Ottawa, November 14, 2005
2005-078

Archived - Immediate Income Tax Relief: Notice of Ways and Means Motion Tabled to Implement Update 2005 Measures

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents


The Government today tabled a detailed Notice of Ways and Means Motion in the House of Commons to implement the following tax reduction measures:

  • A $500 increase in the basic personal amount-the amount of income that all Canadians can earn without paying federal income tax.
  • A reduction of the lowest personal income tax rate to 15 per cent from 16 per cent.

As announced by Minister of Finance Ralph Goodale today in his 2005 Economic and Fiscal Update, both of these measures are proposed to take effect as of January 1, 2005, and would provide individual taxpayers with immediate personal income tax relief of up to $325 this year.

The Update also announced a number of other personal and corporate tax measures-with tax relief totalling more than $30 billion over the current year and the next five years. Legislation to implement these measures will be tabled in the House of Commons at the earliest opportunity.

The detailed Notice of Ways and Means Motion and explanatory notes are available on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies of the Notice are available for $10 each from the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at (613) 995-2855. Further information about the Economic and Fiscal Update is also available on the Department of Finance website.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Pat Breton
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Public Affairs and Operations Division
(613) 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance Canada website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 14 novembre 2005
2005-078

Archivé - Allégement fiscal immédiat : Dépôt d'un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à mettre en oeuvre des mesures annoncées dans la Mise à jour de 2005

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes:


Le gouvernement a déposé aujourd'hui à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens détaillé visant à mettre en oeuvre les mesures suivantes de réduction d'impôt :

  • une hausse de 500 $ du montant personnel de base, c'est-à-dire le montant que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent gagner sans payer d'impôt fédéral sur le revenu;
  • une réduction du taux le plus faible d'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, qui passe de 16 % à 15 %.

Comme le ministre des Finances, Ralph Goodale, l'a annoncé aujourd'hui dans La Mise à jour économique et financière de 2005, ces deux mesures - dont il est proposé qu'elles prennent effet le 1er janvier 2005 - auraient pour effet d'accorder cette année à tous les contribuables un allégement fiscal immédiat pouvant atteindre 325 $.

Ont également été annoncées dans la Mise à jour certaines autres mesures concernant l'impôt des particuliers et des sociétés qui se traduisent par un allégement fiscal total de 30 milliards de dollars sur l'année en cours et les cinq prochaines années. Les mesures législatives mettant ces mesures en ouvre seront déposées en temps voulu.

L'avis de motion de voies et moyens détaillé et les notes explicatives sont affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut aussi se les procurer sur papier au prix de 10 $ chacun en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du Ministère au numéro (613) 995-2855. On peut obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur La Mise à jour économique et financière en consultant le site Web du ministère des Finances.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Pat Breton
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Division des affaires publiques et des opérations
(613) 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp