Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, September 8, 2005
2005-055

Archived - Department of Finance Launches Consultations on Issues Related to Publicly Listed Flow-Through Entities (Income Trusts and Limited Partnerships)

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Department of Finance today launched consultations on tax and other issues related to business income trusts and other flow-through entities (FTEs). Submissions will be received until December 31, 2005.

A consultation paper entitled Tax and Other Issues Related to Publicly Listed Flow-Through Entities (Income Trusts and Limited Partnerships) is available on the Finance Canada Web site. The purpose of this paper is to promote discussion and third-party input on a number of key questions by providing background information on FTEs and related economic efficiency issues, an international comparison, as well as the estimated impact of FTEs on federal tax revenues.

An additional vehicle for public input will be symposiums to be organized and hosted by the Canadian Tax Foundation. The Canadian Tax Foundation is an independent non-profit organization devoted to education and research in the fields of taxation and public finance in Canada. The Foundation provides a forum for expert analysis and discussion of issues in these fields, but does not itself advise on or advocate specific policy recommendations to governments. The symposiums are intended to help foster a better understanding and public discussion of the tax and economic policy issues relating to FTEs. The Foundation will provide further information on these symposiums as soon as detailed arrangements have been finalized.

Today's launch of consultations by the Department of Finance follows through on the announcement in Budget 2005 that the government would have open and transparent consultations with stakeholders on tax issues related to FTEs.

During the consultation process, the Department will continue to monitor developments in the FTE market. Any future initiatives will be taken following these consultations and in full consideration of the costs and benefits related to FTEs.

Trusts and limited partnerships have been used by investors for several decades. In the last 10 years, publicly listed income trusts have gained popularity as investment vehicles. Since 2000, this growth has accelerated sharply.

Copies of the consultation paper can be found on the Department of Finance web site at www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_-eng.asp. Submissions can be made by e-mail at trusts-fiducies@fin.gc.ca. For greater transparency, comments received will be made available on the Department's Web site with the consent of the submitting parties.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

David Gamble
Public Affairs and Operations Division
(613) 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance Canada website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Ottawa, le 8 septembre 2005
2005-055

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances lance des consultations sur les questions liées aux entités intermédiaires cotées en bourse (fiducies de revenu et sociétés de personnes en commandite)

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes:


Le ministère des Finances a lancé aujourd'hui des consultations sur les questions fiscales et autres liées aux fiducies de revenu d'entreprise et autres entités intermédiaires. Les intéressés pourront présenter leurs soumissions d'ici le 31 décembre 2005.

Un document de consultation intitulé Questions fiscales et autres liées aux entités intermédiaires cotées en bourse (fiducies de revenu et sociétés de personnes en commandite) peut être consulté sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. En fournissant des renseignements de base sur les entités intermédiaires, les questions d'efficience économique, une comparaison internationale et une estimation de l'impact des entités intermédiaires sur les revenus fiscaux fédéraux, le document a pour objet d'inciter des tiers à discuter de certaines questions clés propres aux entités intermédiaires et d'y apporter leur contribution.

Le public pourra aussi faire connaître son point de vue dans le cadre de colloques organisés et tenus par l'Association canadienne d'études fiscales. L'Association est un organisme indépendant à but non lucratif voué à l'éducation et à la recherche dans les domaines de la fiscalité et des finances publiques au Canada. Elle sert de tribune permettant aux spécialistes d'analyser et de discuter les questions propres à ces domaines, mais elle ne soumet pas elle-même de conseils stratégiques ou de recommandations aux gouvernements. Les colloques sont destinés à faciliter la discussion et la compréhension du public en ce qui a trait aux questions de politique fiscale et économique propres aux entités intermédiaires. L'Association fournira des précisions sur ces colloques dès que leurs modalités auront été finalisées.

Le lancement de ces consultations aujourd'hui par le ministère des Finances donne suite à l'engagement, pris par le gouvernement dans le cadre du budget de 2005, de consulter les intervenants de manière ouverte et transparente sur les questions fiscales liées aux entités intermédiaires.

Pendant la tenue des consultations, le Ministère continuera de suivre l'évolution du marché des entités intermédiaires. Les initiatives futures, le cas échéant, seront adoptées en fonction des résultats de ces consultations et tiendront pleinement compte des coûts et des retombés propres aux entités intermédiaires.

Les investisseurs ont recours aux fiducies et aux sociétés de personnes en commandite depuis des décennies. Au cours des 10 dernières années, les fiducies de revenu cotées en bourse sont devenues des véhicules de placement de plus en plus populaires. Cette croissance s'est fortement accélérée depuis 2000.

Le document de consultation est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_-fra.asp. Les intéressés peuvent présenter leurs soumissions par courriel, à l'adresse trusts-fiducies@fin.gc.ca. Par souci de plus grande transparence, les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web du Ministère, sous réserve du consentement des intéressés.

_________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

David Gamble
Division des affaires publiques
et des opérations
(613) 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.