Ottawa, June 2, 2006
2006-020

Archived - Government Seeking Public Input on Proposed Regulations for Defined Benefit Pension Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


Minister of Finance Jim Flaherty today released proposed regulations to ease the funding of federally regulated defined benefit pension plans.

The measures would cover defined benefit pension plans established for employees working in areas that fall under federal jurisdiction-about 10 per cent of all plans in Canada.

In recent years, declining long-term interest rates, as well as changes to actuarial standards, have led to solvency deficits-the amount by which a plan's liabilities exceed its assets on a wind-up basis. The proposed regulations, announced in Budget 2006, set out options to help fund these deficits.

"The proposed measures will provide safeguards for plan members and promote the long-term health and viability of federally regulated defined benefit pension plans," said Minister Flaherty. "The intent of these measures is to help re-establish full funding of plans in an orderly manner, while also protecting pension benefits."

Sponsors of defined benefit pension plans would be able to choose one of the following options for relief:

  • Consolidate previous solvency payment schedules and amortize the entire solvency deficiency over a single, new five-year period.
  • Extend the solvency funding payment period to 10 years from 5 years with buy-in from members and retirees.
  • Extend the solvency funding payment period to 10 years when the difference between the 5-year and 10-year level of payments is secured by a letter of credit.
  • Extend the solvency funding payment period to 10 years for federal agent Crown corporations with terms and conditions to ensure a level playing field.

The regulations are being released today for public comment. The official pre-publication in the Canada Gazette will be on June 10, 2006. At that time, interested persons may make representations concerning the proposed regulations within 30 days, prior to final consideration by the Government.

The Superintendent of Financial Institutions indicates that until the proposed regulations are finalized and come into force, pension plans are expected to prepare actuarial reports using current regulations governing pension funding and to file those reports within six months of the valuation date. Once the proposed regulations come into force, pension plans will have the option of re-filing an actuarial report with the same valuation date in order to apply the proposed funding relief measures. The Superintendent of Financial Institutions will provide further guidance shortly.

Further information is available on the Department of Finance website at www.fin.gc.ca.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613 996-7861
Nathalie Gauthier
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 2 juin 2006
2006-020

Archivé - Le gouvernement demande l'avis du public sur un projet de règlement régissant les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a rendu public aujourd'hui un projet de règlement conçu pour favoriser la capitalisation des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées sous réglementation fédérale.

Les mesures s'appliqueraient aux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées établis pour les employés travaillant dans des domaines de compétence fédérale, soit à environ 10 % de tous les régimes au Canada.

Ces dernières années, la diminution des taux d'intérêt à long terme, combinée à des changements des normes actuarielles, a entraîné des déficits de solvabilité de ces régimes, leur passif étant supérieur à leur actif dans l'hypothèse d'une liquidation. Le projet du règlement, annoncé dans le budget de 2006, expose des options afin d'aider à combler ces déficits.

« Les mesures proposées donneront des garanties aux participants aux régimes et favoriseront la santé et la viabilité à long terme des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées sous réglementation fédérale », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « L'objectif de ces mesures est d'aider à rétablir la pleine capitalisation des régimes de manière ordonnée, tout en protégeant les prestations de retraite. »

Les répondants des régimes à prestations déterminées pourront opter pour l'une des options suivantes afin de redresser la capitalisation de leur régime :

  • consolider les calendriers précédents des paiements de solvabilité et amortir intégralement le déficit de solvabilité sur une nouvelle période de cinq ans;
  • porter de 5 à 10 ans la période de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, avec l'accord des participants et des retraités;
  • porter la période de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à 10 ans lorsque la différence entre les paiements selon une période de 5 ans et selon une période de 10 ans est garantie par une lettre de crédit;
  • porter la période de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à 10 ans dans le cas des sociétés d'État fédérales mandataires, sous réserve de modalités qui assureront l'uniformisation des règles du jeu.

Le grand public est invité à soumettre des commentaires sur le projet de règlement rendu public aujourd'hui, qui sera publié officiellement dans la Gazette du Canada le 10 juin 2006. Les intéressés disposeront alors de 30 jours pour formuler des observations que le gouvernement prendra en considération avant la mise en ouvre du règlement.

Le surintendant des institutions financières précise que, d'ici l'entrée en vigueur du nouveau règlement, les rapports actuariels des régimes de retraite doivent être conformes à la réglementation actuelle sur la capitalisation des régimes de retraite et être déposés dans les six mois suivant la date d'évaluation. Lorsque le nouveau règlement sera en vigueur, les régimes pourront soumettre un deuxième rapport actuariel indiquant la même date d'évaluation pour appliquer les mesures de redressement proposées. Le surintendant fournira d'autres consignes sous peu.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à www.fin.gc.ca.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613 996-7861
Nathalie Gauthier
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp