October 3, 2005

Archived - Speaking Remarks for The Honourable Ralph Goodale Launch of the Canada Savings Bonds Sales Campaign Canadian War Museum

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Ottawa, Ontario

Check against delivery


Thank you, Louise. I would also like to thank Joe Geurts and the Canadian War Museum for their hospitality, as well as Minister Guarnieri for making the trip to be with us here on this stage.

Greetings and good wishes from the Government of Canada, and a special welcome to Canadian war veterans. Everyone in Ottawa watched the construction of this building with great interest. And perhaps you felt, as did I, a renewal of pride in Canada's military history and its contributions to peace that reach back to before Confederation.

Those contributions, of course, came in many different forms. Many gave their lives for their country-the ultimate sacrifice. Many more, like those of you here, interrupted your youth to serve your country-an experience that can never be far from your mind.

There was another kind of contribution we must recognize, as well. It is the one made on the Canadian home front.

It came in the form of letters from home, changes in lifestyle to support the war effort. It came in the form of shared grief for our losses. It came from the retooling of industry and from gathering around the radio and studying the newspapers to get the news each day.

The contribution from the Canadian home front came, as well, in the form of financial support for the war effort through the Victory Loan Program and Victory Bonds in both the First World War and the Second World War.

A dollar here and a dollar there was carefully saved-setting it aside became part of the family budget. And while the Victory Loan Program and Victory Bonds paid back the investment, with interest, the real motivation had everything to do with supporting the men and women who came from all parts of our country to fight for freedom on the other side of the world.

It is safe to say that the success of Canada's war effort depended heavily on those dollars saved here and there and on the willingness of Canadians to invest in our country.

This year marks the 60th anniversary of the end of the Second World War. For us it is a time to remember the sacrifices made here in Canada and abroad. That is what this Year of the Veteran in 2005 is all about.

But the tradition of supporting Canada's goals through Victory Loans and Victory Bonds did not end in 1945. It continued with the transition from Victory Bonds to Canada Savings Bonds. And in a few short months, this program will also celebrate a 60th anniversary of the contributions Canadians have made to the growth and prosperity of their nation.

On behalf of Canada, I thank those of you here who served in a time of war. And I also pay tribute to those who bought Victory Bonds back then, and who buy Canada Savings Bonds today, and in so doing, keep on building this wonderful country.

Thank you.

le 3 octobre 2005

Archivé - Notes d'allocution de l'honorable Ralph Goodale Lancement de la campagne des Obligations d'épargne du Canada Musée canadien de la guerre

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Ottawa, Ontario

Le texte prononcé fait foi


Merci Louise. Mes remerciements vont aussi à Joe Geurts et au Musée canadien de la guerre pour leur accueil, sans oublier la ministre Guarnieri qui s'est déplacée pour être ici avec nous aujourd'hui.

Je tiens d'abord à vous transmettre les sincères salutations du gouvernement du Canada et à souhaiter une bienvenue toute particulière à nos anciens combattants. Tout le monde à Ottawa a suivi la construction de l'édifice du musée avec un vif intérêt. Peut-être avez-vous même senti, tout comme moi, un regain de fierté à l'égard de l'histoire militaire du Canada et de l'apport de notre pays à la cause de la paix et ce, même avant la Confédération.

Cet apport a, bien sûr, pris diverses formes. Nombreux sont ceux qui ont fait l'ultime sacrifice et donné leur vie pour leur pays. Bien d'autres ont, comme certains d'entre vous, mis en veilleuse leurs années de jeunesse pour servir la nation, expérience qui, j'en suis sûr, s'est gravée à jamais dans votre mémoire.

Toutefois, il y a une autre contribution à reconnaître. C'est celle faite par les Canadiennes et les Canadiens au pays.

C'était parfois des lettres envoyées par les familles ou des changements à leur mode de vie pour soutenir l'effort de guerre. C'était parfois le fait de vivre ensemble notre deuil. C'était aussi parfois la transformation des industries et le fait de se réunir autour du poste de radio ou d'éplucher les journaux pour apprendre les nouvelles du jour.

La contribution du front civil au Canada, c'était aussi le soutien financier à l'effort de guerre dans le cadre du programme d'emprunts et de bons de la victoire, tant durant la Première Guerre mondiale que durant la Seconde.

On mettait soigneusement de côté un dollar par-ci et un dollar par-là - cet effort d'économie faisait désormais partie du budget familial. Et, bien que le programme d'emprunts et de bons de la victoire ait remboursé l'argent investi, avec intérêt, la véritable motivation provenait du désir de soutenir les femmes et les hommes venus de toutes les parties du pays afin de lutter pour la liberté à l'autre bout du monde.

On peut dire sans se tromper que la réussite de l'effort de guerre du Canada découle en grande partie des économies ainsi faites et de la volonté des Canadiens d'investir dans l'avenir de leur pays.

L'année 2005 marque le 60anniversaire de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le moment est propice pour nous souvenir des sacrifices faits tant au pays qu'à l'étranger. Voilà à quoi est consacrée l'Année des anciens combattants en 2005.

Sachez toutefois que la tradition de soutenir les objectifs nationaux au moyen des emprunts et des bons de la victoire n'a pas pris fin en 1945. Elle s'est poursuivie quand s'est faite la transition des bons de la victoire aux obligations d'épargne du Canada. D'ici quelques mois, ce programme célébrera le 60e anniversaire des efforts faits par la population canadienne pour contribuer à la croissance et à la prospérité de la nation.

Au nom du Canada, je remercie ceux et celles d'entre vous qui ont servi leur pays en temps de guerre. Et je rends hommage aux gens qui ont acheté les bons de la victoire en ce temps-là comme à ceux qui achètent les obligations d'épargne du Canada aujourd'hui, et qui, ce faisant, continuent à bâtir notre merveilleux pays.

Merci.