Ottawa, October 16, 2006 
2006-057

Archived - Canada's New Government to Ease the Burden of Taxpayers

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today tabled a Notice of Ways and Means Motion in the House of Commons to implement wide-ranging tax relief for Canadians.

"Canada's New Government continues to act on its commitment to provide meaningful relief for Canadian taxpayers," said Minister Flaherty. "The action we have taken today will cut taxes for pensioners, families, students, users of public transit and each and every worker in Canada, particularly tradespeople, apprentices and fishers. Businesses, both large and small, will also benefit and will be better positioned to compete and prosper in the global economy."

The measures in the Notice of Ways and Means Motion were introduced in Budget 2006 but were not included in the Budget Implementation Act, 2006. The Notice follows draft legislative proposals released for public comment this summer (News Release 2006-042) regarding the following income tax measures:

  • The new Canada Employment Credit.
  • The new Textbook Tax Credit.
  • The new tax credit for public transit passes.
  • The new deduction for tradespeople's tool expenses.
  • A complete exemption for scholarship income received in connection with enrolment at an institution which qualifies the student for the education tax credit.
  • The new Children's Fitness Tax Credit.
  • A doubling, to $2,000 from $1,000, of the amount on which the pension income credit is calculated.
  • An extension of the $500,000 lifetime capital gains exemption, and various intergenerational rollovers, to fishers.
  • The new Apprenticeship Job Creation Tax Credit.
  • A reduction of the current 12 per cent small business tax rate to 11.5 per cent for 2008 and to 11 per cent thereafter.
  • An increase, to $400,000 from $300,000, of the amount that a small business can earn at the small business tax rate, effective January 1, 2007.
  • A reduction of the minimum tax on financial institutions.

The Notice of Ways and Means Motion also proposes to implement the Budget 2006 measure to lower the income tax rate on large corporation dividends received by Canadians, making investments in shares of corporations more attractive (News Release 2006-028). In addition, the Notice implements the proposals in Budget 2006 to reduce excise duties for Canadian vintners and brewers, which follows draft legislative proposals released for public comment this summer (News Release 2006-027).

Revised explanatory notes for all measures noted above are also being released. References to "Announcement Date" in the proposed legislation and explanatory notes should be read as referring to today's date.

The Notice of Ways and Means Motion and explanatory notes are available on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies are available for $13.00 and may be obtained by calling the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at 613-995-2855.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 16 octobre 2006
2006-057

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada allège le fardeau des contribuables

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à mettre en oeuvre des allégements fiscaux d'envergure à l'intention des Canadiens.

« Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada continue de donner suite à son engagement d'offrir aux contribuables canadiens des allégements concrets », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Les mesures que nous prenons aujourd'hui auront pour effet de réduire les impôts des pensionnés, des familles, des étudiants, des usagers du transport en commun et de tous les travailleurs au Canada, notamment les gens de métier, les apprentis et les pêcheurs. Les entreprises, qu'elles soient petites ou grandes, bénéficieront également d'allégements et seront mieux en mesure de soutenir la concurrence et de prospérer dans l'économie mondiale. »

Les mesures figurant dans l'avis de motion de voies et moyens ont été proposées dans le budget de 2006, mais n'ont pas été incluses dans la Loi d'exécution du budget de 2006. L'avis de motion reprend les propositions législatives portant sur les mesures fiscales suivantes qui ont été rendues publiques aux fins de consultation au cours de l'été (communiqué 2006-042) :

  • le nouveau crédit canadien pour emploi;
  • le nouveau crédit d'impôt pour manuels;
  • le nouveau crédit d'impôt pour le coût des laissez-passer de transport en commun;
  • la nouvelle déduction pour les dépenses d'outillage des gens de métier;
  • l'exonération totale du revenu provenant de bourses d'études reçues relativement à l'inscription à un établissement donnant droit au crédit d'impôt pour études;
  • le nouveau crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants;
  • l'augmentation de la somme sur laquelle est calculé le crédit pour revenu de pension, laquelle passe de 1 000 $ à 2 000 $;
  • l'application aux pêcheurs de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital de 500 000 $ et de divers transferts entre générations;
  • le nouveau crédit d'impôt pour la création d'emplois d'apprentis;
  • la réduction du taux d'imposition des petites entreprises, qui passe de 12 % à 11,5 % en 2008, puis à 11 % par la suite;
  • l'augmentation du seuil de revenu auquel s'applique le taux d'imposition des petites entreprises, lequel passe de 300 000 $ à 400 000 $ le 1er janvier 2007;
  • la réduction de l'impôt minimum des institutions financières.

Il est également proposé dans l'avis de motion de voies et moyens de mettre en oeuvre la mesure budgétaire de 2006 visant à abaisser le taux d'imposition des dividendes de grandes sociétés reçus par les Canadiens de façon à rendre les placements en actions plus attrayants (communiqué 2006-028). En outre, l'avis de motion met en ouvre les propositions budgétaires de 2006 visant à réduire les droits d'accise auxquels sont assujettis les producteurs canadiens de vin et de bière. Les modifications sont conformes aux propositions législatives qui ont été rendues publiques aux fins de consultation au cours de l'été (communiqué 2006-027).

Des notes explicatives révisées portant sur l'ensemble des mesures dont il est question ci-dessus sont également rendues publiques. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication dans les dispositions législatives et les notes explicatives vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui.

L'avis de motion de voies et moyens et les notes explicatives sont affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés au coût de 13 $ chacun, en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances au numéro 613-995-2855.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp