Beamsville, June 28, 2006
2006-027

Archived - Canada's New Government Is Further Reducing the Tax Burden for Canadian Wineries and Breweries

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


During a tour of the Peninsula Ridge Estates winery in Beamsville, Ontario, the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, announced that Canada's new government is taking steps to stimulate further growth within the Canadian wine and beer industries. Beginning July 1, 2006, tax relieffor both industries is being increasedbeyond what was contemplated in Budget 2006.

"The Canadian wine and beer industries make a significant contribution to our economy through job creation, tourism and sales of high quality products," said Minister Flaherty. "After consulting with both industries, we felt it was necessary to offer more tax relief than stated in our government's first budget."

Budget 2006 proposed to exempt from federal excise duty the first 500,000 litres of wine produced and packaged by a wine licensee per year made from 100 per cent Canadian-grown agricultural products. After further consultations with the industry, the 500,000 litre threshold will now be eliminated, allowing all Canadian wineries to benefit from the exemption on all their production of this 100 per cent Canadian product.

Budget 2006 proposed to provide federal excise duty relief for Canadian brewers who have produced and packaged no more than 300,000 hectolitres of beer in the previous calendar year and do not exceed that limit in the current calendar year. After further consultations with the industry, the 300,000 hectolitre threshold will now also beeliminated.

"With the changes we are making to these tax measures, it is estimated that the amount of tax relief being provided by Canada's new government will increase from $7 million to $10 million annually for the wine industry and from $13.5 million to $18 million for the beer industry," added Minister Flaherty.

Draft legislative proposals are being released today to amend the Excise Act, 2001 and the Excise Act. Releasing the legislative proposals in draft form now provides greater clarity to taxpayers on how the proposals are intended to function. Additional details are provided in the detailed explanatory notes that are also being released.

The draft legislation reflects comments received by the Department of Finance since the budget. Any further comments should be addressed to the Department as soon as possible, so that they can be considered before amendments are tabled in Parliament. The Government intends to introduce these excise duty measures in a bill that will consist of Budget 2006 tax proposals not already included in Bill C-13.

Comments on the draft legislation can be addressed to:

Department of Finance Canada
Sales Tax Division
Alcohol, Tobacco and Excise Legislation Section
L'Esplanade Laurier
16th floor, East Tower
140 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, Ont.
K1A 0G5

The draft legislation and explanatory notes may be viewed on the Department of Finance website.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Dan Miles
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613 992-2014
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Beamsville, le 28 juin 2006
2006-027

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada réduit davantage le fardeau fiscal des vineries et brasseries canadiennes

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


À l'occasion de sa visite de la Peninsula Ridge Estates Winery à Beamsville (Ontario), l'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé que le nouveau gouvernement du Canada prenait des mesures en vue de stimuler davantage la croissance des industries canadiennes du vin et de la bière. À compter du 1er juillet 2006, des allégements fiscaux encore plus marqués que ceux envisagés dans le budget de 2006 seront consentis à ces deux industries.

« Les industries canadiennes du vin et de la bière jouent un rôle important dans notre économie sur le plan de création d'emplois, du tourisme et de la vente de produits de grande qualité, » a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Après consultation de représentants des deux industries, nous pensons qu'il est nécessaire d'alléger le fardeau fiscal dans une plus large mesure que ce qui avait été annoncé dans le premier budget de notre gouvernement. »

Il a été proposé dans le budget de 2006 d'exonérer du droit d'accise fédéral les 500 000 premiers litres de vin produits et emballés annuellement par les titulaires de licence de vin, qui sont fabriqués entièrement à partir de produits agricoles cultivés au Canada. Après des consultations plus poussées avec les représentants de cette industrie, il a été décidé d'éliminer le seuil de 500 000 litres et ainsi permettre à toutes les vineries canadiennes de profiter de l'exemption sur l'ensemble de leur production de vin canadien à 100 %.

Il a aussi été proposé dans le budget de 2006 d'accorder un allégement au titre du droit d'accise fédéral aux brasseurs canadiens qui ont produit et emballé au plus 300 000 hectolitres de bière au cours de l'année civile précédente et dont la production n'excède pas ce plafond pour l'année civile en cours. Après des consultations plus poussées avec les représentants de cette industrie, il a été décidé d'éliminer le plafond de 300 000 hectolitres.

« Par suite des changements apportés à ces mesures fiscales, la valeur de l'allégement fiscal consenti par le nouveau gouvernement du Canada passera de 7 millions à 10 millions de dollars annuellement pour l'industrie du vin, et de 13,5 millions à 18 millions de dollars pour l'industrie de la bière, » a ajouté le ministre Flaherty.

Des propositions législatives visant à modifier la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise et la Loi sur l'accise sont rendues publiques aujourd'hui. La publication des propositions législatives sous forme d'avant-projet permet de fournir aux contribuables des précisions sur l'application des mesures. Les notes explicatives détaillées qui accompagnent les propositions offrent un supplément d'information.

Les propositions législatives tiennent compte des observations reçues par le ministère des Finances depuis le dépôt du budget. Toute autre observation doit être adressée au ministère dans les plus brefs délais afin qu'elle puisse être prise en considération avant le dépôt des modifications devant le Parlement. Le gouvernement a l'intention d'inclure ces mesures dans un projet de loi regroupant les propositions fiscales du budget de 2006 qui ne figurent pas dans le projet de loi C-13.

Les commentaires sur les propositions législatives peuvent être envoyés à l'adresse suivante :

Ministère des Finances Canada
Division de la taxe de vente
Section de l'alcool, du tabac et de la législation sur l'accise
L'Esplanade Laurier
16e étage, tour Est
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Dan Miles
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613 996-7861

David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante: www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.