measures that have already been announced, or deal with other income tax situations that require a legislative response.

Background information and revised explanatory notes are appended to this news release. References to "Announcement Date" in the proposed legislation and explanatory notes should be read as referring to today's date.

The legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies of the legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available for $55 and $35 respectively from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 9 novembre 2006
2006-065

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada renforce le régime de l'impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à empêcher le report et l'évitement de l'impôt par le recours aux fonds et fiducies de placement étrangers. La motion propose de resserrer les règles fiscales, en réponse aux préoccupations exprimées par la vérificatrice générale.

« Notre nouveau gouvernement tient résolument à un régime fiscal qui soit à la fois compétitif et équitable », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « La motion que nous avons déposée aujourd'hui vise à modifier certaines règles fiscales de sorte que le revenu que gagnent les Canadiens par l'intermédiaire d'administrations étrangères, y compris les paradis fiscaux, soit assujetti à l'impôt comme s'il avait été gagné au Canada. »

Les mesures figurant dans la motion portent principalement sur l'imposition du revenu gagné par l'intermédiaire de fiducies non-résidentes et d'entités de placement étrangères. Elles reprennent pour l'essentiel les propositions législatives qui ont été rendues publiques pour avis en 2005, sauf qu'elles ne s'appliquent, de façon générale, qu'aux années d'imposition qui commencent après 2006.

La motion comporte en outre un certain nombre de modifications techniques visant à mettre à jour la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu afin que les dispositions législatives reflètent la politique sous-jacente. À cet égard, la motion a pour objet de corriger les dispositions en vigueur ou d'en préciser l'application, de mettre en oeuvre des mesures qui ont déjà été annoncées ou de traiter de questions fiscales qui exigent une réponse législative.

Un document d'information et des notes explicatives révisées sont annexés au présent communiqué. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication dans les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui.

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés, au coût de 55 $ et 35 $ respectivement, en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances au numéro 613-995-2855.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp