Ottawa, June 29, 2006
2006-028

Archived - Draft Changes to Eliminate the Double Taxation of Large Corporation Dividends

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released for public comment draft legislative measures implementing the Government's proposal in Budget 2006 to lower the income tax rate on large corporation dividends received by Canadians.

"The Government is committed to providing tax relief to all Canadians," the Minister said. "And by eliminating the double taxation of large corporation dividends, these measures will make investments in shares of corporations more attractive and help to level the playing field with other investments, such as investments in units of income trusts."

Dividends are paid out of a corporation's after-tax income, and are also taxable in the hands of the shareholders who receive them. To relieve this double taxation, individual shareholders who receive dividends are required to "gross-up" the amount included in their income in respect of the dividend (to reflect the pre-tax income of the corporation), but then may, when computing tax payable, deduct a dividend tax credit (DTC) in recognition of the corporate tax.

Under the current gross-up and DTC, there is generally no element of double taxation for dividends that a corporation pays out of income benefiting from certain preferential income tax rates, the most notable being the special tax rate for small businesses. But Canadians also invest in large corporations, and most of these corporations do not have access to preferential rates. Today's proposed legislation will create an enhanced gross-up and DTC for dividends paid from corporate earnings that do not benefit from preferential rates, and thus will generally eliminate the double taxation of those dividends at the federal level.

The Minister invites interested parties to submit any comments on the legislative proposals by September 15, 2006. Following consultation, it is expected that legislation will be introduced in Parliament in the fall. As announced earlier, the new measures will apply to eligible dividends paid after 2005.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Dan Miles
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613 996-7861
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613 996-8080
Ryan Hall
Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
613 996-5155
 

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Ottawa, le 29 juin 2006
2006-028

Archivé - Projet de modification visant à éliminer la double imposition des dividendes provenant de grandes sociétés

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd'hui un projet de mesures législatives mettant en ouvre la proposition du gouvernement, contenue dans le budget de 2006, d'abaisser le taux d'imposition des dividendes de grandes sociétés reçus par les Canadiens.

« Le gouvernement est résolu à offrir des allégements fiscaux à l'ensemble des Canadiens », a déclaré le ministre. « Ces mesures, qui éliminent la double imposition des dividendes provenant de grandes sociétés, rendront les placements en actions plus attrayants et aideront à les mettre sur un pied d'égalité avec d'autres placements, comme les placements dans les unités de fiducies de revenu. »

Les dividendes sont versés sur le revenu après impôt des sociétés; ils sont aussi imposables pour les actionnaires qui les touchent. Dans le but de remédier à cette double imposition, les particuliers qui reçoivent des dividendes sont tenus de majorer la somme qu'ils doivent inclure dans leur revenu au titre des dividendes (pour tenir compte du revenu avant impôt de la société), mais peuvent déduire, dans le calcul de leur impôt à payer, un crédit d'impôt pour dividendes en reconnaissance de l'impôt payé par la société.

Dans le cadre du mécanisme actuel de majoration et de crédit d'impôt, les dividendes qu'une société verse sur le revenu bénéficiant de certains taux d'imposition préférentiels - dont le plus notable est le taux d'imposition spécial accordé aux petites entreprises - ne font généralement pas l'objet d'une double imposition. Cependant, les Canadiens investissent également dans les grandes sociétés, et la plupart de celles-ci n'ont pas accès à des taux préférentiels. Les mesures législatives proposées aujourd'hui auront pour effet de mettre en place un mécanisme bonifié de majoration et de crédit d'impôt pour les dividendes versés sur les gains de sociétés ne bénéficiant pas de taux préférentiels et, ainsi, d'éliminer de façon générale la double imposition de ces dividendes au niveau fédéral.

Le ministre invite les parties intéressées à présenter leurs observations sur les propositions législatives d'ici le 15 septembre 2006. Cette période de consultation sera suivie du dépôt d'un projet de loi au Parlement, prévu pour l'automne. Comme il a déjà été annoncé, les nouvelles mesures s'appliqueront aux dividendes déterminés versés après 2005.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Dan Miles
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613 996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613 996-8080

Ryan Hall
Direction de la politique de l'impôt
Ministère des Finances
613 996-5155

 

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp