Ottawa, November 17, 2005
2005-079

Archived - Proposed GST/HST Amendments Relating to the Financial Services Sector

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


Minister of Finance Ralph Goodale today tabled in the House of Commons a Notice of Ways and Means Motion to amend provisions of the Excise Tax Act relating to the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) in the financial services sector.

The amendments propose to:

  • Reaffirm the policy intent and provide certainty regarding the treatment of debt collection services by clarifying that such services are not financial services for the purposes of the Act, and that such services are therefore taxable for GST/HST purposes.
  • Assist foreign banks in restructuring under the foreign bank branching regime in the Bank Act, by providing transitional GST/HST relief for the initial transfer of assets from a foreign bank's existing Canadian subsidiary to its newly established Canadian branch.
  • Make it easier for corporations to elect to obtain GST/HST relief on supplies of goods and services among members of closely related groups.
  • Respond to a Tax Court of Canada decision regarding self-assessment provisions for intangible property and services imported into Canada by re-establishing the intended application and policy objectives of these provisions in a way that ensures more consistent treatment between importations and comparable domestic transactions.

The Minister also announced that draft amendments regarding the multi-employer pension plan (MEPP) rebate, originally tabled on October 3, 2003, will not be enacted into law because they are no longer required. These amendments would have extended the MEPP rebate to related employer pension plans. After consulting with the pension industry and the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), it was determined that these plans could more appropriately be accommodated through modifications to CRA administrative policies that apply the existing GST/HST legislation to pension plans.

The accompanying backgrounder, legislative proposals, draft regulations, explanatory notes and detailed proposals on the GST/HST treatment of imported supplies provide further details on these measures. References in these documents to "Announcement Date" should be read as references to today's date.

Any comments of a technical nature from stakeholders on the proposed amendments should be addressed to the Tax Policy Branch as soon as possible so that they may be considered before the relevant legislation is tabled in Parliament.

These documents can be viewed free of charge on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies are available for $10 from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at (613) 995-2855.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Pat Breton
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Public Affairs and Operations Division
(613) 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance Canada website at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 17 novembre 2005
2005-079

Archivé - Propositions de modification de la TPS/TVH concernant le secteur des services financiers

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes:


Le ministre des Finances, Ralph Goodale, a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à modifier des dispositions de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise concernant la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) applicable au secteur des services financiers.

Les propositions visent notamment :

  • à réaffirmer la politique régissant les services de recouvrement de créances et à dissiper toute incertitude concernant le traitement de ces services, en précisant que ceux-ci ne sont pas des services financiers pour l'application de la loi et sont donc taxables sous le régime de la TPS/TVH;
  • à aider les banques étrangères à se restructurer dans le cadre du régime pour l'établissement de succursales de banques étrangères prévu par la Loi sur les banques, en accordant un allégement transitoire relativement à la TPS/TVH applicable au transfert d'actifs initial de la filiale canadienne existante d'une banque étrangère à sa succursale canadienne nouvellement établie;
  • à faire en sorte qu'il soit plus facile pour les personnes morales de faire un choix pour que les fournitures de produits et de services entre membres de groupes étroitement liés soient exemptées de TPS/TVH;
  • à donner suite à une décision de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt concernant les dispositions sur l'autocotisation applicables aux biens incorporels et aux services importés au Canada, en rétablissant l'application voulue de ces dispositions et les objectifs de principe qui les sous-tendent d'une façon qui garantit le traitement plus cohérent des importations et des opérations intérieures comparables.

Le ministre a profité de l'occasion pour annoncer que le projet de modification concernant le remboursement pour régime de pension interentreprises, déposé le 3 octobre 2003, ne serait pas édicté parce que les modifications qu'il contient ne sont plus nécessaires. Celles-ci auraient eu pour effet d'étendre ce remboursement aux régimes de pension offerts par des employeurs liés. Or, après consultation de représentants du secteur des pensions et de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), il a été décidé que ces régimes seraient mieux servis par des modifications aux politiques administratives de l'ARC qui appliquent les dispositions législatives existantes de la TPS/TVH aux régimes de pension.

Le document d'information, les propositions législatives, les avant-projets de règlement, les notes explicatives et les propositions détaillées concernant le traitement des fournitures importées sous le régime de la TPS/TVH qui figurent en annexe donnent le détail de ces mesures. Il est à noter que la mention, dans ces documents, de la date de publication vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires techniques concernant les modifications proposées à la Direction de la politique de l'impôt dans les plus brefs délais de sorte qu'ils puissent être considérés avant le dépôt des dispositions législatives au Parlement.

Tous ces documents peuvent être consultés gratuitement sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut aussi se procurer des copies imprimées au prix de 10 $ l'exemplaire en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère au numéro (613) 995-2855.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Pat Breton
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Division des affaires publiques
et des opérations
(613) 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp