Ottawa, November 17, 2005
2005-080

Archived - Minister of Finance Proposes Amendments Concerning the Income Tax Treatment of Certain Expenditures

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


Minister of Finance Ralph Goodale today acted to protect the income tax base by ensuring that tax credits and deductions claimed by corporations are appropriate. Specifically, he tabled a Notice of Ways and Means Motion proposing amendments to the Income Tax Act to clarify that the amount of an expenditure allowable to a taxpayer, and upon which a tax credit or deduction may be claimed, is limited to the amount actually disbursed by the taxpayer.

The proposed amendments respond to a recent Tax Court of Canada decision involving shares issued under an employee stock option plan. The amount paid by the employees was less than the value of the shares at the time they were issued, and the Court allowed the corporation to treat the difference as a scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) expenditure qualifying for SR&ED tax credits.

The proposed amendments are designed to ensure that, for income tax purposes, no expenditure will be considered to have been made by a taxpayer except to the extent of an actual outlay or expense incurred by the taxpayer.

A related proposal is meant to ensure that a taxpayer cannot deduct SR&ED expenditures, nor be eligible for investment tax credits, if the taxpayer takes more than the additional 12 months allowed to make a claim under the Income Tax Act.

In general, the proposal related to employee stock options applies to options granted and shares issued on or after today, and the proposal concerning SR&ED and investment tax credit claims applies on and after today.

The attached backgrounder provides additional information about these proposals. References to "Announcement Day" in the proposed legislation and explanatory notes should be read as referring to today's date.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Pat Breton
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Public Affairs and Operations Division
(613) 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance Canada website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Backgrounder 

Canada's income tax system in general provides tax recognition to expenditures incurred to earn income to the extent that a taxpayer disburses, or is obligated to disburse, money or money's worth. However, a recent court decision has brought into question whether there is an expenditure in certain circumstances for which, traditionally, no expenditure had been recognized for income tax purposes. The background to this issue and the Government's proposed response is discussed below.

The Amount of an Expenditure-Disbursement of Money or Money's Worth

The income tax system generally recognizes an expenditure to the extent that a taxpayer has provided consideration in the form of money or money's worth. Examples of non-monetary consideration include the provision of services, the provision of movable or immovable property and the assumption of a liability. The issuance of shares by a corporation, in exchange for the provision of goods or services to it, may also be treated as an expenditure for income tax purposes, but the amount of the expenditure made by the corporation has recently come into question.

The case law has traditionally allowed a corporation in such cases to consolidate two transactions into one: (1) the corporation provides consideration on the acquisition of an asset or service from the other person, and (2) the other person reinvests that consideration in the corporation on the issuance of capital stock of the corporation to the other person. When considered this way, if the other person's obligation to pay the corporation for the issued shares is satisfied with an asset or the provision of services, the corporation is generally considered as having acquired the asset or incurred an expenditure in respect of the asset or services at a cost equal to the amount invested by the other person in the corporation, as reflected in the corporation's share capital.

However, in a February 2005 decision of the Tax Court of Canada a corporate taxpayer was allowed to claim an SR&ED tax credit for the amount by which the fair market value of shares issued by the corporation exceeded the exercise price payable to the corporation for its shares under an employee stock option plan. The Tax Court noted that the value of the shares in excess of the exercise price did not increase the share capital. In other words, while the excess was not an amount invested in the corporation within the parameters of the above-mentioned traditional approach to providing cost recognition, the Tax Court found that the excess was an expenditure for SR&ED tax credit purposes.

Such excesses do not represent an outlay of a corporation; rather they generally represent a dilution of the value of the share equity of the other shareholders of the corporation. Such excesses were not intended to be considered expenditures under the SR&ED tax incentive program.

The rules announced today clarify that such an excess will not be recognized as an expenditure for income tax purposes. Similar clarifying rules are provided for cases involving the issuance of interests in partnerships and trusts. As well, the rules clarify that no expenditure arises solely by virtue of a taxpayer granting an option to acquire an interest in itself.

Late Claims for Tax Incentives

To be eligible for the SR&ED tax incentives and investment tax credits, taxpayers are required under the tax law to identify eligible expenditures on a prescribed form that is to be filed with the Minister of National Revenue no later than 12 months after the filing-due date for the tax return in respect of the taxation year in which the expenditures were made. This rule was first announced in the 1994 budget, and was added to stem a significant increase at that time in late claims for SR&ED tax incentives. The rule also applies to claims related to other amounts eligible for investment tax credits. However, under the Income Tax Act, the Minister of National Revenue does have the discretion to waive this deadline.

The ability to waive the 12-month filing deadline has come under increasing pressure as taxpayers have sought to file additional claims. The proposed amendments clarify with certainty that there will be no exception to the 12-month filing deadline for applications for investment tax credits and SR&ED treatment.

Ottawa, le 17 novembre 2005
2005-080

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances propose de modifier le traitement fiscal de certaines dépenses

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes:


Le ministre des Finances, Ralph Goodale, dans le but de protéger l'assiette fiscale, a pris des mesures pour s'assurer que les crédits d'impôt et les déductions demandés par les sociétés sont justifiés. Aussi a-t-il déposé aujourd'hui un avis de motion de voies et moyens proposant des modifications de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu qui préciseraient que le montant d'une dépense accordée à un contribuable - et au titre de laquelle il peut demander un crédit d'impôt ou une déduction - se limite à la somme que le contribuable a de fait déboursée.

Les modifications proposées donnent suite à une décision récente de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt portant sur des actions émises dans le cadre d'un régime d'options d'achat d'actions des employés. La somme versée par les employés était inférieure à la valeur des actions au moment de leur émission, et la Cour a permis à la société de considérer la différence comme une dépense de recherche scientifique et de développement expérimental (RS&DE) qui donne droit aux crédits d'impôt pour RS&DE.

Selon les modifications proposées, un contribuable ne sera considéré comme ayant effectué une dépense pour les fins de l'impôt sur le revenu que dans la mesure où il a effectivement engagé ou déboursé une somme.

Une proposition connexe veille à ce qu'un contribuable ne puisse pas déduire de dépenses de RS&DE et n'ait pas droit à des crédits d'impôt à l'investissement s'il présente sa demande après l'expiration du délai supplémentaire de 12 mois prévu aux termes de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

De façon générale, la proposition concernant les options d'achat d'actions des employés s'applique aux options consenties et aux actions émises dès aujourd'hui. La proposition concernant les demandes de crédit pour RS&DE et de crédit d'impôt à l'investissement s'applique à compter d'aujourd'hui.

Le document d'information ci-joint fournit d'autres renseignements sur ces propositions. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication, dans les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives, vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Pat Breton
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Division des affaires publiques
et des opérations
(613) 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Document d'information 

Dans le cadre du régime fiscal canadien, il est généralement permis de constater les dépenses engagées en vue de gagner un revenu dans la mesure où le contribuable débourse, ou a l'obligation de débourser, une somme d'argent ou une valeur pécuniaire. Or, la question de savoir s'il existe une dépense là où, traditionnellement, aucune dépense n'était constatée pour les fins de l'impôt sur le revenu a récemment été soulevée dans une décision judiciaire. Les faits ayant mené à cette remise en question et la solution que propose le gouvernement sont exposés ci-dessous.

Montant d'une dépense - Débours d'argent ou d'une valeur pécuniaire

De façon générale, une dépense est constatée pour les fins du régime fiscal dans la mesure où le contribuable a versé une contrepartie sous forme d'argent ou de valeur pécuniaire. Sont des exemples de contreparties non monétaires la prestation de services, la fourniture d'un bien meuble ou immeuble et la prise en charge d'une dette. L'émission d'actions par une société, en échange de marchandises ou de services fournis à celle-ci, peut aussi être considérée comme une dépense pour les fins de l'impôt sur le revenu. Toutefois, le montant de la dépense effectuée par la société a récemment été contesté.

La jurisprudence permet aux sociétés dans ces cas de grouper deux opérations en une seule : 1) la société fournit une contrepartie au moment de l'acquisition d'un actif ou d'un service de l'autre personne et 2) l'autre personne réinvestit la contrepartie dans la société lorsque cette dernière émet des actions de son capital-actions à l'autre personne. Lorsque la question est envisagée de la sorte, si l'obligation de l'autre personne de payer la société pour les actions émises est satisfaite au moyen d'un actif ou de la prestation de services, la société est généralement réputée avoir acquis l'actif, ou avoir engagé une dépense à l'égard de l'actif ou des services, à un coût correspondant à la somme investie par cette autre personne dans la société, comme en fait foi le capital-actions de la société.

Toutefois, dans une décision rendue en février 2005, la Cour canadienne de l'impôt a permis à une société de demander un crédit d'impôt pour RS&DE au titre de l'excédent de la juste valeur marchande d'actions qu'elle avait émises sur le prix d'exercice qui lui était payable pour ses actions aux termes d'un régime d'options d'achat d'actions des employés. La Cour a en effet indiqué que l'excédent de la valeur des actions sur le prix d'exercice n'avait pas pour effet d'augmenter le capital-actions. En d'autres termes, malgré le fait que l'excédent ne représentait pas une somme investie dans la société d'après les paramètres de la méthode traditionnelle de constatation des dépenses mentionnée ci-dessus, la Cour a statué qu'il constituait une dépense donnant droit au crédit d'impôt pour RS&DE.

Ces excédents ne représentent pas des dépenses effectuées par une société, mais se traduisent plutôt par une dilution de la valeur des capitaux propres des autres actionnaires de la société. Ils ne sont pas censés être considérés comme des dépenses pour les fins du programme d'encouragement fiscal à la RS&DE.

Les règles annoncées aujourd'hui précisent que cet excédent ne sera pas reconnu à titre de dépense pour les fins de l'impôt sur le revenu. Des règles semblables sont prévues pour préciser le traitement fiscal d'émissions de participations dans des sociétés de personnes et des fiducies. En outre, les règles précisent qu'aucune dépense ne se produit du seul fait qu'un contribuable ait consenti une option d'acquisition d'une de ses propres participations.

Présentation tardive de demandes d'encouragement fiscal

Pour avoir droit aux encouragements fiscaux relatifs à la RS&DE et aux crédits d'impôt à l'investissement, les contribuables sont tenus par la législation fiscale d'indiquer les dépenses admissibles dans un formulaire prescrit qui doit être présenté au ministre du Revenu national au plus tard 12 mois suivant la date d'échéance de production de leur déclaration de revenu visant l'année d'imposition au cours de laquelle les dépenses ont été effectuées. Cette règle, annoncée pour la première fois dans le budget de 1994, a été ajoutée afin de juguler l'augmentation importante du nombre de demandes d'encouragement fiscal relatif à la RS&DE produites tardivement qui avait été constatée à l'époque. Elle s'applique aussi aux demandes relatives à d'autres sommes admissibles aux fins des crédits d'impôt à l'investissement. Toutefois, selon la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le ministre du Revenu national a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer à exiger d'une personne qu'elle produise les documents en cause dans ce délai.

La possibilité de renoncer à exiger la production des documents dans un délai de 12 mois est une source de préoccupation croissante à mesure que les contribuables cherchent à produire des demandes additionnelles. Les modifications proposées prévoient clairement qu'il n'y aura aucune exception à la règle exigeant des contribuables qu'ils produisent leurs demandes de crédit d'impôt à l'investissement et d'encouragement à la RS&D dans les délais prévus.